HomeBooks by Age

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, Grade School, and Teens, Ages 0-12+

 

By placing a high value on reading you are helping to create lifelong readers. Reading is the core skill behind almost all facets of learning. Kids that read (or kids that are read to) daily from an early age perform better on their report cards—not to mention the improved relationship benefits from a snuggly reading session between parent and child.

 

Children's Book Reviews for all ages

At The Children’s Book Review’s headquarters we receive hundreds of books each month to review. From these hundreds of books, we select only the books that we feel have the strongest potential impact on the reader. We know kids have different interests and different lifestyles and we do our very best to showcase a diverse list of books for all ages:

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Infant And Toddler Age Children, Ages 0-3

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preschool To Elementary, Ages 4-8

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preteen And Tween, Ages 9-12

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Teen And Young Adult, Ages 12+

The key to creating lifelong readers is parental involvement. The literacy journey is a continuous learning path—parents have the power to motivate children through example and by staying connected. Beyond helping kids select age appropriate books that peak their interests, there are many things parents can do to help create a healthy reading habit. For 10 tips on creating lifelong readers, you can check out our article Family Reading: Reading Together & Reading Aloud.

If you feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for kids, and you consider yourself an on-line socialite, you can send us suggestions on books for infants and toddlers through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.  In the meantime, keep turning pages out there.

Buy recent infant and toddler books and ebooks in our Book Shop powered by Amazon; including 101 Books to Read Before You Grow Up: The must-read book list for kids, written by The Children’s Book Review’s founder Bianca Schulze.

Kim Krans, author of the popular 123 DREAM and ABC DREAM books, has created a beautiful nighttime ballad with WHOSE MOON IS THAT?

MY VERY FIRST MOTHER GOOSE, Twentieth Anniversary Edition, is a large volume of nearly seventy classic nursery rhymes.

Enter for a chance to win a copy of Sleep, My Bunny (on sale November 13th, 2018), by Rosemary Wells, and a limited edition print. Giveaway begins November 9, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends December 9, 2018, at 11:59 P.M. MT. 

Each month, we have fun checking out which kids book series' were the best sellers from our affiliate bookstore. This month the most popular kids book series sold was the Indestructibles.

With the message that even pirates can clean up their act (as well as eat veggies), Happy Holidays, Pirates will be worth all yeh doubloons for the entertainment it will bring yeh laddies and lassies. Arrr!

The Children's Book Review | November 5, 2018 Dear Girl, written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal and illustrated by Holly Hatam, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store. From our review: Dear Girl, is a wonderful children’s book constructed as a letter – from the book to the reader, from the authors to their character, from the character to herself. You'll also find our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best-selling picture books listed by The New York Times. The Children's Book Review's Best Selling Picture Book   Dear Girl Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal Illustrated by Holly Hatam Publisher’s Synopsis: From the New York Times bestselling author of I Wish You More, Amy Krouse Rosenthal, and her daughter Paris Rosenthal comes the heartwarming and inspiring Dear Girl, Dear Girl, is a remarkable love letter written for the special girl in your life. Through Amy and Paris’s charming text and Holly Hatam’s stunning illustrations, any girl reading this book will feel that she’s perfect—whether she enjoys jumping in a muddy puddle, has a face full of freckles, or dances on table tops. This book encourages girls to always be themselves and to love who they are—inside and out. Order a Copy Now:

Jeff Mack is the award-winning author and illustrator of Duck in the Fridge and Duck on a Disco Ball—bedtime has never been so silly!

While many kids might dream of trading in their parents (or vice versa!), this charming book shows that the grass isn’t always greener in the other backyard.

The INDESTRUCTIBLES series consists of small (7”x7”), concept books that are chew proof, rip proof, spill proof, nontoxic, and 100% washable (even dishwasher safe). 

Alyssa Satin Capucilli is the award-winning creator and author of the Katy Duck series and the bestselling Biscuit series, which has sold over twenty-four million copies. This just-scary-enough picture book comes with a recipe for Bone Soup—perfect for Halloween eating.

