RSSCategory: Mysteries

My Writing and Reading Life: Sophie Cleverly, Author of Scarlet and Ivy: The Lost Twin

| May 9, 2016 | 0 Comments
My Writing and Reading Life: Sophie Cleverly, Author of Scarlet and Ivy: The Lost Twin

Sophie Cleverly began writing Scarlet and Ivy in her second year at university, where she studied Creative Writing. She knew she had to finish telling the story, and when she heard that the university offered an MA in Writing For Young People she realized it was the perfect opportunity.

Continue Reading

A Curious Tale of the In-Between, by Lauren DeStefano | Book Review

| March 26, 2016 | 0 Comments
A Curious Tale of the In-Between, by Lauren DeStefano | Book Review

A Curious Tale of the In-Between will appeal to young people who like ghost stories and the supernatural and who have issues of loss and unsolved mysteries in their own lives.

Continue Reading

Johnny Foolish, by Julian Ledlin | Book Review

| February 24, 2016 | 0 Comments
Johnny Foolish, by Julian Ledlin | Book Review

Complete with bush walks and a vegemite sandwich, Johnny Foolish is an Australian tale worthy of a read—too right!

Continue Reading

Top 3 Mystery Novels set in London | Selected by Carina Axelsson, Author of Model Undercover: London

| February 12, 2016 | 0 Comments
Top 3 Mystery Novels set in London | Selected by Carina Axelsson, Author of Model Undercover: London

Mysteries and London go together like tea and cake or jeans and Converse. Although not all of my favourite English mysteries take place in London, many do. Here are three (okay, maybe a few more than just three) of my top mystery novels set in London.

Continue Reading

Andrew S. Chilton, Author of The Goblin’s Puzzle | Selfie and a Shelfie

| January 20, 2016 | 0 Comments
Andrew S. Chilton, Author of The Goblin’s Puzzle | Selfie and a Shelfie

Brimming with dragons, goblins, and logic puzzles, this middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for readers who enjoyed The Princess Bride or Rump.

Continue Reading

My Writing and Reading Life: Kristen Kittscher, Author of The Tiara on the Terrace

| January 18, 2016 | 0 Comments
My Writing and Reading Life: Kristen Kittscher, Author of The Tiara on the Terrace

The Tiara on the Terrace, by Kristen Kittschier, is a clever novel, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and Gordon Korman and a companion to The Wig in the Window.

Continue Reading

Circus Mirandus, by Cassie Beasley | Book Review

| January 6, 2016 | 0 Comments
Circus Mirandus, by Cassie Beasley | Book Review

Ten-year-old Micah Tuttle has always been entranced by Grandpa Ephraim’s tales of Circus Mirandus, a magic circus where the improbable is possible. No tale is as wondrous as the one about The Man Who Bends Light and his ability to make dreams reality.

Continue Reading

Woof: A Bowser and Birdie Novel, by Spencer Quinn | Book Review

| December 16, 2015 | 0 Comments
Woof: A Bowser and Birdie Novel, by Spencer Quinn | Book Review

Woof: A Bowser and Birdie Novel is an awesome book and everyone should read it!

Continue Reading

That One Time Lauren Oliver Interviewed H.C. Chester About Curiosity House

| September 30, 2015 | 0 Comments
That One Time Lauren Oliver Interviewed H.C. Chester About Curiosity House

Bestselling author Lauren Oliver and notorious relics collector H.C. Chester interview each other about Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head (HarperCollins, 2015).

Continue Reading

Seeker, by Arwen Elys Dayton | Book Review

| September 16, 2015 | 1 Comment
Seeker, by Arwen Elys Dayton | Book Review

It’s delightful to slip into the complex and fully realized world where Seekers slice through time and space and unlock the mysteries of the universe.

Continue Reading