HomeBooks by SubjectBooks with Girl CharactersChasing Power, by Sarah Beth Durst | Book Review
Chasing Power By Sarah Beth Durst

Chasing Power, by Sarah Beth Durst | Book Review

Denise Mealy | The Children’s Book Review | October 15, 2014

Chasing Power By Sarah Beth DurstChasing Power

By Sarah Beth Durst

Hardback: 366 pages

Age Range: 12 and up

Publisher: Bloomsbury (2014)

ISBN: 978-0802737557

What to expect: Magic, Romance, Supernatural Powers

Kayla has many talents, not the least of which is using her telekinetic skills to shoplift jewelry and cash from local stores. With her and her mom constantly on the run from her murderous father, she needs every penny she can get to help keep them safe.

But when brooding hot-guy Daniel catches her red-handed, she’s really in for it. Not because he’s going to turn her in to the police. No, it’s much more dangerous than that. Daniel needs her help rescuing his own mother who’s been kidnapped, and he’s willing to blackmail Kayla to get what he needs. His teleportation skills make their job easier, and hint to a unique shared past. It turns out Kayla’s mom is hiding a staggering secret that involves Daniel’s mother, and Kayla’s own insane father.

Kayla and Daniel must teleport around the world to discover the secret history hidden by their parents, narrowly escaping being murdered themselves. What is so important that everyone is hiding, and how does it relate to Kayla and Daniel and their own super-human powers?

This fast-paced novel has readers skipping across Mayan temples and ancient churches following a lovable and feisty heroine. Durst expertly mixes real history right into the story, creating a richly realistic world. Great for fans of Mark Frost’s THE PALADIN PROPHECY, Ransom Riggs’ MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN and Kasie West’s PIVOT POINT.

Add this book to your collection: Chasing Power

About the Author

SARAH BETH DURST is the author of the young adult novels ConjuredVessel,Drink Slay LoveEnchanted Ivy, and Ice, as well as the middle grade novelsInto the Wild and Out of the Wild. Sarah lives with her husband and children in Stony Brook, New York.

SarahBethDurst.comTwitter

Chasing Power, by Sarah Beth Durst, was reviewed by Denise Mealy. Follow along with our Teen Romance Books tag, as well as our Young Adult Books category, to discover more great novels.

Rate This Article

Denise Mealy is a former web content provider who stays at home to change diapers and write books. Her days are filled with Word documents, books and sloppy kisses (from dogs and baby alike). She likes to read, cook, dance, travel and forward pictures of spam sculptures to friends. If she could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, it would be a toss up between J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen. They would probably eat pasta. Yes, definitely pasta. For more information, visit: www.dccmealy.com You can also find her on Twitter: @dccmealy

Leave A Comment