HomeBook Reviews and Recommendations: Preschool to Elementary, Ages 4-8 (Page 2)

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Preschool to Elementary, Ages 4-8

 

Did you know that you could boost your preschool or elementary child’s intelligence simply by ensuring that reading books is a part of their day-to-day life?

 

Children's Book Reviews for ages 4 to 8

An abundance of research all points to the same thing: kids that read (or kids that are read to) daily from an early age perform better on their report cards. As children move through the phases of listening to stories, sounding out words, stringing words together to make a sentence, and then, eventually, reading a complete book, they begin to master language, improve communication skills, and their comprehension blossoms. Finding books for kids ages 4-8 is all about connecting your child with books that will peak their individual interests, while also entertaining them so much that they can’t wait to pick up another good book—keeping that healthy reading habit of reading for pleasure, going!

In this section of The Children’s Book Review’s online reading oasis, our reviews and book lists cover a wide variety of subjects: picture books to chapter books, funny books, sports books, biographies, books about dinosaurs, books about ballet, mysteries, and, well, you get the idea—just about any kind of book suitable for kids ages 4-8. Check out these reviews to get started:

Return, by Aaron Becker | Book Review

Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit, Book Burglar, by Emily MacKenzie | Book Review

Five Family Favorites with Lauren Wolk, Author of Wolf Hollow

If you’re a bookworm and a socialite, digitally speaking, and feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for ages 4-8, then you can send us suggestions on books for preschoolers and elementary school kids through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.  Read on, fearless readers!

Buy recent books and ebooks for preschoolers and elementary age kids in our Book Shop powered by Amazon.

Books for Ages 4-8

Camille Andros, up and coming author of the new book The Dress and the Girl, brings all her experience – both as a professional and mother, to her work.

Goodnight, Little One: The Latest Picks for Bedtime Reading

This month, the book that tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store is Tom Fletcher's The Christmasaurus, an instant Christmas classic! 

This month the best selling picture book from our affiliate store is The Little Fir Tree, written by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Jim LaMarche.Christmas.

We all know a Potterhead that can't get enough of the magical wizarding world created by J.K. Rowling, the author of the much-loved seven-book Harry Potter series. Here are 7 books that will charm even the most qualified wizards! 

We have curated a list of seven of the best Jewish books for kids that released during 2018.

Are you ready for some unexpected silliness? Come along with author Connie Bowman on the awareness tour for There's an Elephant in My Bathtub.

In our third installment of the “Learn to Draw on TCBR” series AG Ford teaches us how to draw Excavator from Construction Site on Christmas Night.

Two new kids book series, that are geared toward young girls, have emerged. 

Clicker Downloads an App has been written for kids that love apps and screen time, as well as their caregivers, in an effort to help set good use guidelines.

The Shadow in the Moon, by Christina Matula, is a unique blend of traditional folklore and contemporary customs brings the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival to life.

Goblins, brownies, and pixies, oh my! A Dreadful Fairy Bookis anything but dreadful. In fact, it is an unexpectedly funny ode to books and the knowledge that they bring.

Created by Renata Liwska and Mike Kerr, Crafty Llama is a story about crafting, friendship, and the very best gifts, perfect for fans of Extra Yarn.

Cassandra and the Night Sky is an interesting take on the tales of constellations in the night sky.

The carefully curated lists will aim to fulfill the desires of each individual young reader on your list.

If you have a reader on your hands that has an early appreciation for tongue-curling-words that are fun to say, vibrant illustrations, or could do with hearing the positive messages scattered throughout the pages that encourage readers to be whoever they dare to be, The Adventures of Little Miss Crazy Hair: The Girl with Curlwill surely appeal.

This imaginative novel will appeal to young readers, ages 6-10, that enjoy adventure, fantastic surroundings and mysterious beings, with a joyous Christmas message to boot.

Now You Know How it Works provides an accessible and user-friendly guise to the inner workings of everything from flashlights, to crayons, to garbage dumps.

From beautifully illustrated picture books that walk readers through yoga poses, to activity books that teach meditation and other mindful techniques, these kids mindfulness and yoga books will add just the right amount of calm to your busy.

We have some amazing kids' Christmas Books picked out for young readers: activity books, picture books, and novels.