Home2010September

By Tina Vasquez, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 30, 2010

Around Our Way on Neighbors' DayAround Our Way on Neighbors’ Day

by Tameka Fryer Brown (Author), Charlotte Riley-Webb (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers (August 1, 2010)

In Around Our Way on Neighbor’s Day a young narrator guides us through her wonderfully diverse neighborhood that is swirling with activity in preparation for Neighbor’s Day, a community gathering as much about friends as it is about food.

By Phoebe Vreeland, The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 27, 2010

Confessions of a Former Bully

by Trudy Ludwig (Author), Beth Adams (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 8-12

Hardcover: 48 pages

Publisher: Tricycle Press (August 24, 2010)

Source: Author

Ten-year old Katie has hung up her bully hat.  With gentle nudges from parents, principal and school counselor, she is now sharing her secrets with you and your child so that the bullying can stop. 

By Sarah Danielson, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 23, 2010

Halloween is a holiday that offers kids not only the goodies, but the deliciousness of thrills and chills as well.  Since long before the modern-day tradition of letting your mom dress you up to invade the local neighborhoods in search of treats, tales of ghosts, specters, and creatures inhabiting dimensions of the macabre have drawn children like the proverbial Pied Piper (with a little Freddie Kruger thrown in).  Almost everyone can recall the guilty pleasures of ghost stories in the dark, be it around campfires, at sleepovers, or from the sheer horror of that terrifying book that you’re reading when you’re alone in the house (which you simply cannot put down).

Make these authors part of your child’s Halloween and you combine the fun of trick- or-treating with a good book to enhance the spooky factor to the max!

By Bianca Schulze Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 27, 2010

Austin, TX, September 14, 2010 – The schedule for the Texas Book Festival is available online. Celebrating 15 years, the Book Festival takes place on October 16 and 17 in and around the Texas State Capitol and nearby venues.  Finding authors, locations and times will be a snap with the first ever Texas Book Festival IPhone App sponsored by Kirkus Reviews.  The free IPhone App is due out early October.

By Phoebe Vreeland, The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 27, 2010

Gail Silver

Gail Silver is the author of the award-winning children’s book, Anh’s Anger, and contributing writer to The Expectant Mother’s Guide. She is the  recipient of a 2007 Parents Choice Foundation award for the Cd, A Peaceful Place Inside, and recipient of the 2004 Parents Express enterprising Woman of the year award.  The Yoga Child Children’s program is  a two-time Best of Philadelphia award winner, providing yoga instruction to over 30 schools in the Philadelphia area.

Phoebe Vreeland: Why did you choose to write about anger?

Gail Silver: This story was written during the year of 2006 while I nursed our third child, Chelsea Lane. These peaceful, frequent sittings  provided the space for me to express on my laptop this story that had been growing inside of me for many years.

By Mark Repkin, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 23, 2010

What’s Mommy Doing?! Happily Breastfeeding @ the Gen-X Family Table

CHICAGO—April 15, 2009 More than 7 out of 10 moms are doing what comes naturally and foregoing the bottle for the breast, according to the CDC. To an older sibling, however, breastfeeding is anything but a natural event.  It’s less time with Mommy. It’s frustrating, annoying and really confusing. And what’s wrong with the sippy cup anyway?  Written to restore harmony through understanding, “Mommy Breastfeeds My Baby Brother” is a new children’s book that will be treasured by today’s young families.

By Jayne Ferreira, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 23, 2010

Fantastic Technique For Helping Kids Get Rid Of Emotional Upsets, Negativity and Limiting Beliefs!

Author Jayne Ferreira, states her new book Tapping Away the Blues, “will change your childs life!” Ferreira’s claim comes from years of experience working with families and individuals using a modality known simply as Energy Tapping.

Press Release—Sep 08, 2010Family counsellor and Author Jayne Ferreira, announces her recently published children’s book “Tapping Away the Blues” You Have the Power at Your Fingertips!

Ferreira states she wrote the book, “to help spread the amazing tool of energy tapping around the globe and get as many children to learn how to tap as possible” So far she is having success as her book is being read in Australia, South Africa, Nigeria, China, Europe and North America.

By Suzanne Conti, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: September 23, 2010

Chloe Finds a Lucky Secret, written and illustrated by Suzanne Conti, is a highly creative story that adults find is not just for children. This beautifully illustrated book holds a reminder for all. Let’s celebrate our diversity and recognize that personal success/fulfillment comes at different times for different folks. We can’t measure ourselves against others. The beauty of this book is far deeper than the vividly sweet illustrations and rhyme of imaginative imagery.  The beauty is that the message is neatly written, unfolded in terms a child can easily understand and is never “preachy”. We can all easily identify with Chloe as she makes her journey of personal discovery. This keepsake book is one that parents and grandparents will love reading with their children.