Home2012October

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: October 27, 2012

Enter to win one of two copies of Andrea Montalbano‘s Soccer Sisters: Lily Out of Bounds

“With the help of teammates, friends and the Soccer Sisters Code, a list of ten unbreakable rules to live and play by, the tween protagonists wrestle with fitting in, standing out, and staying strong … on and off the field.”

Giveaway begins October 27, 2012, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends November 24, 2012, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Reading level: Ages 9-12

Paperback: 130 pages

By Nicki RichesinThe Children’s Book Review
Published: October 26, 2012

Heather Swain & Kids

We’re tickled pink to have Heather Swain in The Children’s Book Review house today. She’s the author of many splendid books, most recently: her clever and inventive Play These Games: 101 Delightful Diversions Using Everyday Items, a follow-up to Make These Toys. Her brilliant new teen novel Josie Griffin Is Not a Vampire has been touted as Twilight meets The Breakfast Club. For more details on this creative wonder woman, be sure to check out her website: HeatherSwainBooks.com. Without further ado, we give you the eloquent Ms. Swain on reading to her sweet children.

By Bianca Schulze, The Children’s Book Review
Published: October 23, 2012

Enter to win a boxed set of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle series. The set includes Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance.

The complete Inheritance cycle, available for the first time in a paperback boxed set!

Giveaway begins October 23, 2012, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends November 20, 2012, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Reading level: Ages 12-17

Paperback

By Luisa LaFleur, The Children’s Book Review
Published: October 19, 2012

Encouraging little kids to read can be easy—snuggle up at bedtime with a good picture book, take trips to the library or visit your local bookstore. But what happens when little bookworms turn into book-averse pre-teens and adolescents?

One of the more daunting tasks of parenthood is asking children to do what they may not like doing but what they have to do. Although my children are still young enough to enjoy snuggling at bedtime with a good book, I wondered what might happen in a few years when they have required reading assignments that they may not want to do. It made me remember how I got my youngest one to take prescribed medication that he hated—I had him pick out the flavor (bubble gum, strawberry, watermelon) at the pharmacy when we went to fill the prescription. Although he still protested about taking his medicine, he at least took comfort in the fact that he had chosen the flavor and that it wasn’t nearly as bad as the non-flavored version. And thus, the reason for this post. Sometimes, it’s more important to engage children in the process rather than force them to act.

Following are some books that pre-teens will surely enjoy because of their irreverent characters, intriguing situations or simply contradictory messages. They are sure to entice even the most reluctant pre-teens.