HomeBest Kids StoriesQueen of Shadows: A Throne of Glass Novel: Book 4, by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review
Queen of Shadows A Throne of Glass Novel Book 4 by Sarah J. Maas (1)

Queen of Shadows: A Throne of Glass Novel: Book 4, by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

The Children’s Book Review | March 31, 2017

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass)Queen of Shadows: A Throne of Glass Novel: Book 4

Written by Sarah J. Maas

Age Range: 14 and up

Hardback Book: 648 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

ISBN: 9781619636040

What to expect: Epic fantasy, adventure, magic, the Fae

Fans of Sarah J. Maas’ epic THRONE OF GLASS series will fall in love with this gripping adventure.

Celaena has returned to Adarlan, the home of the wicked King. But Celaena is not who she was when she left: her true identity is Aelin, Queen of Terrasen, and she’s back to start reclaiming her throne. But before she can win back her Kingdom, she must first rescue her cousin who is being held prisoner by the King. His execution is planned, and Aelin has a band of rebels to help her –including her former love, Chaol. But she and Chaol are at odds. Prince Dorian is possessed by a demon, and Aelin wants to put him out of his misery, while Chaol thinks he can save him. Can Aelin rescue her cousin without being caught by the King, and will they have to kill her friend the Prince?

Meanwhile, in Morath, Manon and her coven of thirteen Blackbeak Witches are training to become the King of Adarlan’s airborne cavalry. Everything, however, is not as it seems in the dark and fetid fortress. Manon is asked to do something despicable, and it sets her thirteen at odds with her direct orders from her cruel grandmother. Manon also discovers Elide, a young woman imprisoned who has magical ancestry. With Kaltain releasing shadowfire on anything Duke Perrington asks, Manon is dealing with danger for her and her coven of witches at every turn. Will she find out what the King’s evil plans really are?

This phenomenal fourth installment of the THRONE OF GLASS series will captivate readers. In an amazing feat, Maas manages to make each book better than the last. It’s no wonder her books are so popular. Not only is the premise of the series fascinating, but the writing is stellar. Maas is truly one of the best writers in Young Adult literature.

The world of Celaena has increased to encompass the fascinating story of Manon Blackbeak and her thirteen. Introduced in the last book, Manon is a captivating three-dimensional character. She’s so well-written that she becomes, in my opinion, a secondary protagonist. I found myself just as invested in Manon and her struggle as I was with Aelin and her fight for her cousin’s freedom. The plot to rescue Aelin’s cousin is full of unexpected twists, romantic tension and original plot developments. Rowan’s character really comes in to his own in this book. You’ll find yourself rooting for him! We also see secondary characters get lush and detailed treatment, with fascinating back stories and addictive tension. In addition, Maas ties up Arobynn’s storyline, and readers finally delve in to the lies and deceit that got Aelin in to the assassin’s business in the first place.

As always, the writing is engrossing and a joy to lose yourself in. Blending the best possible high fantasy with epic, sweeping storylines, heated romantic tension and life or death consequences, QUEEN OF SHADOWS grabs readers by the hand and won’t let go until the very last brilliant page. I can’t wait for the next installment!

Maas’ writing will appeal to readers of Maggie Stiefvater and Leigh Bardugo. Highly recommended.

Available Here: 

IndieBound-Iconamazon-smile_color_btnBarnes&Noble-Icon

About Sarah J. Maas

SARAH J. MAAS is the author of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade; as well as A Court of Thorns and Roses. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog.

www.worldofsarahjmaas.com | Facebook |  Twitter

Queen of Shadows: A Throne of Glass Novel: Book 4, by Sarah J. Maas, was reviewed by Denise Mealy. Discover more books like Queen of Shadows by following along with our reviews and articles tagged with  , and .

Denise Mealy is a former web content provider who stays at home to change diapers and write books. Her days are filled with Word documents, books and sloppy kisses (from dogs and baby alike). She likes to read, cook, dance, travel and forward pictures of spam sculptures to friends. If she could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, it would be a toss up between J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen. They would probably eat pasta. Yes, definitely pasta. For more information, visit: www.dccmealy.com You can also find her on Twitter: @dccmealy

No Comments

Leave A Comment