Home2009November

By Amanda Chin
Published: November 30, 2009

Author Showcase: A place for authors and illustrators to gain visibility for their works.*

Pets' Playground: Playing Safe in a Dog-and-Cat World Pets’ Playground – Playing Safe in a Dog-and-Cat World‏

by Dr. Amanda Chin. (Author), by Luke Feldman (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 4-9 year olds

Paperback: 104 pages

Publisher: AAHA Press (November, 2009)

What to Expect: Dogs, Cats, Fun Pet Games, Activities, Cooking

Pets are an everyday part of childhood for more than 60% of the United States’ population. As we head toward the holiday season families will spend more time with their family pets or even consider a new furry family member. There are many wonderful reasons for adopting a pet. They promote the advancement of social attributes in children, including companionship, nurturing, love, affection, responsibility and respect. However, this human-animal bond can quickly dissolve, creating an unsafe environment for the child and the pet if simple safety is not practiced.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 26, 2009

The Children’s Book Review proudly shares this list of GREAT books all published by Random House.

PICTURE BOOK

For your little prince or princess . . .

Princess Hyacinth (The Surprising Tale of a Girl Who Floated)

PRINCESS HYACINTH (The Surprising Tale of a Girl Who Floated)

by Florence Parry Heide; illustrated by Lane Smith

A bestselling Caldecott Honor artist and a legendary author team up to brings kids Princess Hyacinth, who has one very big problem: she floats!

Schwartz & Wade Books / 978-0-375-84501-7 / September 22, 2009 /$17.99 / $22.00 / Ages 4–8 / 48 pages

Add this book to your collection: PRINCESS HYACINTH (The Surprising Tale of a Girl Who Floated)

By The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 19, 2009

The Children’s Book Review presents a “guest post” from education writer Karen Schweitzer. Karen is the About.com Guide to Business School. She also writes about online school for OnlineSchool.net.

Reading classic books is a great way for children to expand their horizons and improve their reading skills. You can find classic books at almost any public library. The most popular titles can also be found and read online. Here are 10 sites that provide free classic books to young readers and classic enthusiasts.

By Amanda Lynch, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 23, 2009

Shiver Shiver

by  Maggie Stiefvater

Reading Level: Teens

Hardcover: 400 pages

Publisher: Scholastic Press (August 1, 2009)

What to Expect: Werewolves, Romance, Poetry

I’d been looking forward to reading Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver for awhile–it came highly recommended, so when I sat down to read it I carved out an afternoon and figured I would finish it the following day.

Afternoon quickly became evening, and I was up until the wee hours of the morning because I absolutely HAD to know what happened.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 20, 2009

Here is the scoop on the most popular destinations on The Children’s Book Review site. From “Turkey Day” through to the “New Year”, see what November has to offer.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 19, 2009

Congratulations to Phillip Hoose, the winner of the 2009 National Book Award, in the Young People’s Literature category. I haven’t had the opportunity to read this book, however, I thought I’d share the link to the Nataional Book Foundation’s inspiring interview with Phillip Hoose. As well as the publisher’s synopsis …

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 19, 2009

TestingTheIce_PRIZE

Congratulations to our lucky winners of the Testing the Ice giveaway. The winners have been selected by the random sequence generator at random.org, and have each won a copy of Testing the Ice: A True Story About Jackie Robinson. Margaret, our first prize winner, has also won a Kidorable Hat, Glove & Scarf set!