HomeBooks by AgeAges 4-8Kids’ Christmas Books, 2010: For the Naughty & Nice

Kids’ Christmas Books, 2010: For the Naughty & Nice

By Bianca Schulze and Phoebe Vreeland, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 22, 2010

Last year, Lauren Thompson’s holiday book, The Christmas Magic, let us in on one of Santa’s little secrets: Santa gets a “tingling in his whiskers” when the Christmas magic is on its way. I believe that the tingling has begun. Perhaps even a little jingling, too!

From nicely illustrated carols to tales for the naughty and nice, our holiday gift to you is this list of wonderful Christmas books.

It’s Christmas, David!

by David Shannon

Reading level: Ages 3-7

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: The Blue Sky Press (September 1, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Readers of all ages will vividly remember trying to peek at hidden gift packages; writing scrolls of wish lists to Santa; and struggling to behave at formal Christmas dinner parties. Always in the background, we know Santa Claus is watching, soon to decide if David deserves a shiny new fire truck or a lump of coal under the tree. From playing with delicate ornaments to standing in an endlessly long line for Santa, here are common Christmas activities–but with David’s naughty trimmings. A surefire hit that is destined to be an annual classic.

Note: Fans of No, David! will be thrilled with Shannon’s latest addition. Pairing it with Too Many Toys would make a great gift. It’s Christmas, David is also available in Spanish.

Add this book to your collection: It’s Christmas, David! or llego La Navidad, David! (Spanish Edition)

The Twelve Days of Christmas in Washington, DC

by Candice Ransom (Author), Sarah Hollander (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 5-7

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Sterling (October 5, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Christmas in the nation’s capital is marvelous-and Olivia’s getting to see it all, from the gorgeous trees sparkling near the White House to the fabulous Sculpture Garden where she and cousin James ice skate on the frozen fountain surrounded by statues. And of course, there are plenty of monuments, memorials, and museums-like the amazing Smithsonian, with the ruby-red slippers from The Wizard of Oz-and adorable pandas in the zoo, too!

Note: You might be interested to know that there are currently 16 books published in this series—5 of them are new this year.

Add this book to your collection: The Twelve Days of Christmas in Washington, DC

Richard Scarry’s Best Christmas Book Ever!

by Richard Scarry

Reading level: Ages 4-7

Hardcover: 44 pages

Publisher: Sterling (October 5, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Christmas is coming-and where better to celebrate than in Busytown? Firefighters are stringing lights, stores are crowded, and everyone is in a merry mood. Richard Scarry captures holiday cheer in a series of delightful and brightly illustrated stories featuring his most popular characters, including Huckle Cat and lovable Lowly Worm.
Each small tale sparkles with joy and kindness-and there are also songs, games, a list of Christmas words, and instructions for making a great gift for Grandma!

Note: A TCBR nostalgic favorite!

Add this book to your collection: Richard Scarry’s Best Christmas Book Ever!

Yes, Virginia: There Is a Santa Claus

by Chris Plehal (Author), James Bernardin (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 3-7

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins (September 28, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: In 1897, eight-year-old Virginia O’Hanlon wrote the New York Sun to ask a simple question: Is there a Santa Claus? The editor’s response was a stirring defense of hope, generosity, and the spirit of childhood. His essay has been reprinted countless times since, and the phrase “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus” has become part of American Christmas lore.

Based on these actual events, Yes, Virginia is the story of a little girl who taught a city to believe.

Note: Chris Plehal wrote and helped produce the Yes, Virginia animated special on CBS. You can also see the characters on Macy’s Christmas Believe web site.

The Night Before Christmas

by Clement C. Moore (Author), Robert Ingpen (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 4-7

Hardcover: 48 pages

Publisher: Sterling (October 5, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Let the holiday magic begin!

Stockings hung by the chimney with care. Visions of sugarplums dancing. And that jolly old elf, St. Nick, with his eight tiny reindeer.  That can mean only one thing: it’s The Night Before Christmas! From popular children’s illustrator Robert Ingpen comes a beautiful new interpretation of the classic holiday poem. Ingpen’s stunning pictures capture all the warmth, wonder, and humor of Clement C. Moore’s beloved verse.

It’s perfect for the family to share and a magical start to every Christmas eve.

Note: Classic-style illustrations for a classic piece of literature. If you’re a fan of Robert Ingpen, please take a look at some of his other offerings in our list of “Classic Treats That Never Grow Old.”

