HomeGiveawaysBack to School Prize Pack from HarperCollins | Giveaway

Back to School Prize Pack from HarperCollins | Giveaway

The Children’s Book Review
Published: July 30, 2013

Enter to win a “Back to School” prize pack (19 books!) from HarperCollins.

HarperCollins Children’s Books has an array of books to add to your backpack this Fall.

Giveaway begins July 30, 2013, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 27, 2013, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Prize Pack Overview

Picture Books

Amelia-Bedelias-First-Library-CardAmelia Bedelia’s First Library Card

In the sixth title in the New York Times best-selling picture book series, young Amelia Bedelia gets her very first library card!

Written by Herman Parish and illustrated by Lynne Avril | May 28, 2013 | Ages 4-8

123-versus-ABC123 Versus ABC

Numbers think they’re the star of this book, but Letters disagree!

Written and illustrated by Mike Boldt | June 25, 2013 |  Ages 4-8

CharlieGoesToSchoolCharlie Goes to School

You may not be able to teach an old dog new tricks-but Charlie can’t get his pals to absorb ANYTHING!

Written by Ree Drummond and illustrated by Diane deGroat | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8 

ClarkTheSharkClark the Shark

Clark is a shark with zing, bang, and BOOM. Clark zooms into school, crashes through the classroom, and is rowdy at recess. Clark loves life-but when his enthusiasm is too much for his friends, Clark’s teacher, Mrs. Inkydink, helps him figure out a way to tone it down.

Written by Bruce Hale and illustrated by Guy Francis | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8

Diary of a Worm Teacher's PetDiary of a Worm: Teacher’s Pet

Worm likes school… almost as much as he likes weekends. The best part of school for Worm is his teacher, Mrs. Mulch. When Mrs. Mulch misses a day of class, Worm and his friends discover that it’s her birthday. Who knew that teachers could take the day off? Who knew teachers had birthdays? Worm does know one thing- he has to figure out the perfect present.

Written by Doreen Cronin and illustrated by Harry Bliss | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8

First Day of SchoolFirst Day of School

Mrs. Madoff’s multicultural classroom celebrates Christmas, St. Patrick’s Day, and Groundhog’s Day.

Written by Anne Rockwell and illustrated by Lizzy Rockwell | June 25, 2013 |  Ages 4-8

Mia Dances Back to SchoolMia Dances Back to School!

It’s a new school year, and Mia can’t wait to be in class with her best friends, Anna and Ruby. On the first day of school, Mia puts on her new tutu and heads out the door. But when she arrives, Mia is upset to discover that she has a different teacher than Anna and Ruby. Will Mia still twirl into the classroom, or is the curtain closing on this school year? On with the show!

Written by Robin Farley and illustrated by Olga Ivanov | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8

My New Teacher and MeMy New Teacher and Me!

The irrepressible Billy, star of the New York Times bestselling When I Grow Up, returns in an uproarious back-to-school tale from the uniquely inspired “Weird Al” Yankovic. Dazzling wordplay and sparkling rhyme combine in this appreciation of the rewards of unabashed originality and the special joy of viewing the world gently askew.

Written by Al Yankovic and illustrated by Wes Hargis | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8

PeteTheCatTheWheelsOnTheBusPete the Cat: The Wheels on the Bus

Join Pete and his pals as they head to school in this groovy version of The Wheels on the Bus.

Written and illustrated by James Dean | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8

Splat and the Cool School TripSplat and the Cool School Trip

When Splat the Cat and his class take a school trip to the zoo, all Splat wants is to see the penguins.

Written and illustrated by Rob Scotton | June 25, 2013 | Ages 4-8

AmeliaBedeliasFirstFieldTripAmelia Bedelia’s First Field Trip

Amelia Bedelia has been loved by readers for more than fifty years. And it turns out that her childhood is full of silly mix-ups, too! It’s Amelia Bedelia’s first field trip with her class, and they get to visit a farm. With cows, chickens, and Amelia Bedelia around, there’s bound to be a barrelful—or a barnful—of laughs!

