HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Best New Books for Kids and Teens | December 2017
Best-New-Books-for-Kids-and-Teens-Nina-Jazz-Legend-and-Civil-Rights-Activist-Nina-Simone

Best New Books for Kids and Teens | December 2017

The Children’s Book Review | December 30, 2017

6 New Release Kids & Teen Books

We have 6 books to share with you this month: 1 board book, 2 picture books, 1 chapter book, and 2 young adult novels. You’ll discover a new addition to the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series, a stunning picture-book biography of Nina Simone, a silly picture book that will have kids collapsing in giggles, the 23rd Goddess Girls adventure, and a debut novel will have readers both disturbed and entranced by one girl’s present-day horrors and another’s haunting past. Of the 6 best new books for kids and teens that we have selected for you to read your way through, we wonder which one you can’t wait to pick up?


Bumblebee Boy LovesBumblebee Boy Loves

Written by Jacky Davis

Illustrated by David Soman

Publisher’s Synopsis: Pair this sweet board book with Ladybug Girl Loves to create the ideal gift for any young adventurer. Part of the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series, this board book introduces the littlest readers to the adventures and imagination of Bumblebee Boy

Bumblebee Boy is Ladybug Girl’s best friend, Sam, and he loves SO many things. He loves driving the Beemobile and jumping high over a whole city. He loves to draw, and he knows he can save the whole world with his superhero skills. Most of all, Bumblebee Boy loves to share a book and a snuggle with his little brother, Owen. Adventure is never more than a blink away for Bumblebee Boy!

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 2-5 | Publisher: Dial Books | December 26, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-0735228696


Nina Jazz Legend and Civil-Rights Activist Nina SimoneNina: Jazz Legend and Civil-Rights Activist Nina Simone

Written by Alice Brière-Haquet 

Illustrated by Bruno Liance

Publisher’s Synopsis: A stunning picture-book biography of the High Priestess of Soul and one of the greatest voices of the 20th century.

With evocative black-and-white illustrations and moving prose, readers are introduced to Nina Simone, jazz-music legend and civil-rights activist. Shared as a lullaby to her daughter, a soulful song recounts Simone’s career, the trials she faced as an African American woman, and the stand she took during the Civil Rights Movement. This poignant picture book offers a melodic tale that is both a historic account of an iconic figure and an extraordinary look at how far we’ve come and how far we still need to go for social justice and equality. A timeless and timely message aptly appropriate for today’s social and political climates.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: Charlesbridge | December 5, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-1580898270


Rot the Cutest in the WorldRot, the Cutest in the World

Written and Illustrated by Ben Clanton

Publisher’s Synopsis: A mutant potato learns that he’s pear-fect just the way he is in this bright, fun, and silly picture book from the creator of It Came in the Mail that will have kids collapsing in giggles (and rescuing the contents of the vegetable drawer).

Rot is a mutant potato. Like most mutant potatoes, Rot loves all sorts of games and contests. So when he sees a sign for the “Cutest in the World Contest,” he can’t wait to enter.

But when Rot realizes who he’s up against—an itty-bitty baby bunny, a little-wittle cuddly kitten, and an eenie-weenie jolly jellyfish—he loses confidence. Will the judges find room in their hearts for an adorable mutant potato?

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers | December 19, 2017 | 978-1481467629


Medea the Enchantress Goddess GirlsGoddess Girls: Medea the Enchantress

Written by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams

Publisher’s Synopsis: Princess Medea and a boy named Jason go on a quest for the Golden Fleece in this twenty-third Goddess Girls adventure!

Jason and Princess Medea are on a quest for the golden fleece, a symbol of kingship, that’s hanging from a limb of the great oak tree. But a huge sleeping serpent guards the fleece—and is the one (scary!) barrier for Jason and Medea. With the help of a special sleeping potion Medea creates, can Medea and Jason work their magic and take what is rightfully theirs?

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Aladdin | December 5, 2017 | ISBN-13: 9781481470179


Foolish HeartsFoolish Hearts

Written by Emma Mills

Publisher’s Synopsis: When Claudia accidentally eavesdrops on the epic breakup of Paige and Iris, the it-couple at her school, she finds herself in hot water with prickly, difficult Iris. Thrown together against their will in the class production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, along with the goofiest, cutest boy Claudia has ever known, Iris and Claudia are in for an eye-opening senior year.

Smart, funny, and thoroughly, wonderfully flawed, Claudia navigates a world of intense friendships and tentative romance in this book about expanding your horizons, allowing yourself to be vulnerable, and accepting―and loving―people for who they really are.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 14-18 | Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. | December 5, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-1627799379


The Truth Beneath the LiesThe Truth Beneath the Lies

Written by Amanda Searcy

Publisher’s Synopsis: For fans of The Darkest Corners and Pretty Little Liars, Amanda Searcy’s debut novel will have readers both disturbed and entranced by one girl’s present-day horrors and another’s haunting past.

Flight.
All Kayla Asher wants to do is run. Run from the government housing complex she calls home. Run from her unstable mother. Run from a desperate job at No Limits Food. Run to a better, cleaner, safer life. Every day is one day closer to leaving.

Fight.
All Betsy Hopewell wants to do is survive. Survive the burner phone hidden under her bed. Survive her new rules. Survive a new school with new classmates. Survive being watched. Every minute grants her another moment of life.

When fate brings Kayla and Betsy together, only one girl will survive.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 14+ | Publisher: Delacorte Press | December 12, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-1524700898


*Header image illustration from Nina: Jazz Legend and Civil-Rights Activist Nina Simone, written by Alice Brière-Haquet and illustrated by Bruno Liance (Charlesbridge, 2017)

For more of the best new books for kids and teens, follow along with our articles tagged with New Books for Kids, Picture Books, Books for Ages 0-3, and Books for Ages 4-8.

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment