RSSCategory: Chapter Books

Best Selling Young Adult Books | February 2016

| February 4, 2016 | 0 Comments
Best Selling Young Adult Books | February 2016

Our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult list from The New York Times includes a revisit of Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard. The best selling young adult titles include books by super-talent Rainbow Rowell.

Continue Reading

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | February 2016

| February 3, 2016 | 0 Comments
Best Selling Middle Grade Books | February 2016

Our selection of books picked from the nationwide best selling middle grade list, as they appear on The New York Times, includes Star Wars: The Force Awakens Visual Dictionary.

Continue Reading

Yak, Yak, Yak! The Trouble with Modern Parenting | Thomas W. Phelan, PhD

| January 30, 2016 | 0 Comments
Yak, Yak, Yak!  The Trouble with Modern Parenting | Thomas W. Phelan, PhD

For more than twenty-five years, internationally renowned clinical psychologist Thomas W. Phelan’s 1-2-3 Magic has helped millions of parents, teachers, and caregivers raise independent, emotionally intelligent children…

Continue Reading

The Defiant, by M. Quint | Book Review

| January 28, 2016 | 0 Comments
The Defiant, by M. Quint | Book Review

The Defiant will appeal to middle grade and young adult readers interested in adventure, mystery, and eerie situations.

Continue Reading

The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate | Book Review

| January 27, 2016 | 1 Comment
The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate | Book Review

The One and Only Ivan is a bestselling novel about hope and friendship. It was inspired by a real silverback gorilla named Ivan who was held captive for 27 years.

Continue Reading

Harriet the Spy, by Louise Fitzhugh | Book Review

| January 25, 2016 | 0 Comments
Harriet the Spy, by Louise Fitzhugh | Book Review

Harriet the Spy, by Louise Fitzhugh, is an incredibly funny book—anyone who has ever felt like an outsider will certainly relate to Harriet.

Continue Reading

Andrew S. Chilton, Author of The Goblin’s Puzzle | Selfie and a Shelfie

| January 20, 2016 | 0 Comments
Andrew S. Chilton, Author of The Goblin’s Puzzle | Selfie and a Shelfie

Brimming with dragons, goblins, and logic puzzles, this middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for readers who enjoyed The Princess Bride or Rump.

Continue Reading

Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

| January 19, 2016 | 0 Comments
Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference?

Friendship, Teamwork, Helpfulness, Perseverance, Altruism.

Continue Reading

My Writing and Reading Life: Kristen Kittscher, Author of The Tiara on the Terrace

| January 18, 2016 | 0 Comments
My Writing and Reading Life: Kristen Kittscher, Author of The Tiara on the Terrace

The Tiara on the Terrace, by Kristen Kittschier, is a clever novel, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and Gordon Korman and a companion to The Wig in the Window.

Continue Reading

Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White | Book Review

| January 14, 2016 | 0 Comments
Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White | Book Review

Charlotte’s Web is is one of the best-selling children’s books of all time. It is about a barnyard pig named Wilbur that can talk, a barn spider named Charlotte that can write, and a young girl named Fern that stands up for her beliefs.

Continue Reading