Tomorrow I’ll Be Brave, by Jessica Hische, is a beautiful and thoughtful book that will reward multiple readings, as parents and children alike examine the intricate resonances of words.

Which five words best describe Poe Won’t Go? Kelly DiPucchio: Preposterous, pink, powerful, playful and pachydermish.

Inspired by the beautiful All is Assuredly Well, co-authored by Professor Gore and Maestro Wilson, here is a list of picture books that feature LGBTQI families.

The Wonderful Things You Will Be, written and illustrated by Emily Winfield Martin, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

Teachers and students alike are excited to start a new school year!  Below are some new school-themed children’s books that would make for great additions to any classroom library!

Body safety is a topic that, as parents and educators, we know we need to teach our kids about. Checkout the following body safety books and start the conversation now.

Denise Dufala, a first-time children’s book author, always had the idea of Bomba, the gray bunny with glasses, in the back of her mind.  Bomba has emerged, and this interview provides some background.

We have selected 9 excellent picture books as the best of June 2018.

Here are 4 new must-have board books. These are the titles we feel represented the best of June 2018. Ready. Set. Read!

Which five words best describe Eraser? Anna Kang: mistakes - persistence - hard work - success.

Which five words best describe The Little Guides to Great Lives? Isabel Thomas: Inspirational true stories for everyone.

Kim Krans, author of the popular 123 DREAM and ABC DREAM books, has created a beautiful nighttime ballad with WHOSE MOON IS THAT?

Zola's Elephant is a heartwarming book about friendship, moving, and the power of imagination by Randall de Sève and illustrator Pamela Zagarenski.

MY VERY FIRST MOTHER GOOSE, Twentieth Anniversary Edition, is a large volume of nearly seventy classic nursery rhymes.

Enter for a chance to win a copy of Sleep, My Bunny (on sale November 13th, 2018), by Rosemary Wells, and a limited edition print. Giveaway begins November 9, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends December 9, 2018, at 11:59 P.M. MT. 

Each month, we have fun checking out which kids book series' were the best sellers from our affiliate bookstore. This month the most popular kids book series sold was the Indestructibles.

The Children's Book Review | November 6, 2018 This month, the book tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store is Cornelia Funke's When Santa Fell to Earth. Also listed are the 5 books we selected from the nationwide best-selling hardcover middle grade list, as seen on The New York Times. All of these books are wonderful choices for tweens and middle schoolers—they each have their own empowering message of either accepting the differences of others or to embracing what makes us each individually special. The Children’s Book Review’s Best Selling Middle Grade Book   When Santa Fell to Earth Written by Cornelia Funke Publisher’s Synopsis: What would happen if Santa fell to Earth? Christmas through the eyes of Cornelia Funke: quirky, funny, ultimately heartwarming, and packaged in a collectible format. A new holiday classic! Scared by a storm, Twinklestar, the least reliable reindeer, bolts--causing Santa and his sleigh to crash-land. And though Santa has dropped into a friendly neighborhood, he's not safe: Jeremiah Goblynch, the ruthless new leader of the Council of Yuleland, is determind to put an end to children's wishes and turn the holiday season into his own personal moneymaking scheme. As the last REAL St. Nick around, only Santa stands between

With the message that even pirates can clean up their act (as well as eat veggies), Happy Holidays, Pirates will be worth all yeh doubloons for the entertainment it will bring yeh laddies and lassies. Arrr!

The Children's Book Review | November 5, 2018 Dear Girl, written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal and illustrated by Holly Hatam, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store. From our review: Dear Girl, is a wonderful children’s book constructed as a letter – from the book to the reader, from the authors to their character, from the character to herself. You'll also find our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best-selling picture books listed by The New York Times. The Children's Book Review's Best Selling Picture Book   Dear Girl Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal Illustrated by Holly Hatam Publisher’s Synopsis: From the New York Times bestselling author of I Wish You More, Amy Krouse Rosenthal, and her daughter Paris Rosenthal comes the heartwarming and inspiring Dear Girl, Dear Girl, is a remarkable love letter written for the special girl in your life. Through Amy and Paris’s charming text and Holly Hatam’s stunning illustrations, any girl reading this book will feel that she’s perfect—whether she enjoys jumping in a muddy puddle, has a face full of freckles, or dances on table tops. This book encourages girls to always be themselves and to love who they are—inside and out. Order a Copy Now:

Jeff Mack is the award-winning author and illustrator of Duck in the Fridge and Duck on a Disco Ball—bedtime has never been so silly!

