Home2011January

By Denice Barlow Brown, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: January 30, 2010

First book in new series for children highlights Redcoats, revolution, and heroism as two young sisters summon up the courage to do their part in revolutionary America

Children need heroes, and sometimes the best role models are their peers. That some of those peers lived hundreds of years ago only adds to the excitement and allure of the new series of books for children based on real events and young heroes of the American Revolution.

In the Personal Responsibility Founders Series’ debut book, The Moonlight Message, author Denice Barlow Brown tells the

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: January 28, 2010

Winter. A very fun season: Ice skating, skiing, sledding, building snowmen—or snow-ladies—and the perfect excuse for some good-old hibernation. Definition of hibernation: staying inside watching movies, playing board games, and reading books.

From picture books to a young adult novel, check out this uber-cool list …

Picture Books

Bedtime for Bear

by Brett Helquist

Reading level: Ages 2-7

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins (December 21, 2010)

Source: Publisher

By Lindsey Wright, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: January 28, 2010

These days it seems nearly everyone has a Kindle or iPad. From businessmen who use the devices to keep up on the stock market and the news, to students enrolled in OnlineSchools.org who use their iPad or Kindle to do homework, the reasons for having an e-reader, and the benefits supplied by them, are endless. TheHuffingtonPost reports e-book readers and applications are one of the fastest growing trends with more than six million devices sold in 2010. Following the holiday season, e-book publishers saw a major increase in sales representing an exponential increase over last year’s numbers. While e-books sales account for a small portion of the overall market, children’s books are seeing instant benefits. E-books combine interactive features, sound effects and high-resolution graphics in a compact, kid-friendly package that is creating unlimited potential for innovation and growth.

By Alice Seagren, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: January 27, 2010

This is an exciting children’s book of Macy the Cat and Alice that take a heart warming trip to the beach.  You will read about how much fun the two have at the beach and the exciting things they do.  This is an easy book for beginning readers ages 3-6.  The illustrations, with deep vivid color, will grab children’s attention and they will want to read it over and over.

By Devon Kinch, for The Children’s Book Review
Published: January 27, 2011

The Spirit of Pretty Penny

The Pretty Penny series became the subject of my thesis while a graduate student in graphic design. I had put off my graduate education until I could afford it – which wasn’t until I hit thirty years old. I spent the better part of my twenties getting my personal finances in order after digging myself out of credit card debt.

The experience of repairing my finances – which is a fancy way of saying I worked two jobs and slowly chipped away at the debt – was transformative. I couldn’t believe I had gotten myself into this kind of trouble. I had a lot of girlfriends who were in the exact same boat, so I set out to create a website and line of products to support thirty-somethings in the repair of their finances. However, as I dug deeper into my research, I discovered that the most effective place to start talking about money was with children. Suddenly, my thesis work underwent a dramatic transformation.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: January 25, 2010

Thanks to Lauren Donovan from Random House Kids, I have the following book list to pass on …

Join in GLSEN’s No Name-Calling Week (January 24-28, 2011) with titles from Random House Children’s Books:

CONFESSIONS OF A FORMER BULLY
By Trudy Ludwig; Illustrated by Beth Adams
(Tricycle Press / on sale August 24, 2010 / $18.99 / Ages 8-12)

Ever wonder what goes on in the mind of a bully? Katie has been caught bullying a classmate and now she’s in big trouble: both her parents and the principal insist that she meet with the school counselor, Mrs. Petrowski, to get to the bottom of her behavior. Mrs. Petrowski encourages Katie to keep a diary where Katie can explore her reasons for bullying and the repercussions of what she’s done, not only for those around her, but for