RSSCategory: Interviews

Illustration Inspiration: Kim Krans, “ABC Dream”

| January 26, 2016 | 0 Comments
Illustration Inspiration: Kim Krans, “ABC Dream”

This gem comes to us from Kim Krans, the creator of The Wild Unknown—a lifestyle website offering prints, calendars, and more.

Continue Reading

Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

| January 19, 2016 | 0 Comments
Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference?

Friendship, Teamwork, Helpfulness, Perseverance, Altruism.

Continue Reading

My Writing and Reading Life: Kristen Kittscher, Author of The Tiara on the Terrace

| January 18, 2016 | 0 Comments
My Writing and Reading Life: Kristen Kittscher, Author of The Tiara on the Terrace

The Tiara on the Terrace, by Kristen Kittschier, is a clever novel, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and Gordon Korman and a companion to The Wig in the Window.

Continue Reading

Steve Michael Reedy, Author of Tales for Your Monkey’s Mind | Speed Interview

| December 19, 2015 | 0 Comments
Steve Michael Reedy, Author of Tales for Your Monkey’s Mind | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Tales for Your Monkey’s Mind?

Whimsical, Inspirational, Imaginative, Entertaining, and Philosophical.

Continue Reading

My Writing and Reading Life: Laurel Gale, Author of Dead Boy

| December 6, 2015 | 0 Comments
My Writing and Reading Life: Laurel Gale, Author of Dead Boy

Fans of Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book will embrace this darkly funny debut novel from Laurel Gale about Crow, a dead boy, who has a chance at friendship—and a chance at getting his life back.

Continue Reading

Jennifer Longo, Author of Up to this Pointe | Speed Interview

| November 30, 2015 | 0 Comments
Jennifer Longo, Author of Up to this Pointe | Speed Interview

A refreshingly original contemporary YA, unlike anything readers have seen before.

Continue Reading

The Myth of Santa’s Beard: A Discussion with Award-Winning Author Sharon Thayer

| November 22, 2015 | 0 Comments
The Myth of Santa’s Beard: A Discussion with Award-Winning Author Sharon Thayer

“It’s extra special because the chosen child is not just on the good list, they have been chosen as one of the very best on the good list—a higher standard for which to strive.”

Continue Reading

Dr. Urmila Pai, M.D. Discusses Nervous Nellie

| October 27, 2015 | 0 Comments
Dr. Urmila Pai, M.D. Discusses Nervous Nellie

Books are a great way to reach out to kids. I think that anxious children can really connect and relate to a character, such as Nellie.

Continue Reading

Emma Shevah, the author of Dream on, Amber | Speed Interview

| October 19, 2015 | 0 Comments
Emma Shevah, the author of Dream on, Amber | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Dream On, Amber?

Oh boy. That’s tricky. How about warm, witty, heartbreaking, upbeat and booyakasha.

Continue Reading

My Writing and Reading Life: Laurie Wallmark

| October 18, 2015 | 0 Comments
My Writing and Reading Life: Laurie Wallmark

Laurie Wallmark writes exclusively for children. The picture book biography, Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine (Creston Books, October 2015), is Laurie’s first book.

Continue Reading