While many kids might dream of trading in their parents (or vice versa!), this charming book shows that the grass isn’t always greener in the other backyard.

This new collection from Lee Bennett Hopkins and Abrams Books is so effective: combining the visual pleasure of master works of art with poetry which is fresh, new, and uniquely tailored to the experiences of young readers, this volume brings both poetry and art to life.

Starting with a gentle tale of a zombie girl seeking friendship, and finishing with a novel filled with paranormal activity, here are six excellent books to read on a dark and stormy night (or, if it suits you better, in the middle of the day with all of your lights switched on)

Mary Lyn Ray, author of The Thank You Book, has written many acclaimed books for children, including New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee.

Allison Varnes, author of PROPERTY OF THE REBEL LIBRARIAN, shares five of her favorite middle grade books

Welcome to this second innovative installment of our exciting new “Learn to Draw” series. This time, illustrator Shawn Harris teaches us how to create a bear by cutting paper and drawing with a pen.

LAURA HULISKA-BEITH has illustrated many popular books for children, including The Goodnight Train (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), 10 Little Ladybugs (Dalmatian), The Recess Queen (Scholastic), and many more.

Jonathan Roth, author-illustrator of Beep and Bob, explains why we take our characters to the limits of their endurance: so they can find a way to face their fears and grow.

These books are fun as well as surprisingly educational, and are sure to offer many a happy rainy afternoon.

Alyssa Satin Capucilli is the award-winning creator and author of the Katy Duck series and the bestselling Biscuit series, which has sold over twenty-four million copies. This just-scary-enough picture book comes with a recipe for Bone Soup—perfect for Halloween eating.

Which five words best describe The Little Guides to Great Lives? Isabel Thomas: Inspirational true stories for everyone.

This updated edition of the bestselling Girls Think of Everything, by Sibert-winner Catherine Thimmesh and Caldecott Honor winner Melissa Sweet, retains all the integrity of the original but includes expanded coverage of inventions.

Set in the countryside south of London in the fall of 1903, Arty and J.J. Pips find themselves in a perilous situation. Getting out of it will require some courage and resourcefulness.

Come along with author Jon Etter and narrator Quentin Q. Quacksworth, Esq on the A Dreadful Fairy Book awareness tour.

Each month, we have fun checking out which kids book series' were the best sellers from our affiliate bookstore. This month the most popular kids book series sold was the Indestructibles.

The Children's Book Review | November 6, 2018 This month, the book tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store is Cornelia Funke's When Santa Fell to Earth. Also listed are the 5 books we selected from the nationwide best-selling hardcover middle grade list, as seen on The New York Times. All of these books are wonderful choices for tweens and middle schoolers—they each have their own empowering message of either accepting the differences of others or to embracing what makes us each individually special. The Children’s Book Review’s Best Selling Middle Grade Book   When Santa Fell to Earth Written by Cornelia Funke Publisher’s Synopsis: What would happen if Santa fell to Earth? Christmas through the eyes of Cornelia Funke: quirky, funny, ultimately heartwarming, and packaged in a collectible format. A new holiday classic! Scared by a storm, Twinklestar, the least reliable reindeer, bolts--causing Santa and his sleigh to crash-land. And though Santa has dropped into a friendly neighborhood, he's not safe: Jeremiah Goblynch, the ruthless new leader of the Council of Yuleland, is determind to put an end to children's wishes and turn the holiday season into his own personal moneymaking scheme. As the last REAL St. Nick around, only Santa stands between

There be plenty of reading treasure found within the pages of The Joneses & the Pirateers: Search for the Phantom Lady.Pirateers and landlubbers alike will do well fillin’ their treasure chest with this bounty.

