HomeGiveawaysCast Off, by Eve Yohalem | Book Giveaway
CAST OFF cover

Cast Off, by Eve Yohalem | Book Giveaway

Prize and sample courtesy of Dial Books.
The Children’s Book Review | June 11, 2015

CAST OFF coverEnter to win a copy of Cast Offwritten by Eve Yohalem.

One (1) winner receives:

  • A copy of Cast Off, written by Eve Yohalem.

Age Range: 10 and up

Hardcover: 320 pages

Giveaway begins June 11, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends July 8, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

About the Book

Cast Off

Written by Eve Yohalem

Publisher’s Synopsis: A tale of pirates, mutiny, and friendship on the high seas, perfect for fans of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

It’s 1663 and there is an extra passenger on board a Dutch merchant ship setting sail for the East Indies. Twelve-year-old Petra has stowed away to escape her abusive father. But she quickly realizes that surviving for months at sea will be impossible without help. So when Bram, the half-Dutch / Half-Javanese son of the ship’s carpenter, finds her hiding spot, Petra convinces him to help her stay hidden . . .and help disguise her as a boy.

If Petra is discovered and exposed as a girl, she could be tossed overboard, or worse . . . returned to her father. And if Bram is exposed for helping her, he could lose the only home—and family—he has. As tensions rise on the ship, with pirates attacking, deadly illness, and even mutiny, Petra and Bram face impossible decisions that test their friendship and threaten their dreams of freedom.

Told in alternating voices and filled with secrets and intrigue, this richly researched novel is historical fiction at its best.

Ages 10 and up | Publisher: Dial Books | 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0525428565

Available Here: 


About Eve Yohalem

Eve Yohalem photo

Eve Yohalem

Eve Yohalem’s first book was ESCAPE UNDER THE FOREVER SKY, which Booklist called “riveting.” She lives with her family in New York City. To learn more, and download a free curriculum guide for CAST OFF, visit her website: eveyohalem.com. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eyohalem

This giveaway is closed.
Giveaway Rules
  • This book giveaway is open to participants in the US only.
  • Giveaway begins May 19, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends July 8, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST, when all entries must be received. No purchase necessary. See official rules for details. View our privacy policy.
  • Name, e-mail address and physical address of the winner will be shared with the sponsor for the purpose of giveaway fulfillment only.

Prizing & samples courtesy of Dial Books.

Thank you for entering Cast Off, written by Eve Yohalem, book giveaway. Check out our sweepstakes page to see what other free children’s books may be up for grabs!

Rate This Article

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.


Leave A Comment