HomeBooks by AgeAges 4-8The “Weird” Series Tackles Bullying

The “Weird” Series Tackles Bullying

Reading level: Ages 5 and up

Add these books to your collection: The Weird series by Erin Frankel, illustrated by Paula Heaphy

Weird!: Book 1Dare!: Book 2 and Tough!: Book 3

Part of Free Spirit Publishing’s Bully Free Kids line, the Weird series tells the story of an ongoing case of bullying from three third graders’ perspectives. Luisa describes being targeted by bullying in WEIRD! Jayla shares her experience as a bystander to bullying in DARE! And in TOUGH!, Sam speaks from the point of view of someone initiating bullying. Kids will easily relate to Luisa, Jayla, and Sam, as each girl has her own unique experience, eventually learning how to face her challenges with the help of friends, peers, and caring adults.

Learn more at http://www.theweirdseries.com and http://www.freespirit.com/weird-series

The Children’s Book Review, named one of the ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children) Great Web Sites for Kids, is a resource devoted to children’s literacy. We publish reviews and book lists of the best books for kids of all ages. We also produce author and illustrator interviews and share literacy based articles that help parents, grandparents, teachers and librarians to grow readers. This article was written and provided by one of TCBR's regular contributors.

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.