Written by Herman Parich and illustrated by Lynne Avril | July 2, 2013 | Ages 4-8

Middle Grade Books

Big Nate Flips OutBig Nate Flips Out

How’d you like to be 11 years old, 4 1/2 feet tall, and the all-time record holder for detentions in school history? Meet Nate Wright, 6th grade Renaissance Man and serious mischief maker. When Nate’s infamous sloppiness gets out of hand, his best friend Francis gets in serious trouble. Can Nate clean up his act, or will he flip out first?

Written and illustrated by Lincoln Peirce | February 5, 2013 | Ages 8-12

How to Read Literature Liks a Professor for KidsHow to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

This tween adaptation of Thomas C. Foster’s New York Times bestselling adult book offers a fun and accessible guide to reading, drawing from some of the great classics and current favorites, from Narnia to Twilight. Foster’s voice is relatable, funny, and takes exercises like analyzing symbols and metaphors and makes it engaging and exciting. It’s the perfect tool for parents, teachers, and librarians!

Written by Thomas C. Foster | May 7, 2013 | Ages 8-12

The School for Good and EvilThe School for Good and Evil

The School for Good and Evil series unleashes a dazzling new fantasy world, one in which ordinary boys and girls are trained to be perfect heroes or perfect villains.

Written by Soman Chainani | May 14, 2013 | Ages 8-12

Scary School The Northern FrightsScary School #3: The Northern Frights

In this finale to the Scary School trilogy, Charles Nukid and his friends are chosen to be exchange students at Scream Academy, where they discover that their ogre and troll classmates aren’t half as terrifying as the approaching Ice Dragon.

Written by Derek the Ghost and illustrated by Scott M. Fischer | June 25, 2013 | Ages 8-12

My Weirder School 8My Weirder School #8: Dr. Nicholas Is Ridiculous!

Building on the international success of MY WEIRD SCHOOL, which has sold over five and a half million copies worldwide, this latest book in the new arc features a kooky specialist who takes the kids “back in time” to prepare for a statewide history test.

Written by Dan Gutman and illustrated by Jim Paillot | June 25, 2013 | Ages 6-10

My Wierd Writing TipsMy Weird Writing Tips

Whether you’re a kid who thinks writing is hard or an aspiring bestselling author, this funny, informative book of writing tips and story starters from My Weird School author Dan Gutman is the writing guide for you!

Written by Dan Gutman | June 25, 2013 | Ages 8-12

BigNateDoodlepaloozaBig Nate Doodlepalooza

Do you feel lost without a crossword puzzle in hand, a maze to confound your sense of direction, or perhaps a scribble to turn into a work of art? Well, fear not, because BIG NATE DOODLEPALOOZA has all those things…and more! This third BIG NATE activity book is 110% guaranteed relief from boredom, including (but not limited to) brand new sudoku puzzles, Nate and friends trivia, secret codes, mazes, and doodling games galore!

Written and illustrated by Lincoln Peirce | July 0, 2013 | Ages 8-12

Teens

TheBeginningOfEverythingThe Beginning of Everything

Perfect for fans of John Green, Robyn Schneider’s THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING is a heartbreaking and hilarious contemporary novel about a California Prom King whose charmed existence spectacularly collides with unexpected tragedy.

Written by Robyn Schneider | August 27, 2013 | Ages 13 and Up

About the Publisher

HarperCollins Children’s Books is one of the leading publishers of children’s books. Respected worldwide for its tradition of publishing quality books for children, HarperCollins is home to many of the classics of children’s literature, including Goodnight MoonWhere the Wild Things AreThe Giving TreeCharlotte’s Web, Ramona, Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, the I Can Read beginning reader series and countless award-winning titles. HarperCollins Children’s Books is a division of HarperCollins Publishers, one of the leading English-language publishers in the world.

Visit: www.harpercollinschildrens.com

This giveaway is closed.

Prizing courtesy of HarperCollins Children’s.

Rate This Article

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

Comments
  • I really like the books you offer and would be thrilled to win one of them. I’m really wishing and wishing to win this assortment. I have an 8 year old granddaughter and, now, another sweet little girl of 7 months so all of these would be great for one or the other. Thanks for giving us a chance to win them.

    August 19, 2013

Leave A Comment