HomeBest Kids StoriesA Song of Wraiths and Ruin, by Roseanne A. Brown | Book Review

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, by Roseanne A. Brown | Book Review

The Children’s Book Review

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

Written by Roseanne Brown

Age Range: 13+

Hardcover: 480 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray (June 2, 2020)

ISBN-13: 978-0062891495

What to expect: Fantasy, West African Folklore, Adventure

An intricately detailed and enormously entertaining read, A SONG OF WRAITHS AND RUIN will endlessly entertain teens and adults alike.

Welcome to Ziran, a thriving metropolis amid a desert. Malik and his sisters are immigrants, desperately trying to gain entry into the walled city. They have nowhere to go, no money, and are quickly out of options. So when his youngest sister, Nadia, is stolen by a devilishly tricky spirit, Malik is forced to enter the city and partake in the Solstasia games. His mission from the spirit: to find and kill the crown princess.

Crown Princess Karina is grieving a terrible loss while struggling to keep it hidden from the rest of the world. The Solstasia games, which come only once every fifty years, are upon her Kingdom—she must make sure everything goes right. But can she fix everything and save her Kingdom from the dark spirits that threaten it, with a terrible sacrifice? And will she find that sacrifice is Malik? Will their growing attraction mean their safety or their ruin?

What a ride! Debut author Roseanne Brown brings us an endlessly entertaining fantasy that readers will devour. It’s intricately detailed for loyal fantasy fans, yet plot-driven enough to keep the pages turning quickly. Our two protagonists have such polar needs – to kill one another – that there is no question of stakes. Throw in some otherworldly spirits and demons set to take over an empire, and you’ve got global stakes to make this feel like a sweeping saga. Karina is well-developed, feisty, flawed, and full of pitch-perfect voice. Fans will immediately love her, despite her mistakes and because of her heroism. Malik’s struggles to own his magic and background are well-crafted and thoughtful. And each protagonists’ touch of humor brings light to otherwise dark and heavy themes. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.

Perfect for readers of Sarah J. Maass, Tomi Adeyemi, Maggie Stiefvater, and Rena Barron. High fantasy, epic worlds, spirits, magic, love, and murder—you couldn’t ask for a more entertaining novel. Highly recommended.

Buy the Book

applebooks-icon

About the Author

Roseanne A. Brown

Roseanne A. Brown is an immigrant from the West African nation of Ghana and a graduate of the University of Maryland, where she completed the Jimenez-Porter Writers’ House program. Her work has been featured by Voice of America, among other outlets. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is her debut novel. You can visit her online at roseanneabrown.com.

Read our exclusive interview: Rosanne A. Brown Discusses A Song of Wraith and Ruin

A Song of Wraith and Ruin, by Roseanne A. Brown, was reviewed by Denise Mealy. Discover more books like A Song of Wraith and Ruin by following along with our reviews and articles tagged with , , , , and .

How You Support The Children's Book Review
We may receive a small commission from purchases made via the links on this page. If you discover a book or product of interest on this page and use the links provided to make a purchase, you will help support our mission to 'Grow Readers.' Your support means we can keep delivering quality content that's available to all. Thank you!

Denise Mealy is a former web content provider who stays at home to change diapers and write books. Her days are filled with Word documents, books and sloppy kisses (from dogs and baby alike). She likes to read, cook, dance, travel and forward pictures of spam sculptures to friends. If she could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, it would be a toss up between J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen. They would probably eat pasta. Yes, definitely pasta. For more information, visit: www.dccmealy.com You can also find her on Twitter: @dccmealy

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.