HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-32 New Board Books for Fans of Anne of Green Gables
2-New-Board-Book-for-Fans-of-Anne-of-Green-Gables

2 New Board Books for Fans of Anne of Green Gables

Dr. Anna Iacovetta | The Children’s Book Review | November 30, 2018

What to Expect: Anne of Green Gables, concepts, colors, numbers, embroidery

The timeless classic of Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery has now inspired the concept for a couple of unique board books for youngsters.  Author Kelly Hill uses Anne as the main character as she introduces colors and numbers.  Those familiar with the story will appreciate the subtleties of Kelly’s scene choices.

In Anne’s Colors, we read “pink cheeks” as childhood friend, Gilbert Blythe tugs at Anne’s braids.  “Red cordial” shows us the infamous tea party where Anne and best friend Diana enjoyed a little too much.  And of course, green for “green gables,” the farm where she called home.   In Anne’s Numbers, readers count the clouds that Anne lays below and stares out while daydreaming.  Anne is also found counting berries and flowers that she finds and collects around the farm as well.

Something that should not be forgotten with these books is the stunning illustrations created by Hill.  The carefully sewn and embroidered scenes add not only depth, but an exceptional charm to these board books.  The vibrant colors match well with Anne’s character and is sure to please the young readers as they are introduced to this well-known literary character.

Annes Colors- Inspired by Anne of Green GablesAnne’s Colors: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables

Created by Kelly Hill

Publisher’s Synopsis: Artist Kelly Hill creates vignettes of the most recognizable scenes from Anne of Green Gables, including Anne and Diana’s first meeting, Gilbert pulling Anne’s hair, Anne’s puffed-sleeve dress and even Anne and Diana sharing raspberry cordial!

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 2+ | Publisher: Tundra Books | May 1, 2018 | ISBN: 978-0-7352-6284-3

Anne's Numbers- Inspired by Anne of Green GablesAnne’s Numbers: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables

Created by Kelly Hill

Publisher’s Synopsis: Walk along with Anne as she goes on a nature walk, counting trees, flowers, clouds and friends! The path Anne takes is based on the description of Anne’s walk to school in Anne of Green Gables.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 2+ | Publisher: Tundra Books | May 1, 2018 | ISBN: 978-0-7352-6285-0

The review 2 New Board Books for Fans of Anne of Green Gables was written by Dr. Anna Iacovetta. Discover more books like the titles listed here by following along with our reviews and articles tagged with , and .

Dr. Anna Iacovetta, classroom teacher who taught every grade, K-12 together with undergraduate students. Her passionate interest in children's literature led her to earn a doctorate in Literature for Children and Young Adults from The Ohio State University. Anna is currently a part-time professor and book reviewer who resides in Cleveland, Ohio where she lives with her husband and two young children. Twitter: LiteraryGal82

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.