HomeBest Kids StoriesBest New Young Adult Books | June 2018
Best-New-Young-Adult-Books-June-2018-How-We-Roll

Best New Young Adult Books | June 2018

The Children’s Book Review | September 20, 2018

7 New Books for Teens

In this list, you will discover 7 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of June. Ready. Set. Read!


Little Do We KnowLittle Do We Know

Written by Tamara Ireland Stone

Publisher’s Synopsis: Next-door neighbors and ex-best friends Hannah and Emory haven’t spoken in months. Not since the fight-the one where they said things they couldn’t take back.
Now, Emory is fine-tuning her UCLA performing arts application and trying to make the most of the months she has left with her boyfriend, Luke, before they head off to separate colleges. Meanwhile, Hannah’s strong faith is shaken when her family’s financial problems come to light, and she finds herself turning to unexpected places-and people-for answers to the difficult questions she’s suddenly facing.

No matter how much Hannah and Emory desperately want to bridge the thirty-six steps between their bedroom windows, they can’t. Not anymore.Until their paths cross unexpectedly when, one night, Hannah finds Luke doubled over in his car outside her house. In the aftermath of the accident, all three struggle to understand what happened in their own ways. But when a devastating secret about Hannah and Emory’s argument ultimately comes to light, they must all reexamine the things they hold true.

In alternating chapters, a skeptic and a believer piece together the story of their complex relationship with help from the boy caught somewhere in the middle. New York Times best-selling author Tamara Ireland Stone deftly crafts a moving portrait of faith, love, and friendship.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 12-17 | Publisher: Disney-Hyperion | June 5, 2018 | ISBN: 978-1484768211


How We RollHow We Roll

Written by Natasha Friend

Publisher’s Synopsis: Quinn is a teen who loves her family, skateboarding, basketball, and her friends, but after she’s diagnosed with a condition called alopecia which causes her to lose all of her hair, her friends abandon her. Jake was once a star football player, but because of a freak accident―caused by his brother―he loses both of his legs. Quinn and Jake meet and find the confidence to believe in themselves again, and maybe even love.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 12+ | Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux | June 5, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-0374305666


Neanderthal Opens the Door to the UniverseNeanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe

Written by Preston Norton

Publisher’s Synopsis: Perfect for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli, Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universeis a “sneakily thought-provoking” and “utterly unforgettable” must-read for every fan of contemporary YA.

Cliff Hubbard is a huge loser. Literally. His nickname at Happy Valley High School is Neanderthal because he’s so enormous-6’6″ and 250 pounds to be exact. He has nobody at school, and life in his trailer-park home has gone from bad to worse ever since his older brother’s suicide.
There’s no one Cliff hates more than the nauseatingly cool quarterback, Aaron Zimmerman. Then Aaron returns to school after a near-death experience with a bizarre claim: while he was unconscious he saw God, who gave him a list of things to do to make Happy Valley High suck less. And God said there’s only one person who can help: Neanderthal.
To his own surprise, Cliff says he’s in. As he and Aaron make their way through the List, which involves a vindictive English teacher, a mysterious computer hacker, a decidedly unchristian cult of Jesus Teens, the local drug dealers, and the meanest bully at HVHS, Cliff feels like he’s part of something for the first time since losing his brother. But fixing a broken school isn’t as simple as it seems, and just when Cliff thinks they’ve completed the List, he realizes their mission hits closer to home than he ever imagined.
Razor sharp, moving, and outrageously funny, Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe is an unforgettable story of finding your place in an imperfect world.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 13+ | Publisher: Disney-Hyperion | June 5, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-1484790625


The Bird and the BladeThe Bird and the Blade

Written by Megan Bannen

Publisher’s Synopsis: A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the kingdom is conquered by enemy forces and she finds herself an unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his irascible father across the vast Mongol Empire.

On the run, with adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to use the Kipchaks’ exile to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into an impossible love.

Jinghua’s already dicey prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. As beautiful as she is cunning, Turandokht requires all potential suitors to solve three impossible riddles to win her hand—and if they fail, they die.

Jinghua has kept her own counsel well, but with Khalaf’s kingdom—and his very life—on the line, she must reconcile the hard truth of her past with her love for a boy who has no idea what she’s capable of . . . even if it means losing him to the girl who’d sooner take his life than his heart.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 13+ | Publisher: Balzer + Bray | June 5, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-0062674159


A Thousand Beginnings and EndingsA Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman

Publisher’s Synopsis: Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 13+ | Publisher: Greenwillow Books | June 26, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-0062671158


Wild Blue WonderWild Blue Wonder

Written by Carlie Sorosiak

Publisher’s Synopsis: Last June, the summer camp Quinn’s family owns in Winship, Maine, was still a magical place. A place where wild blueberries grew no matter the season, a legendary sea monster lurked in the waters, and Quinn fell in love with her best friend, Dylan. Then the accident happened.

Now it’s winter, the magic has drained from Quinn’s life, and she knows it’s her fault. But the new boy in town, Alexander, doesn’t see her as the monster she believes herself to be. As Quinn lets herself open up again, she begins to understand the truth about love, loss, and monsters—real and imagined.

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Jenny Han, and Jandy Nelson, this wondrous novel was proclaimed “a striking examination of love—of friends, of family, of self—as well as of grief” by ALA Booklist in a starred review.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 13+ | Publisher: HarperTeen | June 26, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-0062563996


A Quick and Easy Guide to They Them PronounsA Quick & Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns

Written by Archie Bongiovanni and Tristan Jimerson

Publisher’s Synopsis: Archie, a snarky genderqueer artist, is tired of people not understanding gender neutral pronouns. Tristan, a cisgender dude, is looking for an easy way to introduce gender neutral pronouns to his increasingly diverse workplace. The longtime best friends team up in this short and fun comic guide that explains what pronouns are, why they matter, and how to use them. They also include what to do if you make a mistake, and some tips-and-tricks for those who identify outside of the binary to keep themselves safe in this binary-centric world. A quick and easy resource for people who use they/them pronouns, and people who want to learn more!

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 13+ | Publisher: Limerence Press | June 12, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-1620104996


*Header image from the cover of How We Roll written by Natasha Friend (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2018)

What do you think of our selection of the best new young adult books from January 2018? Let us know in the comments section below. For more of the best new young adult books for teens, follow along with our articles tagged with New Books for Kids, Best Young Adult Books, and Books for Teens and Young Adults.

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.