This new collection from Lee Bennett Hopkins and Abrams Books is so effective: combining the visual pleasure of master works of art with poetry which is fresh, new, and uniquely tailored to the experiences of young readers, this volume brings both poetry and art to life.

Get To Know Miles Spagoski—slightly neurotic, bowling enthusiast—from Donna Gephart’s In Your Shoes, the story of two middle school students who discover that it’s not always clear who could use a friend the most. 

Starting with a gentle tale of a zombie girl seeking friendship, and finishing with a novel filled with paranormal activity, here are six excellent books to read on a dark and stormy night (or, if it suits you better, in the middle of the day with all of your lights switched on)

Allison Varnes, author of PROPERTY OF THE REBEL LIBRARIAN, shares five of her favorite middle grade books

Jonathan Roth, author-illustrator of Beep and Bob, explains why we take our characters to the limits of their endurance: so they can find a way to face their fears and grow.

These books are fun as well as surprisingly educational, and are sure to offer many a happy rainy afternoon.

Alyssa Satin Capucilli is the award-winning creator and author of the Katy Duck series and the bestselling Biscuit series, which has sold over twenty-four million copies. This just-scary-enough picture book comes with a recipe for Bone Soup—perfect for Halloween eating.

Inspired by the beautiful All is Assuredly Well, co-authored by Professor Gore and Maestro Wilson, here is a list of picture books that feature LGBTQI families.

This month the most popular kids book series sold was The Berenstain Bears.

Big Bad Bunty’s Boat Trip From Brazil will appeal to young readers, ages 6-10, that enjoy poetry, learning about new cultures, making friends and finding adventures.

Last month we were honored to interview the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired on the unconventionally funny collaboration of The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge. This month, the book tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

Co-authors Carole P. Roman and J. Robin Albertson Wren discuss Mindfulness for Kids:30 Fun Activities to Stay Calm, Happy, and In Control. Their new book introduces the valuable concept of mindfulness with ease.

Get to know Kathleen Curie Gordon (everyone calls her Katy) from Ellen Klages' Out of Left Field. Selected as a 'best new book of 2018' by TCBR.

The Children's Book Review | November 7, 2018 Popular Books for Teens Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus. Nationwide Best Selling Young Adult Books   The Hate U Give Written by Angie Thomas Publisher’s Synopsis: Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty. Soon to be a major motion picture from Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions. Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone

This new collection from Lee Bennett Hopkins and Abrams Books is so effective: combining the visual pleasure of master works of art with poetry which is fresh, new, and uniquely tailored to the experiences of young readers, this volume brings both poetry and art to life.

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

This substantial read is well suited for those with a military background and of course those who grew up as “brats” in military families.

From debut author Peter Stone, The Perfect Candidate is the heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

In this list, you will discover 7 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of June. Ready. Set. Read!

We're feeling lucky to have spoken with the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired for such an unconventionally funny collaboration!

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

As graphic novels continue to remain popular with pre-teens and adolescents, Dark Tales brings a new spin on old classics for middle-school youngsters.

Put Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor, on your reading list!

For the month of August, Ginger Rue's Aleca Zamm is a Wonder tops off our best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

We have made just one update on this best selling young adult book list. Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list.

My new novel, Questions I Want to Ask You, is about a character in that position named Pack Walsh, who starts out as someone with very rigid (and somewhat limiting) goals and standards.

Kelley Armstrong, author of Aftermath, selected these ‘5 Favorite Young Adult Books.’

Girls Resist!: A Guide to Activism, Leadership, and Starting a Revolution: An activism handbook for teen girls ready to fight for change, social justice, and equality.

In this list, you will discover 5 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of May. Ready. Set. Read!

You will find a few of our favorite coloring books that feature quality paper, great designs, and some beloved characters from some very treasured books

Michelle Falkoff's Questions I Want to Ask You is a mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back.

 From the author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters comes an all-new edge-of-your-seat thriller set in upstate New York about an eerie sequence of seemingly unrelated events that leaves five cheerleaders dead.

The characters in You Gotta Have Heart are so well developed that they will surely reel readers in to see what happens next.