HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Spring Books, Easter Books, & Farm Animals

Spring Books, Easter Books, & Farm Animals

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: April 4, 2011

Spring brings warmer weather, fragrant and bright colored flowers, adorable baby farm animals, and taller children. Spring also brings more books—books that encompass all of those topics and more, for our taller children with blossoming minds. It’s time to select a book that matches the tone of the season, grab a blanket and find a nice spot outside for a spring story time session.

From bunnies to eggs to butterflies to chicks and even a spring shower, these books that have been selected all harness some kind of special spring power and celebrate Easter in its secular form.

Picture Books


Quiet Bunny’s Many Colors

By Lisa McCue

Reading level: Ages 4-6

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Sterling (March 1, 2011)

Source: Publisher

Hands down, the best spring book of 2011. The colors, the critters, the bugs, every illustration captures the essence of spring. The story is light and bounces with fun read-aloud words and finishes with a gentle-but-powerful message of self-acceptance. Simply gorgeous!

Add this book to your collection: Quiet Bunny’s Many Colors

Little White Rabbit
By Kevin Henkes

Reading level: Ages 2-7

Hardcover: 40 pages

Publisher: Greenwillow Books (January 25, 2011)

Source: Publisher

Kevin Henkes is brilliant and so is Little White Rabbit. The pastel colors of the pencils and acrylic paint give off friendly charm as the rabbit explores nature and his own abilities. The gentle details given to the rabbit’s face allow the readers to truly experience the delicate emotions experienced on every page—especially the bliss of true devotion from his mother. The double-page spread of Rabbit imagining what it would be like to flutter through the air with butterflies provides sheer elation.

Illustration by Kevin Henkes

Add this book to your collection: Little White Rabbit

Snow Rabbit, Spring Rabbit: A Book of Changing Seasons
By Il Sung Na

Reading level: 1-5

Hardcover: 24 pages

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (January 11, 2011)

Source: Publisher

This is a beautiful tale of the change of seasons—winter into spring. A white bunny, along with many other animals brave the stark winter and celebrate the colors of life which have been masterfully brought to life with rich inks and oil paints.

Add this book to your collection: Snow Rabbit, Spring Rabbit: A Book of Changing Seasons

Big Bunny
By Betseygail Rand and Colleen Rand

Reading level: Ages 3-5

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Tricycle Press (January 11, 2011)

Source: Publisher

The illustrations have a folk-tale and tribal feel that make this new take on the story of the Easter Bunny worthy of belief.

Add this book to your collection: Big Bunny

Rain Brings Frogs: A Little Book of Hope
By Maryann Cocca-Leffler

Reading level: Ages 0-7

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins (March 1, 2011)

Source: Publisher

Rain Brings Frogs is a little book of sunshine. Nate, the main character, always looks on the bright side of life: “When Dad says, mud. Mud. Mud. Nate says, Rainbow! Rainbow! Rainbow!” Spring is the warmth after a cold winter and Rain Brings Frogs captures this feeling beautifully. It’s a little book of hope and optimism paired perfectly with endearing watercolor illustrations.

Add this book to your collection: Rain Brings Frogs: A Little Book of Hope

Last One in Is a Rotten Egg! (Gilbert and Friends)
By Diane DeGroat

Reading level: Ages 3-8

Paperback: 32 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (January 25, 2011)

Source: Publisher

This is for the family that dreads the Easter Egg Hunt! DeGroat’s story provides enough entertainment and the right amount of “lesson” to induce good behavior, a decent amount of competitiveness and a healthy dose of sharing.

Add this book to your collection: Last One in Is a Rotten Egg! (Gilbert and Friends)

Board Books


One More Egg
By Sarah Emaneulle Berg

Reading level: Ages 1 and up

Board book: 16 pages

Publisher: NorthSouth; Brdbk edition (February 1, 2010)

Source: Publisher

A bunny and a chicken go on a quest to find one last egg. After a trip around the farm meeting many different animals, the chicken realizes the power is within her to produce the last egg. A comical and delightful story that will leave readers wondering whether this leading bunny might actually be the Easter Bunny!

Add this book to your collection: One More Egg

Home For A Bunny (Golden Baby)
By Margaret Wise Brown

Reading level: Ages 0-4

Board book: 24 pages

Publisher: Golden Books; Brdbk edition (January 11, 2011)

Source: Publisher

This is a classic book by a classic author, Margret Wise Brown (Goodnight Moon), in a great new format for babies and toddlers. This padded board book is light, chewable and has easy to turn pages that tell a wonderful springtime story of a bunny looking for a new home.

Add this book to your collection: Home For A Bunny (Golden Baby)

Early Readers


Noodles: I Love Easter!
By Hans Wilhelm

Reading level: Ages 4-8; Scholastic Reader: Level 1

Paperback: 32 pages

Publisher: Cartwheel Books; Original edition (January 1, 2011)

Source: Publisher

Egg hunts, sharing, and pastel hued watercolor illustrations—this is a lovely Easter choice for beginner readers. The text is large with one to two sentences per page.

Add this book to your collection: Noodles: I Love Easter!

Hippo & Rabbit In Three Short Tales
By Jeff Mack

Reading level: Ages 4-8; Scholastic Reader: Level 1

Paperback: 32 pages

Publisher: Cartwheel Books; Original edition (February 1, 2011)

Source: Publisher

Fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie series will love Hippo and Rabbit in Three Short Tales. Great comedic timing with small amounts of large sized text in speech bubbles and entertaining comic style illustrations make this a great choice for beginning readers—even the reluctant ones. Highly recommended.

Add this book to your collection: Hippo & Rabbit In Three Short Tales

Butterflies
By Nic Bishop

Reading level: Ages 4-8; Scholastic Reader: Level 2

Paperback: 32 pages

Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks (February 1, 2011)

Source: Publisher

Stunning close-up photographs, real facts; and a great author’s note, glossary of words, and photo index are found on the last two double-page spreads. Large text well placed on the pages makes it a great choice for a non-fiction early reader book.

Add this book to your collection: Butterflies

Teeny Tiny Animals
By Lexi Ryals

Reading level: Ages 4-8

Paperback: 32 pages

Publisher: Scholastic Reference (March 1, 2011)

Source: Publisher

It’s the cover that got me with this book—it just shouts springtime. Open up the book and you’ll discover each double page spread dedicated to a different tiny animal. From dogs to snakes to the Pink Fairy Armadillo, there is something for everyone.

Add this book to your collection: Teeny Tiny Animals

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment