HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Gift Books: Page-Turning Books for All Ages
Greenglass House

Gift Books: Page-Turning Books for All Ages

The Children’s Book Review | October 13, 2015

Gift Books_ Page-Turning Books for All Ages

To Encourage a Young Reader

When possible, give the gift of books for birthdays, baby showers, or any other celebration that requires a present—books are special and therefore worthy of special occasions. These selections will inspire imaginations, set creativity levels soaring and, most importantly, encourage young readers to keep turning the pages …

Mix It Up! By Herve TulletMix it Up! 

By Hervé Tullet

Companion to the New York Times bestselling Press Here

This is an interactive book with simple instructions that lead to a wonderful imaginative experience. By following the instructions on each page, colors splash across the pages, and mix together to form new colors. It’s an incredibly fun introduction to the world of colors and the perfect book for an engaging and bonding story time session between children and their caregivers.

Ages 3 and up | Publisher: Chronicle Books | 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-1452137353

Dory FantasmagoryDory Fantasmagory

Written by Abby Hanlon

For fans of Beverly Cleary’s Ramona Series.

Dory is just the kind of little sister and rascal that elementary aged kids love to read about. Considered the baby of the family, her brother and sister find her a bit too childish to play with. It’s a good thing she’s full of energy and imagination, the perfect combo for making her own fun and getting just the attention she’s looking for. A must read!

Ages 6-8 years | Publisher: Puffin Books | 2015 (Reprint) | ISBN-13: 978-0147510679

Greenglass HouseGreenglass House

Written by Kate Milford

Illustrated by Jaime Zollars

For fans of Harry Potter (only, the magic is the mystery).

Milo gets caught up in some very mysterious happenings when his parents’ hotel fills with unexpected guests days before Christmas. The story is current yet old-worldly and filled with multi-layered stories of ghosts, smugglers, treasure hunting, friendship and Milo’s own curiosities about his heritage. Wintery and perfect for the holiday season!

Ages 10-12 | Clarion Books | 2014 | 978-0544052703

The Young Elites by Marie LuThe Young Elites 

Written by Marie Lu

For fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent and George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones.

The Young Elites is a highly anticipated beginning to a brand new fantasy trilogy. It’s set in a world where a fever of the blood has left many children with marked skin, colored hair, and they are all considered bad luck—there is suspicion that a few of these marked children have super-natural powers. These children form the secret organization, The Young Elites; and a cruel king with a larger agenda is seeking them out.

Ages 12 and up | Publisher: Putnam Juvenile | 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-0399167836

This list of “Gift Books: Page-Turning Books for All Ages” was curated by Bianca Schulze—an abbreviated version of this book list first appeared in Woman’s World Magazine in 2014. Discover more articles on The Children’s Book Review tagged with , and 

Rate This Article

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

  • Growing up I always got a stack of books at Christmas. I’ve continued that tradition and collect books through the year to give to my kids so they can open up a stack of new books to read every Christmas. I don’t know the other books you listed, but we love Mix It Up.

    October 13, 2015

Leave A Comment