HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Best Selling Picture Books | December 2018
Construction-Site-on-Christmas-Night-by-Sherri-Duskey-Rinker-Book-Review

Best Selling Picture Books | December 2018

The Children’s Book Review | December 4, 2018

This month the best selling picture book from our affiliate store is The Little Fir Tree, written by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Jim LaMarche, a moving holiday story that celebrates the true spirit of Christmas.

You’ll also find our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best-selling picture books listed by The New York Times.


The Children’s Book Review’s Best Selling Picture Book

 

The Little Fir TreeThe Little Fir Tree

Written by Margaret Wise Brown

Illustrated by Jim LaMarche

TCBR says: So incredibly heart warming. A moving story, matched with winning illustrations.

Publisher’s synopsis: Once there was a tree that stood in a field away from the other trees.

It longed to be part of the forest—or part of anything at all. After many lonely years, its dream came true. And the little fir tree’s life changed forever!

They put golden tinsel on his branches
And golden bells
And green icicles
And silver stars.
And soon—o shining wonder—the little fir tree was . . .
A Christmas tree

Celebrate the true spirit of Christmas with heartwarming text by the author of Goodnight Moon and exquisite, glowing paintings by award-winning artist Jim LaMarche.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-7 | Publisher: HarperCollins | September 22, 2009 (Reprint) | ISBN-13: 978-0064435291


Nationwide Best Selling Picture Books

 

The Wonderful Things You Will BeThe Wonderful Things You Will Be

Written and Illustrated by Emily Winfield Martin

TCBR Review: Every child is unique, and parents can’t wait to see what they will one day be!

Emily Winfield Martin’s delightful book dreams of what children will someday grow to be.

This is a gorgeous book with warm and playful illustrations featuring a diverse set of children. Little ones will be drawn to the pictures, quickly pointing out which one matches what they themselves want to be. The surprise of a double foldout page at the end is a very exciting treat for children too, and my daughter wanted to look at it over and again. The prose is sweet and rhyming, drawing children in and lulling them (hopefully) to sleep before bedtime. A charming book that I highly recommend for young children. Read the full review …

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-7 | Publisher: Random House Children’s Books | 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0-385-37671-6


TheDayTheCrayonsQuitThe Day The Crayons Quit

By Drew Daywalt

Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

Publisher’s synopsis: Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me — now a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-7 | Publisher: Philomel | June 27, 2013 | ISBN-13: 978-0399255373


Construction Site on Christmas NightConstruction Site on Christmas Night

Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker

Illustrated by A. G. Ford

Publisher’s Synopsis: A new toddler book and Christmas classic: VROOM and ZOOM into the holidays with this new Christmas classic from the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Mighty, Mighty, Construction Site!

Construction toys and construction joys: The trucks are gearing up for Christmas by building a special gift! But, there’s a surprise waiting for each of them, too! Presents await for Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer as each finishes their part of this big, important job and rolls off to a sweet and sleepy goodnight.

A gift that will delight: Playful rhyming text from the bestselling author of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and vibrant illustrations from the acclaimed artist AG Ford make this a perfect gift for young construction fans everywhere.

If you and your child liked toddler books such as Goodnight Moon, Little Blue Truck, Dragons Love Tacos, Building a House, or The Day the Crayons Quit; you’ll love Construction Site on Christmas Night

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 3-6 | Publisher: Chronicle Books | October 16, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-1452139111


Dragons Love Tacos By Adam RubinDragons Love Tacos

Written by Adam Rubin

Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Publisher’s synopsis: This scrumptious New York Times bestseller has a whole lot of kick!

Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos, and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa . . . oh, boy. You’re in red-hot trouble.

The award-winning team behind Those Darn Squirrels! has created an unforgettable, laugh-until-salsa-comes-out-of-your-nose tale of new friends and the perfect snack.

Ages 3-5 | Publisher: Dial | June 14, 2012 | ISBN-13:978-0803736801


Waiting Is Not Easy An Elephant and Piggie BookWaiting is Not Easy! An Elephant and Piggie Book

Written and Illustrated by Mo Willems

Publisher’s Synopsis: Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.

Gerald and Piggie are best friends.

In Waiting Is Not Easy!, Piggie has a surprise for Gerald, but he is going to have to wait for it. And Wait. And wait some more…

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 5-6 | Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children | November 4, 2014 | ISBN-13: 978-1423199571


The information for the best-selling picture books was gathered from the New York Times Best Sellers list, which reflects the sales of picture books sold nationwide, including independent and chain stores. It is correct at the time of publication and presented in random order. Visit www.nytimes.com for their most current and up-to-date list.

*Header image from “Construction Site on Christmas Night” written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by AG Ford (Chronicle Books, 2018)

The best-selling picture books by Emily Winfield Martin, Adam Rubin, and others, are truly great choices. Follow along with our Picture Book category for more great titles to peruse.

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.