HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Dig into “Dig, Dogs, Dig!” by James Horvath

Dig into “Dig, Dogs, Dig!” by James Horvath

Dig Dogs Dig“Grab your gloves, hard hats and boots. Shovels, goggles and dirt-digging suits!” Top-dog Duke and his energetic crew of construction canines are on their way to the jobsite. Children who love big trucks, bulldozers and diggers will love this new, colorful, rhyming “construction tail” by James Horvath.

Dogs love to dig, and these energetic canines are professionals. Duke the foreman wakes up his crew for a long day of digging and building. They hop in their loaders, dump trucks and graders, bulldozers, backhoes and excavators! And off to the jobsite they run.

It doesn’t take long before they hit some trouble in the pit and have to call in a crane to help them haul up their big find – a huge T. Rex bone! But these hard-working dogs have a job to complete, so they quickly get back to building their dog park. At the end of the day they even manage to find a spot for that dinosaur bone!

For Duke, Roxy, Buddy, Max, Spot and Spike no job is too big. Kids of all ages will enjoy seeing these dogs dig into their work. The crew also has a curious little black and white cat named “Jinx” who loves to explore the job site. Little ones love discovering where Jinx will turn up next throughout the book.

With bold, colorful, illustrations little construction fans will love picking out all the fun details of each page. The playful rhyming text makes it an ideal read-aloud, which will quickly become a favorite.

Add this book to your collection: Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail

What Reviewers are Saying

“With its punchy rhymes and Hanna-Barbera panoramas, Dig, Dogs, Dig hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P.D. Eastman’s Go Dog. Go!.” — The New York Times Book Review

“Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site will eagerly dig into illustrator/designer Horvath’s vehicle-centric debut, first in a planned series.” — Publishers Weekly

About the Author

James Horvath has worked as a designer and children’s illustrator for over fifteen years. In 2002 he established Jamestoons Studios (with a workforce of one) so he could focus more on illustration. When not scratching and scribbling at his drawing table, he plays with his two young sons and his wife, bangs around on the banjo, surfs, and generally has lots of fun. James lives with his family on California’s Central Coast.

For more information about Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail, please visit http://digdogsdig.blogspot.com or http://www.harpercollinschildrens.com/.

Rate This Article

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment