HomeGiveawaysWin a Stick with Reading Prize Pack
Win a Stick with Reading Prize Pack

Win a Stick with Reading Prize Pack

Prizes and samples provided by HarperCollins
The Children’s Book Review | April 14, 2017

Raise a reader!

 

Enter to win two smart & silly middle-grade reads to spark a love of reading, art prints, and a $25 Visa gift card.

One (1) winner receives:

  • A copy of Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties
  • A copy of Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere
  • Art prints from each book’s creators
  • A $25 Visa gift card to keep growing your family library!

Age Range: 8-12

Giveaway begins April 14, 2017, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends May 14, 2017, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Olga and the Smelly Thing from NowhereOlga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere

Written and Illustrated by Elise Gravel

Publisher’s Synopsis: Meet Olga, the amazing child scientist who LOVES animals (because they are super-cute)!

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is jam-packed with fun: vibrant illustrations, word bubbles, quirky humor, olgamus facts, and plenty of excitement for readers who love making discoveries and meeting new friends. Olga is a charming combination of independent, curious, and smart—making her the coolest girl scientist around—perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Captain Underpants.

When Olga crosses paths with a weird creature and becomes the first kid to discover the species olgamus ridiculus, she is ecstatic! What does an olgamus eat? How does it poop? Why does its burp sound like the word rubber? With her trusty observation notebook and the help of a librarian, a shopkeeper, and some friends, Olga sets out to do science—learning the facts about her smelly, almost-furry pal and searching for him when he goes missing. The scientific method is the best way to discover anything!


Read a sample »

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: HarperCollins | 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-0062351265

Available Here: 

IndieBound-Iconamazon-smile_color_btnBarnes&Noble-Icon

About the Author-Illustrator

Elise Gravel is an award-winning author/illustrator from Quebec. She is the winner of the Governor General’s Award for Children’s Illustration in French, and is well-known in Quebec for her original, wacky picture books. She has published a number of books with US publisher Blue Apple as well as a graphic novel for Roaring Brook Press. Having completed her studies in graphic design, Elise found herself quickly swept up into the glamorous world of illustration. Her old design habits drive her to work a little text here and there into her drawings and she loves to handle the design of her assignments from start to finish. She is inspired by social causes and is likes projects that can handle a good dose of eccentricity. Follow Elise on Instagram.

Stick Cat- A Tail of Two KittiesStick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties

Written and Illustrated by Tom Watson

Publisher’s Synopsis: There’s a new pet in town: Stick Cat! Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the Stick Dog books, Stick Cat features Tom Watson’s trademark combination of laughs, adventure, and hilarious stick-figure drawings.

It’s a big day in the big city for Stick Cat and his best friend, Edith. There are treasures to hunt, songs to sing, pigeons to catch, and naps to take. But way up on the twenty-third floor, danger lurks just around the corner. Terrible noises and violent crashes trap a desperate man in the building across the alley. Stick Cat will need to navigate his way across the alley—and around Edith’s peculiar ways—to attempt a rescue.

Stick Cat’s high-wire act is sure to please cat lovers and Stick Dog fans everywhere.

The next adventure, Stick Cat: Cats in the City, arrives on April 25th!

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: HarperCollins | 2016 | ISBN-13: 978-0062411006

Available Here: 

IndieBound-Iconamazon-smile_color_btnBarnes&Noble-Icon

About the Author-Illustrator

Tom Watson lives in Chicago with his wife, daughter, and son. He is the author of the Stick Dog series and the Stick Cat series. This is the first book in that series. Tom does not have a cat. So his ideas for the Stick Cat series come from a whole different place. He’s not sure where that place is exactly, but he knows it’s kind of strange there. While he has your attention, Tom would like to make one thing perfectly clear: There are not going to be any other stick animal books. There won’t be a Stick Monkey, for instance. Or Stick Chicken (even though that’s fun to say) or even Stick Giraffe (even though that would be fun to draw). He’s having plenty of fun just with dogs and cats.

Connect with HarperCollins

Follow HarperChildrens on Twitter

Follow HarperCollins on Instagram

Like HarperChildrens on Facebook

How To Enter

  • Complete the entry form below.
  • Enter once daily (optional).

Giveaway Rules

  • This book giveaway is open to US mailing addresses only.
  • Giveaway begins April 14, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends May 14, 2017, at 11:59 P.M. PST, when all entries must be received. No purchase necessary. See official rules for details. View our privacy policy.
  • Name, e-mail address and physical address of the winner will be shared with the sponsor for the purpose of giveaway fulfillment only.
  • Odds of winning depends upon the number of entries received.
Prizes courtesy of HarperCollins

Thank you for entering the Win a Stick with Reading Prize Pack book giveaway. Check out our giveaways page to see what other free children’s books may be up for grabs!

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

Comments
  • Love this giveaway. Have Two grandsons in middle school. Both into reading. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Carol L

    April 14, 2017
  • How wonderful. I’m sure any f my grandchildren would read or be read to – these books. Thank you for the chance.

    May 6, 2017
  • My daughter has a 6 year old black cat named, Koushka, which means cat in Russian. My 5 year old grandson and the cat are growing up together. What fun adventurous books!

    May 9, 2017

Leave A Comment