Home2009December

Courtesy of Reading is Fundamental
Published: December 28, 2009

What’s Involved?
A home library doesn’t have to be elaborate or expensive to provide rich reading experiences. Fancy books aren’t necessarily the best way to capture a child’s imagination. But a good family library does involve time and space—time to find materials that will interest all the readers in the family, and space to keep and enjoy them. Here are some questions that might come to mind as you plan a family library:

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 23, 2009

Horrid Henry's ChristmasHorrid Henry’s Christmas

by Francesca Simon (Author), Tony Ross (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 7-10

Paperback: 112 pages

Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky (September 1, 2009)

Source: Publisher

What to expect: Humor, Siblings, Kids, Behavior

 

As per usual, Simon and Ross connect and engage even the most reluctant of readers to their bestselling “horrid” character, Horrid Henry. This time he is back with more despicable antics! Parents will only be relieved that their children are nothing like him. Christmas trees are ruined, the Nativity play goes to shambles, need I say more.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 22, 2009

Mrs. Claus Explains It All: (At Last) Answers to the Questions Real Kids Ask!

Mrs. Claus Explains It All: (At Last) Answers to the Questions Real Kids Ask!

by Elsbeth Claus (Author), David Wenzel (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky (November 1, 2008)

Source: Publisher

What to expect: Christmas, Mrs. Claus, Q & A

Mrs. Claus Explains It All is a must-have for any family with kids that are puzzled by the magic behind Santa’s skills, or, for the kids who are on the verge of becoming non-believers. Its question-and-answer format is attractively presented with illustrations by David Wenzel. Each question is illustrated as a hand written note by a child—Dear Mrs. Claus, I saw Santa on T.V. and he didn’t look the same!—and each response is answered in a grandmotherly way: This must be confusing, with all the many versions of Santa Claus and the North Pole on screen and on stage, but that’s the price of popularity. …

By Luisa LaFleur, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 21, 2009

The Giving Tree

by Shel Silverstein (Author)

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Paperback: 64 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins (October 7, 1964)

Source of book: Bookstore

What to expect: Relationships, giving and taking

Not so long ago, I bought The Giving Tree on a visit to a great NY bookstore. I’d seen it before but never read it and thought it might be nice to read to my children. I based my decision to buy it on two things–I had a notion that it was an important book in the canon of children’s literature and I really liked the cover: a simple line drawing of a boy and a tree on a bright green background. Fast forward a few months and it has become one of the three or four books that *must* be read before bedtime. So I’ve now read it some 60-70 times, but here’s the strange thing: I’m still not quite sure what the moral of the story is. I realize that in this Internet age with sites like Wikipedia and Amazon and any number of blogs and review sites, I *should* be able to figure it out. But I haven’t yet and this makes writing a review a little more difficult than usual.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 19, 2009

What little girl does not love My Little Pony? My 3-year-old sure does!

At $3.99 for the book—which is actually a pretty sweet, little story—and $4.99 for the Winter Wish Pony, this is a good value option! My daughter has a bunch of ponies, so, when she saw this book she was ecstatic. Character books are a great choice for reluctant readers.

My Little Pony: Holiday Talent Show


By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 18, 2009

“There is no one book that is right for all kids. But there are all kinds of crazy, interesting, and amazing books out there. It’s our job to help kids find that book that will inspire them to want to become readers.” ~ Jon Scieszka