HomeBooks by AgeAges 4-8Best Selling Middle Grade Books | December 2019

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | December 2019

The Children’s Book Review | December 9, 2019

The Children’s Book Review’s Best Selling Middle Grade Book

This month, the book (well boxed set actually) that tops off the best selling middle-grade book list from our affiliate store is the Star Wars: Jedi Academy 5 book collection.

Star Wars Jedi Academy 5 Books Collection Set

Written by Jeffrey Brown

Illustrated by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Star Wars Jedi Academy is perfect for fans of STAR WARS or comic-book fiction such as CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS. Story and illustration are combined within this fun graphic novel. Roan’s dream is to leave home and attend Pilot Academy like his older brother, father, and grandfather.

Buy the Boxed Set

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Scholastic | 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-9526533353

Nationwide Best Selling Middle-Grade Books

Also listed are the 5 books we selected from the nationwide best-selling hardcover middle grade list, as seen on The New York Times. Katherine Applegate’s Wishtree is a must-read!

Diary of an Awesome Friendly KidDiary of an Awesome Friendly Kid

Written and Illustrated by Jeff Kinney

Publisher’s Synopsis: Get ready for a whole new look into Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid! Introducing the newest Wimpy Kid author—Rowley Jefferson! Rowley’s best friend Greg Heffley has been chronicling his middle-school years in thirteen Diary of a Wimpy Kid journals . . . and counting. But it’s finally time for readers to hear directly from Rowley in a journal of his own. In Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid, Rowley writes about his experiences and agrees to play the role of biographer for Greg along the way. (After all, one day Greg will be rich and famous, and everyone will want to know his life’s story.) But Rowley is a poor choice for the job, and his “biography” of Greg is a hilarious mess. Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson’s Journal offers readers a new way to look at the Wimpy world—one fans won’t want to miss!

Buy the Book

Ages 9-12 | Publisher: Harry N. Abrams | April 9, 2019 | ISBN-13: 978-1419740275

The Complete Cookbook for Young ChefsThe Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs

Written by America’s Test Kitchen Kids

If getting kids to eat breakfast or pack their own lunch feels like a chore, it might be time to have them make, bake, or cook some of their own food. We’ve found that kids who make their own food choices and prepare it themselves tend to be better eaters. This particular cookbook is an award-winner and a #1 New York Times bestseller. It includes an entire chapter on breakfast and provides plenty of recipes that could be prepared for dinner and would also make excellent leftovers to pack into that lunchbox. The delicious recipes, presented with step-by-step photos, have been kid-tested for cooks of all skill levels.

Buy the Book

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Sourcebooks Explore | October 16, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-1492670025

The Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs

Written by America’s Test Kitchen Kids

If getting kids to eat breakfast or pack their own lunch feels like a chore, it might be time to have them make, bake, or cook some of their own food. We’ve found that kids who make their own food choices and prepare it themselves tend to be better eaters. This particular cookbook is an award-winner and a #1 New York Times bestseller. It includes an entire chapter on breakfast and provides plenty of recipes that could be prepared for dinner and would also make excellent leftovers to pack into that lunchbox. The delicious recipes, presented with step-by-step photos, have been kid-tested for cooks of all skill levels.

Buy the Book

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Sourcebooks Explore | October 1, 2019 | ISBN-13: 978-1492677697

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood- The Poetry of Mister RogersA Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood: The Poetry of Mister Rogers

Written by Fred Rogers

Illustrated by Luke Flowers

Publisher’s Synopsis: For the first time ever, 75 beloved songs from Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and The Children’s Corner are collected in this charmingly illustrated treasury, sure to be cherished by generations of children as well as the millions of adults who grew up with Mister Rogers. 

It’s you I like.
It’s not the things you wear,
It’s not the way you do your hair—
But it’s you I like.

From funny to sweet, silly to sincere, the lyrics of Mister Rogers explore such universal topics as feelings, new siblings, everyday life, imagination, and more. Through these songs—as well as endearing puppets and honest conversations—Mister Rogers instilled in his young viewers the values of kindness, self-awareness, and self-esteem. But most of all, he taught children that they are loved, just as they are. Perfect for bedtime, sing-along, or quiet time alone, this beautiful book of meaningful poetry is for every child—including the child inside of every one of us.

Buy the Book

Ages 6-8 | Publisher: Quirk Books | March 19, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-1683691136

Wonder

Written by R.J. Palacio

Publisher’s synopsis: “Wonder” is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. The thing is, Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, “Wonder” follows Auggie’s journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, “Wonder” is a book you’ll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.

Buy the Book

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers | Jan. 7, 2012 | ISBN-13: 978-0375869020

This information for the best selling books was gathered from the New York Times Best Sellers list, which reflects the sales of hardcover middle grade books from the books sold nationwide, including independent and chain stores. It is correct at the time of publication and presented in random order. Visit www.nytimes.com for their most up-to-date and complete list.

We are sure that you’ll enjoy each one and we also encourage you to take your time perusing The Children’s Book Review for more Middle Grade books and Best Sellers! Tell us in the comments section which middle grade books are hits in your home. Have you read any on this list?

How You Support The Children's Book Review
We may receive a small commission from purchases made via the links on this page. If you discover a book or product of interest on this page and use the links provided to make a purchase, you will help support our mission to 'Grow Readers.' Your support means we can keep delivering quality content that's available to all. Thank you!

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.