Home2010November

By Jan Klyce, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 30, 2010

ANDREW’S WISH is an uplifting and wonder-filled, heartfelt Christmas children’s book, which includes a bonus CD with the story delightfully narrated by Kelsey Grammer. This is one of those rare books that touches the hearts of young and old alike. Written in a style reminiscent of Dr. Seuss, it is a story that will entertain the entire family.

It will be hard to find a more lovable hero than Andrew, or a more wonderful opportunity to believe in miracles. Open your heart, as you open the pages of this book, and enter into a magical world that is made visible through magnificent illustrations, where reindeer sleep in heated water-beds and Elven Kings grant wishes.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 29, 2010

The littlest ones should not miss out on any fun Christmas reading. There are plenty of sturdy-paged board books for babies and toddlers to get their hands on. Getting the full sensory experience is the beginning step of reading; so let him grab, drag, chew, and flip through these fun holiday stories.

Jingle-Jingle

by Nicola Smee

Reading level: Ages 0-5

Board book: 26 pages

Publisher: Boxer Books; Brdbk edition (October 5, 2010)

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 29, 2010

You could win a copy of this great resource: Show Me How! Build Your Child’s Self-Esteem Through Reading, Crafting, and Cooking by Vivian Kirkfield. We have 2 signed copies to gift! Giveaway begins November 29, 2010, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 29, 2010, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Reading level: Parents

Paperback: 256 pages

By Howard Campbell, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 28, 2010

Howard Campbell comes from a long line of professors, scientists and animal lovers. One of his relatives was the first president of Brown University. His great-grandfather, grand-father, uncle and father were professors at universities including the University of Chicago, University of Pennsylvania, University of Wisconsin and the University of Minnesota. Howard’s grandfather, Lowell Noland, was president of the Wisconsin Audubon Society and the author of many poems about nature and animals, especially birds.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 26, 2010

Disney’s latest movie to take on a well-known princess is Tangled. It tells the tale of Rapunzel. For those of us that have sensitive children or are not sure if our children are ready for a PG rated film, reading through the Tangled read-aloud storybook may be a good choice. This picture book version gives a solid look at what you can expect to see in the film.

With  over  64  pages  of  gorgeous  full‐color  illustrations,  this  hardcover  Read‐Aloud  Storybook  retells  the complete story of the swashbuckling, computer-animated comedy Disney  Tangled.

By Luisa LaFleur, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 24, 2010

Karen Morss

TCBR: Thanks very much taking the time to answer some questions. It’s always a pleasure to be able to get more insight into the stories and the authors. We get lots of requests by authors to review their books, sometimes a lot more than we can handle, but I have to tell you that as soon as I started reading the Flying Poodles .pdf file, I smiled.

KM: Thank you so much for your kind words! I love this story. I’ve read it hundreds of times and sometimes I can’t believe I wrote it.

TCBR: Can you tell us a little about the true story that inspired Flying Poodles?