Add this book to your collection: The Night Before Christmas

Little Critter’s The Night Before Christmas

by Mercer Mayer

Reading level: Ages 4-7

Hardcover: 20 pages

Publisher: Sterling; Har/Com edition (October 5, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Little Critter stars in this merry retelling of Clement C. Moore’s classic holiday poem, complete with a CD for kids to enjoy with the book.

Mercer Mayer’s warm and witty illustrations add a humorous touch to this magical night, when Little Critter gazes in wonder at jolly Santa Claus, his old-fashioned sleigh, eight prancing reindeer, and a bundle of colorful toys.

Note: This is a good choice for those that are a little harder to pin down for story-time. The pictures feature Mayer’s familar illustrations and the book also comes with an engaging telling of the story.

I Spy A Christmas Tree

by Jean Marzollo

Reading level: Ages 3-8

Hardcover: 24 pages

Publisher: Cartwheel Books (September 1, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Young I SPY readers will want to celebrate the holidays with I SPY A CHRISTMAS TREE. New easy-to-read text by Jean Marzollo is paired with Walter Wick’s amazing seasonal photographs to create a fun-filled Christmas search-and-find.

Note: While I Spy books may not look appealing to the adult eye, they are always a hit with the kids.

Add this book to your collection: I Spy A Christmas Tree

The Toymaker’s Christmas: Paper Toys You Can Make Yourself

by Marilyn Scott-Waters

Reading level: Ages 8-11

Paperback: 48 pages

Publisher: Sterling (October 5, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: The Toymaker spreads Christmas joy with 11 paper toys to pop out, fold, glue together, and play with! With their beautiful, antique style, these toys are sure to enchant both children and adults. Leave St. Nick his milk and cookies in “Santa’s Treat Box.” Decorate the Christmas tree with the four lovely “Little Angels.” Create a magical “Winter Wonderland,” complete with moving parts-like an ice skating penguin. And no Christmas would be complete without a handsome paper “Nutcracker,” with arms and a jaw that move.

Add this book to your collection: The Toymaker’s Christmas: Paper Toys You Can Make Yourself

Magic Tree House #44: A Ghost Tale for Christmas Time

by Mary Pope Osborne (Author), Sal Murdocca (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 7-12

Hardcover: 128 pages

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (September 14, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Jack and Annie are ready for their next fantasy adventure in the bestselling middle-grade series—the Magic Tree House!

Jack and Annie’s mission from Merlin the Magician? To help the famous writer Charles Dickens! In a magical whirl, the brother and sister are whisked back in time to Victorian England and the foggy streets of London.

There, Jack and Annie discover that Charles Dickens has everything he could possibly want. How can they help him? It is not until Mr. Dickens rescues them from being thrown in jail that they discover his secret past and the sad memories that haunt him. They will need all their magic—and help from three ghosts—to keep the great writer from ruining his life!

Mary Pope Osborne mixes magic, humor, history, a little spookiness, and a lot of heart to create this tale, which celebrates the joys of writing—something she knows a lot about, thanks to millions of readers all over the world!

This is the perfect book for boys and girls about to see the classic play A Christmas Carol.

Note: Pair this book with the research guide: Rags and Riches.

Add this book to your collection: Magic Tree House #44: A Ghost Tale for Christmas Time and Magic Tree House Research Guide: Rags and Riches

Silent Night

by Juliet Groom (Author), Tim Warnes (Illustrator)

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Good Books (October 2010)

Source: Library

Publisher’s synopsis: Silent night, holy night, All is calm, all is bright. All the animals gather together, Silent harmonious, happy forever. Together Big Bear and Little Bear set out to explore their world and treasure the natural beauty that is all around them.

Note: This book received a starred review from Kirkus.

Add this book to your collection: Silent Night

Mary Engelbreit’s A Merry Little Christmas

by Mary Engelbreit

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Paperback: 40 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (September 28, 2010)

Source: Publisher

Publisher’s synopsis: Welcome to a winter wonderland!

Christmas is coming, but there’s still so much to do!

In their tiny village in the woods, Gregory Mouse and his family are just as busy as Santa and his elves. They have gingerbread houses to decorate, presents to wrap, cookies to bake, and snowy hills to sled—all before the celebration begins!

This playful holiday alphabet book offers children a miniature world filled with wonderful details—a treat that could only come from Mary Engelbreit, the beloved artist whose bestselling edition of The Night Before Christmas is already a classic.

Add this book to your collection: Mary Engelbreit’s A Merry Little Christmas

Looking for more selection? Take a look at last years’ list.

Rate This Article
Comments

Leave A Comment