HomeBooks by SubjectActivity Books5 Interactive Books for Kids That They’ll Absolutely Love
Five Interactive Books for Kids That They'll Absolutely Love

5 Interactive Books for Kids That They’ll Absolutely Love

Sponsored | All Opinions Are Our Own
The Children’s Book Review | December 14, 2020

Interactive books are one of our favorite ways to raise kids who love to read! Kids who read for pleasure read more often, and kids who read more often succeed at school and out in the world. Another reason to love interactive books is that they are a great alternative to screen-time but still offer a high engagement level for kids who like to keep busy. Interactive books are an absolute no-brainer to add to your child’s reading list. For kids age two through twelve, these five interactive books are the ones they’ll absolutely love and will reach for again and again.

Mightier Than the Sword - Two Books

Mightier Than the Sword Series

Written by Drew Callander and Alana Harrison

Illustrated by Ryan Andrews (and YOU!)

Ages 8-12 | Publisher: Penguin Workshop

Mightier Than the Sword is our favorite modern interactive series for kids ages eight and up—even reluctant readers will become immersed in the story! Both books offer high action, are loaded with fun, secretly educational, and encourage kiddos to be creative with a mere mighty pencil. The reader is the star of these books and survival is not guaranteed. When they grab a pencil to write and draw their way through the suspenseful peril in these witty, pun-filled novels, anything they imagine, write, or draw in the book comes to life. Highly recommended—especially for fans of Mad Libs and Choose Your Own Adventure books. Read our complete review here »

Buy the Book

Buy on AmazonBuy on Bookshop

Wheres Waldo Destination Everywhere

Where’s Waldo? Destination: Everywhere

Written and Illustrated by Martin Handford

Ages 5-9 | Publisher: Candlewick

There are so many reasons to love Where’s Waldo? Including the fact that searching for Waldo and friends will keep your kids busy for quite some time. This particular book in the series features twelve favorite scenes from over thirty years of Waldo adventures. Looking for Waldo sharpens the eye and creates a love of books and poring over pages while also offering an introduction to wanderlust!

Buy the Book

Buy on AmazonBuy on Bookshop

Don't Wake the Dragon

Don’t Wake the Dragon

Written by Bianca Schulze

Illustrated by Samara Hardy

Ages 2-6 | Publisher: Clever Publishing

It is bedtime in the castle, and Dragon is snoozing peacefully. Thank goodness! But what’s this? You’ve turned the page, and now the bedroom door has slammed shut! Will Dragon keep sleeping? It’s a castle full of hijinks, with boisterous cooks banging around pots in the kitchens and friendly Knights celebrating a birthday party way too loudly. You’ll be singing Happy Birthday, dancing a Knightly-jig, and interrupting all the mayhem by tapping on the drum with your little one as readers try – and fail! – to keep the noise down and Dragon fast asleep. Read our complete review »

Buy the Book

Buy on AmazonBuy on Bookshop

Sesame Street: The Monster at the End of This Sound Book with Grover

Written by Jon Stone

Illustrated by Michael Smolin

Ages 3-5 | Publisher: Phoenix International Publications, Inc.

This super-fun book is an interactive story that has been pleasing readers since the early 70s. Cue parents putting on their best Grover voice to elicit plenty of giggles from young ones. Now it has become even more interactive with ten buttons to press—each tells the story in Grover’s voice. No more strained vocal cords for parents—ha! Kids will be highly motivated to sit and listen, push the buttons, and turn pages while learning to connect the printed word with the spoken word. It’s a win-win reading situation for sure! (Note: We hope you don’t completely resign from perfecting Grover’s voice.)

Buy the Book

Buy on AmazonBuy on Bookshop

Alphabet

Written and Illustrated by Matthew Van Fleet

Ages 2-5 | Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books

Pull, lift, spin! Sniff and touch! Introduce the youngest readers to the animal kingdom and the alphabet all at the same time. This sturdy book is a baby shower go-to and a must-have for the home library. It boasts twenty-three textures plus foils, flaps, pull tabs, and even a scratch-and-sniff scent. It also includes a removable full-color alphabet poster for learning fun!

Buy the Book

Buy on AmazonBuy on Bookshop

The article Five Interactive Books Kids Absolutely Love was curated by The Children’s Book Review and sponsored by Drew Callander and Alana Harrison. For similar books and articles, follow along with our content tagged with Alana Harrison, Drew Callander, and Interactive Books.

How You Support The Children's Book Review
We may receive a small commission from purchases made via the links on this page. If you discover a book or product of interest on this page and use the links provided to make a purchase, you will help support our mission to 'Grow Readers.' Your support means we can keep delivering quality content that's available to all. Thank you!

The Children’s Book Review, named one of the ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children) Great Web Sites for Kids, is a resource devoted to children’s literacy. We publish reviews and book lists of the best books for kids of all ages. We also produce author and illustrator interviews and share literacy based articles that help parents, grandparents, teachers and librarians to grow readers. This article was written and provided by one of TCBR's regular contributors.

No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.