Best Selling Young Adult Books | January 2016

| January 4, 2016 | 3 Comments

The Children’s Book Review | January 4, 2016

Popular Books for Teens

Our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult list from The New York Times includes a revisit of Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard. The best selling young adult titles include books by super-talent Rainbow Rowell.

Nationwide Best Selling Young Adult Books

Carry On by Rainbow RowellCarry On

Written by Rainbow Rowell

Publisher’s Synopsis: #1 New York Times bestselling author!

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here–it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On – The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.

Ages 14+ | Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin | Oct. 6 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-1250049551

Everything Everything Nicola YoonEverything, Everything

Written by Nicola Yoon

Publisher’s Synopsis: If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly, the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken. This innovative and heartfelt debut novel unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Ages 12+ | Publisher: Delacorte Press | 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0553496642

Red Queen by Victoria AveyardRed Queen

Written by Victoria Aveyard

Publisher’s Synopsis:Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard’s sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king’s palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood–those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard–a growing Red rebellion–even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

Ages 14+ | Publisher: HarperTeen | 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0062310637

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellEleanor & Park 

By Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park reminded me not just what it’s like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it’s like to be young and in love with a book.”—John Green, The New York Times Book Review

Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.

I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Publisher’s Synopsis: Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love—and just how hard it pulled you under.

Eleanor & Park is the winner of the 2013 Boston Globe Horn Book Award for Best Fiction Book.
Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book of 2013
New York Times Book Review Notable Children’s Book of 2013
Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2013
An NPR Best Book of 2013

Ages 13-17 | Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin | 2013 | ISBN-13: 978-1250012579

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files)Illuminae

Written by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Publisher’s Synopsis: For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

Ages 14+ | Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers | Oct. 20 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0553499117

Six of Crows by Leigh BardugoSix of Crows

Written by Leigh Bardugo

Publisher’s Synopsis: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction–if they don’t kill each other first.

Ages 12-18 | Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. | Sept. 29, 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-1627792127

This information for the best selling books was gathered from the New York Times Best Sellers list, which reflects the sales of books from books sold nationwide, including independent and chain stores. It is correct at the time of publication and presented in random order. Visit www.nytimes.com for their most current and up-to-date list.

Have you read all of his books? For more fiction Young Adult books, follow along with our Best YA tag.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Best Kids Stories, Best Sellers, Book Lists, Chapter Books, Teens: Young Adults

About the Contributor ()

The Children’s Book Review, named one of the ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children) Great Web Sites for Kids, is powered by Bianca Schulze. Bianca is a freelance writer, bookseller, aspiring author, and mother to two daughters. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, her goal is to grow readers by showcasing useful and inspiring books!

Comments (3)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Rick Fortner says:

    We recently returned from a mid-December shopping trip and caught the last few minutes of a couple who had just published an illustrated book independently. The raves on the book were about the intricate drawings throughout the book. We have an autistic granddaughter who draws the most intricate drawings…in all other school classes she struggles. We wanted to get this book for her parents to let them know she does have a “normal” future. I have looked through CSPAN, PBS and the New York Times best seller list but can not find it.
    Please help.

    • Hi Rick—

      I truly wish I could point you in the right direction, however, the best I can do is recommend that you check with your local librarian. The description you have provided isn’t ringing a bell with me.

  2. Rick Fortner says:

    My wife and I returned home from a Xmas shopping trip to catch the last few minutes of a book review in which the couple had published the book (independently), The strength of the book was the intricate drawings. I have searched CSPAN, PBS and the New York Times bestseller list and can not find it or a description that fits.
    Please advise

Leave a Reply