HomeBooks for Young Readers Pre Teens and Tweens, Ages 9-12 (Page 3)

Books for Young Readers Pre Teens and Tweens, Ages 9-12

 

Pre Teens, tweens, and middle grade readers (books for ages 9 and up) begin to soar with well-developed fantastical worlds, a gentle increase in the complexities of social and emotional plot developments, smaller fonts, and more pages.

 

Books for Young Readers Pre Teens and Tweens

 

With maturity developing and a wide range of reading abilities among preteens and tweens, middle grade novels (books for ages 9 and up) begin to soar with well-developed fantastical worlds, a gentle increase in the complexities of social and emotional plot developments, smaller fonts, and more pages.

While kids used to read books featuring characters around their age, preteens and tweens begin to “read up”–they often like to read about characters older than themselves, while also reserving the right to “read down” at any moment in time. We believe that our job here at The Children’s Book Review is to select excellent middle grade books that cover the many interests, maturity levels, and varying ranges of emotional readiness of kids ages 9-12. Our middle grade book reviews and book lists cover everything from the simply fun to stories that begin to raise difficult questions. You’ll find fantasy novels, mystery books, historical fiction, graphic novels (books that are formatted in comic book style), and much, much more.

Here are a few middle grade book lists to get you started:

5 Gorgeous Animal Adventure Novels for Middle Grade Readers

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | Book List

5 Laugh-Out-Loud and Reach-for-the-Kleenex Middle Grade Novels

5 Amazing Middle Grade Books

5 Middle Grade Books That I’ll Never Lend Out to Anyone Ever

If you’re a huge fan of middle grade novels and a socialite, digitally speaking, and feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for ages 9-12, then you can send us suggestions on books for preteens and tweens through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview. We’re looking forward to connecting with our fellow bookworms!

Buy recent books and ebooks for preteens and tweens in our Book Shop powered by Amazon.

Books for Ages 9-12

Read these stories written by black voices. Read them with your children and teens and start a conversation so that we may have hope for an undivided future in which all communities feel safe.

Ellen is stuck at home. There's no school and no friends, and Mom is working all the time. It seems terrible until she learns about the choice each day offers: GET through it or GROW through it.

A whimsical tail full of witty puns that readers will surely love, this mermaid book is perfect for ocean-obsessed kids. There’s relatable school drama, grumpy pet fish, and a spine-tingling adventure. What more could a kid ask for?

It's silly and fun, and Stick Dog and his companions are hilarious (and Stick Dog is rather witty). Readers will feel like they're in on the story, reading Stick Dog's journal.

This month, the book that tops off the best selling middle-grade book list from our affiliate store is a title included in the list of 101 Books to Read Before You Grow Up!

Karen Benke has a handwritten letter + envelope surprise subscription for kids, to get them interested in snail mail.

With adorable animals, adventure, and a touch of mystery, HOME AGAIN, the final book of the Heartwood Hotel series, is as sweet and satisfying as a well-baked acorn cake.

Which five words best describe Bear and Fred: A World War II Story? Iris Argaman: Home. Friendship. Journey. Thread. Loneliness.

Thea Stilton and the Treasure Seekers is a perfect addition to the Stilton universe!

Trees: A Rooted History is a beautiful, fascinating volume that any young botanist will surely treasure.

Any child that loves a true story is bound to enjoy this first-ever biography of Michael Bond and how the iconic Paddington Bear came to be—highly recommended.

Which five words best describe The List of Things That Will Not Change? Rebecca Stead: Honest, Emotional, Hopeful, Human, and, ultimately, Joyful. 

Do your days sometimes feel boring? Does it seem as though there is just nothing to do? Milo, the main character from The Phantom Tollbooth, can relate.

Favorite chapter books for kids so that if you find yourself in a rut, or simply just need a book recommendation to enjoy with your children, you have a quick list to reference.

The Words of the Wandering is the third compelling book in author D.E. Night’s The Crowns of Croswald series. Royalty, dragons, a battle of magic quills, and a growing darkness are elements bound to capture fans of the fantasy genre.

We have included an award-winning audiobook adapted from an award-winning graphic novel, along with four more outstanding, and emotional listens that we hope your tweens will enjoy.

Hello, Universe is a must-read story that celebrates friendship, courage, empathy, and finding one's voice.

This month, the book that tops off the best selling middle-grade book list from our affiliate store is perfect for some armchair traveling and putting together a list of places to visit sometime in the near future: Lonely Planet Kids' America's National Parks.

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. To learn more, join us on this virtual book tour!

The Deceivers is the second thrilling book in bestselling author Margaret Haddix Peterson’s Greystone Secrets series, pegged, rightly so, as being perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time.