Home2010December (Page 4)

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 3, 2010

TCBR: Your new book, Mrs. McGee’s Garden, focuses on the message of self-respect and accepting who we are. Can you tell us a little about the story and why you chose to tell the tale through the eyes of a blade of grass?

Lan Nguyen: A blade of grass on the surface appears to be just like any other blade of grass in the yard.  It often gets overlooked and underappreciated.  As a child moves from the home into pre-k and grade school, they can have the same type of feelings.  They move from the comfort of their parent’s home, where they are the center of attention, to an academic environment, where they are a part of a sea of other children and they can sometimes feel lost. 

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 3, 2010

Talk about eye-popping! Renowned artist J. otto Seibold has revamped Mother Goose classics, and we have one copy of the sparkling Other Goose: Re-Nurseried and Re-Rhymed Children’s Classics to share. Giveaway begins December 3, 2010, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 31, 2010, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Reading Level: All Ages

Hardcover: 80 pages

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 1, 2010

TCBR: Andrew’s Wish is a new Christmas book written to touch the hearts of young and old alike, and inspire us to believe in miracles.  Can you tell us a little about the story and the main character, Andrew?

J & J Publishing: Andrew’s Wish is a story that begins in Santa Village on Christmas Eve as a reindeer named Andrew, who has overslept as Santa departed, wakes up to find a box filled with gifts Santa has forgotten. The reader follows Andrew on his journey over the snow covered hills to the Elf Kingdom as he makes sure the gifts arrive by Christmas morning. Andrew is a modern reindeer whose courage and thoughtfulness inspires kindness in every reader, as his heroic wish leads him on an adventure that represents the very best of the Christmas spirit.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: November 2, 2010

Here’s the scoop on the most popular destinations on The Children’s Book Review site, the most coveted new releases and bestsellers.

THE HOT SPOTS: THE TRENDS

Fall Books for Kids: 2010

How Picture Books Play a Role in a Child’s Development

Kids’ Christmas Books, 2010: For the Naughty & Nice

20 Sites to Improve Your Child’s Literacy

Review: Sleepy Kittens (Despicable Me)

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: December 1, 2010

Fans of Mythology, Beast-ology, and the Goddess Girls series, will be thrilled to know that we have one copy of Artemis the Brave signed by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams, plus a Goddess Girls bookmark, to giveaway. Giveaway begins December 1, 2010, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 31, 2010, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Reading Level: Ages 8-12

Paperback: 240 pages