By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: March 31, 2008

After participating in Earth Hour on March 29th, 2008, – the Children’s Book Review has been inspired to provide a head start on reviews of earth-conscious reads in the lead up to Earth Day, which will be on April 22, 2008. Earth Hour is an event created by the World Wildlife Fund where millions of people around the world turn off their lights between 8 p.m. and 9 p.m. to help make a statement about climate change. Earth Hour was born in my home town, Sydney, Australia, in 2007, and in one year has gone global with over 200 cities around the world participating. View cities involved around the world.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: March 28, 2008

A Day With No Crayons

A Day With No Crayons

by Elizabeth Rusch

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Rising Moon (September 17, 2007)

Every child loves crayons. Every child and every parent loves the fun names given to the crayons – like fuzzy wuzzy brown and razzle dazzle rose. The day
Liza’s mommy takes away her crayons for drawing on the wall is when this wonderfully written and illustrated story begins. It is about the journey she takes in discovering the colors and art of the world around her. Liza finds new ways to express her self artistically and imaginatively using nature and learns that art is everywhere.

The Children’s Book Review | March 25, 2008

I was working at the bookstore a few days ago, when a father came in with his 8-year old daughter. The daughter had been invited to a birthday party with an interesting gift theme.  Instead of bringing gifts the children were asked to bring a book that they enjoyed reading and that could be donated to their school library. I had heard of people having book parties, but this was the first one with the donation twist. I started thinking about how this party would be helping to shape the kids involved—teaching them about sharing and being charitable … you probably already have your own thoughts about what a wonderful idea this is.

The Children’s Book Review | March 25, 2008

Eco Babies Wear GreenECO BABIES WEAR GREEN

Written by Michelle Sinclair Colman

Illustrated by Nathalie Dion

Reading level: Ages 0-3

Board book: 20 pages

Publisher: Tricycle Press; Brdbk edition (April 2008)

If you are not yet familiar with the Urban Babies series by Michelle Sinclair and Nathalie Dion, now is the time. This series of six books has sold over 50,000 copies. These completely modern and simple books are adorable and chic all at the same time. The most recent addition is Eco Babies Wear Green. It’s full of fun and simple ways to “Be Green”. The best part is that it’s not just a book for children, every adult gets a giggle out of this one. My favorite part is the solar-powered babies playing outside at the park—enjoying the sunshine like all children should!

To help spread the news on children's books, and to encourage reading amongst our young (still impressionable) kids, here are a few ways that you can support this web site: Gossip: Spread the news about this site by telling everyone you know by any means

Last update: July 28, 2009 Review Policy The Children's Book Review (TCBR) reviews published fiction and non-fiction literature for children and young adults, and other related items. We accept submissions from publishers, authors, illustrators, and publicists. Submissions are evaluated based on the following particulars: literary value, illustrative quality, and

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: March 18, 2008

Welcome to The Children’s Book Review, where it’s our mission to create enthusiastic, life-long readers! But how does one do that? Is it by choosing the book that fits the child’s cognitive and affective needs? Is it by choosing the book that makes us feel new emotions or empowers the ones we already have? Let’s decide together. The plan is to start by reviewing books that will hopefully enrich the lives of your children, and yourself, and provoke the desire to read more. “I think the best thing we can do is provide the environment and the means for kids to explore literature and then let them figure out where they want to go from there”, says a reader of blogger Julia Eccleshare.  Of course we will come across some bad writing (besides mine), and that’s okay, you need to have some bad to really appreciate the good. When it happens, well…  let’s just hope it’s not too often.