HomeBooks by AgeAges 4-8Best New Kids Stories | June 2014
The Return of Zita the Spacegirl By Ben Hatke

Best New Kids Stories | June 2014

The Children’s Book Review | May 1, 2014

Hot New Releases & Popular Kids Stories

This month we’re all about featuring the best new releases from popular kids book series. Many readers will be excited to get their hands on the latest books featuring their favorite characters, while others will be happily introduced for the first time. For graphic novel fans there’s a new Zita the Spacegirl book from Ben Hatke, and, for younger readers, Mo Willems has the bestselling duo Elephant & Piggie meeting a new friend. Fans of Dork Diaries, Magic Tree House and Spirit Animals will be super excited to see new books, too. Who’s excited for some summer reading?

Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not-So-Glam TV Star By Rachel Renée RussellDork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not-So-Glam TV Star 

By Rachel Renée Russell

Publisher’s synopsis: Everyone’s been rooting for Nikki Maxwell and her crush, Brandon—and fans will finally learn if they had their first kiss in this seventh book of the New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki’s juggling a lot this month. A reality TV crew is following Nikki and her friends as they record their hit song together, plus there are voice lessons, dance practice, and little sister Brianna’s latest wacky hijinks. Nikki’s sure she can handle everything, but will all the excitement cause new problems for Nikki and Brandon, now that cameras are everywhere Nikki goes?

The Dork Diaries series has more than 13 million copies in print worldwide!

Ages 9-13 | Publisher: Aladdin | June 3, 2014 | ISBN-13:  978-1442487673

Magic Tree House #52: Soccer on SundayMagic Tree House #52: Soccer on Sunday 

By Mary Pope Osborne

Publisher’s synopsis: Just in time for the 2014 Fifa World Cup, Magic Tree House #52: Soccer on Sunday will take Jack and Annie to a soccer field in Mexico where they must find the final secret of greatness for Merlin. On the field, they’ll meet a young soccer player who dreams of one day playing in the World Cup just like his hero, the great Brazilian soccer player, Pelé!

The Magic Tree House books, with their fiction and nonfiction titles, are perfect for parents and teachers just starting to get into the “Core Curriculum.” With a blend of magic, adventure, history, science, danger, and cuteness, the topics range from kid pleasers (pirates, the Titanic, pandas) to curriculum perfect (rain forest, American Revolution, Abraham Lincoln) to seasonal shoe-ins (Halloween, Christmas, Thanksgiving). There is truly something for everyone here!

Ages 7-10 | Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers | May 27, 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-0307980533

My New Friend Is So Fun! (An Elephant and Piggie Book) By Mo WillemsElephant & Piggie: My New Friend Is So Fun! 

By Mo Willems

Publisher’s synopsis: Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.

Gerald and Piggie are best friends.

In My New Friend Is So Fun!, Piggie has found a new friend! But is Gerald ready to share?

Ages 6-8 | Publisher: Disney-Hyperion | June 3, 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-1423179580

Spirit Animals: Book 4: Fire and Ice By Shannon HaleSpirit Animals: Book 4: Fire and Ice 

By Shannon Hale

Publisher’s synopsis: The adventure continues in this fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series.

Strange things are happening at the frozen edge of the world. Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan have crisscrossed Erdas in their quest to stop the ruthless Conquerors. Only the four of them, supported by the gifts of their legendary spirit animals, have the power to defeat an evil takeover.

While chasing down a lead in the cold North, the heroes arrive at a quiet village where not everything is as it seems. Rooting the truth out of this deceptively beautiful place won’t be easy-and the team is already out of time.

The Conquerors are right behind them.

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Scholastic | June 24, 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-0545522465

The Return of Zita the Spacegirl By Ben HatkeThe Return of Zita the Spacegirl 

By Ben Hatke

Publisher’s synopsis: F

Ben Hatke brings back our intrepid space heroine for another delightful sci-fi/fantasy adventure in this New York Times‑Bestselling graphic novel trilogy for middle grade readers.

 

Zita the Spacegirl has saved planets, battled monsters, and wrestled with interplanetary fame. But she faces her biggest challenge yet in the third and final installment of the Zita adventures. Wrongfully imprisoned on a penitentiary planet, Zita has to plot the galaxy’s greatest jailbreak before the evil prison warden can execute his plan of interstellar domination!

 

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: First Second | May 13, 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-1626720589

We hope you find something that piques your interest from our list of best new kids books and popular kids stories! Which series is the most exciting to you? Dork Diaries, Magic Tree House, Elephant & Piggie, Spirit Animals, or Zita the Spacegirl? For more popular kids series, visit: Best Selling Kids Series | May 2014.

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment