HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Best Selling Picture Books | September 2018
Best-Selling-Picture-Books-September-2018

Best Selling Picture Books | September 2018

The Children’s Book Review | September 4, 2018

Dear Girl, a remarkable love letter written for the special girl in your life, is this month’s best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

You’ll also find our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best-selling picture books listed by The New York Times.


The Children’s Book Review’s Best Selling Picture Book

Dear Girl by RosenthalDear Girl

Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal

Illustrated by Holly Hatam

Publisher’s Synopsis: From the New York Times bestselling author of I Wish You More, Amy Krouse Rosenthal, and her daughter Paris Rosenthal comes the heartwarming and inspiring Dear Girl,

Dear Girl, is a remarkable love letter written for the special girl in your life.

Through Amy and Paris’s charming text and Holly Hatam’s stunning illustrations, any girl reading this book will feel that she’s perfect—whether she enjoys jumping in a muddy puddle, has a face full of freckles, or dances on table tops.

This book encourages girls to always be themselves and to love who they are—inside and out.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: HarperCollins | January 9, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-0062422507


Nationwide Best Selling Picture Books

 

After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again)After The Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again

Written and Illustrated by Dan Santat

Publisher’s Synopsis: From the New York Times–bestselling creator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend comes the inspiring epilogue to the beloved classic nursery rhyme Humpty Dumpty.

Everyone knows that when Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. But what happened after?

Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat’s poignant tale follows Humpty Dumpty, an avid bird watcher whose favorite place to be is high up on the city wall―that is, until after his famous fall. Now terrified of heights, Humpty can longer do many of the things he loves most.

Will he summon the courage to face his fear?

After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again) is a masterful picture book that will remind readers of all ages that Life begins when you get back up.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: Roaring Brook Press | Oct. 3, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-1626726826


TheDayTheCrayonsQuitThe Day The Crayons Quit

By Drew Daywalt

Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

Publisher’s synopsis: Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me — now a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-7 | Publisher: Philomel | June 27, 2013 | ISBN-13: 978-0399255373


Llama Llama Loves to ReadLlama Llama Loves To Read

Written by Anna Dewdney and Reed Duncan

Publisher’s Synopsis: Llama Llama learns at school.
Counting, writing, reading, rules.
Friends and school — there’s nothing better.
Llama learning all the letters!

Anna Dewdney’s beloved Llama Llama is growing up and learning to read! Throughout the school day,the teacher helps Llama Llama and the other children practice their letters, shows word cards, reads stories, and brings them to the library where they can all choose a favorite book. By the end of the day, Llama Llama is recognizing words and can’t wait to show Mama Llama that he’s becoming a reader!

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-5 | Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers | May 1, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-0670013975


Dragons Love Tacos By Adam RubinDragons Love Tacos

Written by Adam Rubin

Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Publisher’s synopsis: This scrumptious New York Times bestseller has a whole lot of kick!

Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos, and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa . . . oh, boy. You’re in red-hot trouble.

The award-winning team behind Those Darn Squirrels! has created an unforgettable, laugh-until-salsa-comes-out-of-your-nose tale of new friends and the perfect snack.

Ages 3-5 | Publisher: Dial | June 14, 2012 | ISBN-13:978-0803736801


The Wonderful Things You Will BeThe Wonderful Things You Will Be

Written and Illustrated by Emily Winfield Martin

TCBR Review: Every child is unique, and parents can’t wait to see what they will one day be!

Emily Winfield Martin’s delightful book dreams of what children will someday grow to be.

This is a gorgeous book with warm and playful illustrations featuring a diverse set of children. Little ones will be drawn to the pictures, quickly pointing out which one matches what they themselves want to be. The surprise of a double foldout page at the end is a very exciting treat for children too, and my daughter wanted to look at it over and again. The prose is sweet and rhyming, drawing children in and lulling them (hopefully) to sleep before bedtime. A charming book that I highly recommend for young children. Read the full review …

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-7 | Publisher: Random House Children’s Books | 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0-385-37671-6


The information for the best-selling picture books was gathered from the New York Times Best Sellers list, which reflects the sales of picture books sold nationwide, including independent and chain stores. It is correct at the time of publication and presented in random order. Visit www.nytimes.com for their most current and up-to-date list.

*Header image from “Dear Girl” written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal and Illustrated by Holly Hatam (HarperCollins, 2018)

The best-selling picture books by Emily Winfield Martin, Adam Rubin, and others, are truly great choices. Follow along with our Picture Book category for more great titles to peruse.

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.