HomeBooks by AgeAges 4-8Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview
Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

The Children’s Book Review | January 19, 2016

Sarah Dillard, Author of Mouse Scouts Makes a Difference | Speed Interview

The Children’s Book Review: Which five words best describe Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference?

Sarah Dillard: Friendship, Teamwork, Helpfulness, Perseverance, Altruism.

If you had to take a vacation with one of the characters from Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference, who would it be? Why?

I am kind of a quiet unadventurous type, so I would probably be most compatible with Violet. I think Tigerlily would probably be the most fun to take a vacation with, although I am sure I would be spending most of the vacation out of my comfort zone.

What has been the best reaction from a reader, so far?

I read the first Mouse Scouts book to my six year old neighbor this summer. He went home and made himself an emergency wagon and planted a garden. That is exactly how I hope readers will react to Mouse Scouts.

What’s on your nightstand? Any books?

I have many books on my nightstand; The Sugarmountain Snow Ball, a fun middle grade novel by Elizabeth Atkinson, The Curiosity by Stephen Kiernan, a few assorted cookbooks and always, my favorite book of all time The House on the Edge of Things, an enchanting story written by Ethel Cook Eliot in 1923.

For your writing energy: sugar or salt, tea or coffee?

They all work!

Writing tools: computer, pen and paper, or all of the above?

I wish I could say pen and paper, but I seem to write best on my iPad.

Can you tell us one more thing we may not know about Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference, your writing style, or yourself?

I live on a mountain in Vermont, and whenever I get stuck writing, I go outside and take a hike. My best ideas seem to come to me when I am in the woods.

Mouse Scouts- Make A DifferenceMouse Scouts: Make a Difference

Written by Sarah Dillard

Publisher’s Synopsis: For fans of Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones comes a brand-new chapter book series: Mouse Scouts!
Violet, Tigerlily, and their friends are ready to earn their Make a Difference badge. If only they could agree on what kind of difference they want to make. But when the troop decides to clean up a local park, they find themselves facing an unusual rescue mission. Will the girls be able to make a real difference, or will this badge prove more than the Mouse Scouts can handle?

Brimming with lively black-and-white illustrations—including pages from the official Mouse Scout Handbook, plus diagrams, games, activities, and more—this darling new series is just right for chapter book readers.

Ages 7-10 | Publisher: Yearling | 2016 | ISBN-13: 9780385756044

Add this book to your collection: Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference

Available Here: 


About the Author

Sarah Dillard was briefly a Brownie and a Junior Scout. She fondly remembers making macaroni necklaces and, less fondly, one horrible camping trip when she had to eat the worst oatmeal ever. On the brighter side, Sarah studied art at Wheaton College and illustration at the Rhode Island School of Design. Some of her previous books include Perfectly Arugula and Extraordinary Warren. She lives in Waitsfield, Vermont, with her husband. Visit Sarah at SarahDillard.com.

This interview with Sarah Dillard about Mouse Scouts: Make a Difference was conducted by Bianca Schulze. Follow along with our content tagged with Social Graces and  to discover more great books.

Rate This Article

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment