HomeBooks by Age

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, Grade School, and Teens, Ages 0-12+

 

By placing a high value on reading you are helping to create lifelong readers. Reading is the core skill behind almost all facets of learning. Kids that read (or kids that are read to) daily from an early age perform better on their report cards—not to mention the improved relationship benefits from a snuggly reading session between parent and child.

 

Children's Book Reviews for all ages

At The Children’s Book Review’s headquarters we receive hundreds of books each month to review. From these hundreds of books, we select only the books that we feel have the strongest potential impact on the reader. We know kids have different interests and different lifestyles and we do our very best to showcase a diverse list of books for all ages:

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Infant And Toddler Age Children, Ages 0-3

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preschool To Elementary, Ages 4-8

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preteen And Tween, Ages 9-12

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Teen And Young Adult, Ages 12+

The key to creating lifelong readers is parental involvement. The literacy journey is a continuous learning path—parents have the power to motivate children through example and by staying connected. Beyond helping kids select age appropriate books that peak their interests, there are many things parents can do to help create a healthy reading habit. For 10 tips on creating lifelong readers, you can check out our article Family Reading: Reading Together & Reading Aloud.

If you feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for kids, and you consider yourself an on-line socialite, you can send us suggestions on books for infants and toddlers through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.  In the meantime, keep turning pages out there.

Buy recent infant and toddler books and ebooks in our Book Shop powered by Amazon; including 101 Books to Read Before You Grow Up: The must-read book list for kids, written by The Children’s Book Review’s founder Bianca Schulze.

Tomorrow I’ll Be Brave, by Jessica Hische, is a beautiful and thoughtful book that will reward multiple readings, as parents and children alike examine the intricate resonances of words.

Which five words best describe Poe Won’t Go? Kelly DiPucchio: Preposterous, pink, powerful, playful and pachydermish.

Inspired by the beautiful All is Assuredly Well, co-authored by Professor Gore and Maestro Wilson, here is a list of picture books that feature LGBTQI families.

The Wonderful Things You Will Be, written and illustrated by Emily Winfield Martin, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

Teachers and students alike are excited to start a new school year!  Below are some new school-themed children’s books that would make for great additions to any classroom library!

Body safety is a topic that, as parents and educators, we know we need to teach our kids about. Checkout the following body safety books and start the conversation now.

Denise Dufala, a first-time children’s book author, always had the idea of Bomba, the gray bunny with glasses, in the back of her mind.  Bomba has emerged, and this interview provides some background.

We have selected 9 excellent picture books as the best of June 2018.

Here are 4 new must-have board books. These are the titles we feel represented the best of June 2018. Ready. Set. Read!

Which five words best describe Eraser? Anna Kang: mistakes - persistence - hard work - success.

Over the past month, our most popular kids series sold was the TouchThinkLearn series by Xavier Deneux (Chronicle Books).

Dear Girl, a remarkable love letter written for the special girl in your life, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

So you're ready to start teaching your children about their religion? These great board books introduce Judaism in a fun, yet simplistic way!

Uh Oh! Where Did All the Colors Go? is a unique novelty board book with pages that can be personalized with photographs of friends and family members.

Lindsay Ward is the author of the Dexter T. Rexter book Don’t Forget Dexter! Though she never got to bring an orange dinosaur to Show and Tell Day, she did once take all four albums of her sticker collection.

Which five words best describe Night Night, Sleepytown? Amy Parker: Celebrating our amazing community helpers!

The most memorable childhood reads, as selected by author Trudy Ludwig and her family.

We have selected 13 excellent picture books as the best of May.

Here are 8 new must-have board books. These are the titles we feel represent the best of May 2018. Ready. Set. Read!

Selected as one of the best new picture books in March 2017, Peter H. Reynold's Happy Dreamer is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

Tomorrow I’ll Be Brave, by Jessica Hische, is a beautiful and thoughtful book that will reward multiple readings, as parents and children alike examine the intricate resonances of words.

Which five words best describe Poe Won’t Go? Kelly DiPucchio: Preposterous, pink, powerful, playful and pachydermish.

Inspired by the beautiful All is Assuredly Well, co-authored by Professor Gore and Maestro Wilson, here is a list of picture books that feature LGBTQI families.

With a book cover and illustrations as pretty as a sunlit, stained glass window, All is Assuredly Well is the quietly impactful story of King Phillip the Good and his elegant husband.

This month the most popular kids book series sold was The Berenstain Bears.

Big Bad Bunty’s Boat Trip From Brazil will appeal to young readers, ages 6-10, that enjoy poetry, learning about new cultures, making friends and finding adventures.

Last month we were honored to interview the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired on the unconventionally funny collaboration of The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge. This month, the book tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

Co-authors Carole P. Roman and J. Robin Albertson Wren discuss Mindfulness for Kids:30 Fun Activities to Stay Calm, Happy, and In Control. Their new book introduces the valuable concept of mindfulness with ease.

Get to know Kathleen Curie Gordon (everyone calls her Katy) from Ellen Klages' Out of Left Field. Selected as a 'best new book of 2018' by TCBR.

The Wonderful Things You Will Be, written and illustrated by Emily Winfield Martin, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

The Dress and the Girl, by Camille Andros, is the touching story of a young Greek girl who finds a new life in America only to be separated from her favorite dress made by her mother.

A sweet and often hilarious book for kids getting a new baby brother or sister, READY, SET…BABY! prepares everyone for the big responsibilities, fun (and annoyances!) that are coming their way.

Dear Girl, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal, is an excellent foray into the fraught terrain of identity— complex ground for anyone—and boys and girls would do well to read it.

Teachers and students alike are excited to start a new school year!  Below are some new school-themed children’s books that would make for great additions to any classroom library!

Body safety is a topic that, as parents and educators, we know we need to teach our kids about. Checkout the following body safety books and start the conversation now.

Get to know Milla from Erin Soderberg’s Daring Dreamers Club: Milla Takes Charge—touching on everyday dramas and the ups and downs of friendship, this series will enchant all readers who are princesses at heart.

Finding a book that appeals to multiple ages can be a challenge. Here are a few books that are a hit with everyone at bedtime.

Ever wanted to move things without touching them like a Jedi can? Or grow your own kyber crystal? Or maybe explode a balloon with a beam of energy, just like the Death Star? Now you can!

Which five words best describe Teach Your Child Meditation: 70 Fun & Easy Ways to Help Kids De-Stress and Chill Out Lisa Roberts: Playful, Educational, Engaging, Resourceful, and Essential

MAXIMILLIAN VILLAINOUS is my debut book picture book illustrated by the amazing Lesley Breen Withrow who made Max and his family into adorably villainous characters.

Inspired by the beautiful All is Assuredly Well, co-authored by Professor Gore and Maestro Wilson, here is a list of picture books that feature LGBTQI families.

This month the most popular kids book series sold was The Berenstain Bears.

Big Bad Bunty’s Boat Trip From Brazil will appeal to young readers, ages 6-10, that enjoy poetry, learning about new cultures, making friends and finding adventures.

Last month we were honored to interview the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired on the unconventionally funny collaboration of The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge. This month, the book tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

Co-authors Carole P. Roman and J. Robin Albertson Wren discuss Mindfulness for Kids:30 Fun Activities to Stay Calm, Happy, and In Control. Their new book introduces the valuable concept of mindfulness with ease.

Get to know Kathleen Curie Gordon (everyone calls her Katy) from Ellen Klages' Out of Left Field. Selected as a 'best new book of 2018' by TCBR.

Kate DiCamillo's latest book, Louisiana's Way Home, is a remarkable tale that showcases the power of writing things down and truly encourages readers to be both wily and empathetic.

Body safety is a topic that, as parents and educators, we know we need to teach our kids about. Checkout the following body safety books and start the conversation now.

Get to know Milla from Erin Soderberg’s Daring Dreamers Club: Milla Takes Charge—touching on everyday dramas and the ups and downs of friendship, this series will enchant all readers who are princesses at heart.

Finding a book that appeals to multiple ages can be a challenge. Here are a few books that are a hit with everyone at bedtime.

Ever wanted to move things without touching them like a Jedi can? Or grow your own kyber crystal? Or maybe explode a balloon with a beam of energy, just like the Death Star? Now you can!

Which five words best describe Teach Your Child Meditation: 70 Fun & Easy Ways to Help Kids De-Stress and Chill Out Lisa Roberts: Playful, Educational, Engaging, Resourceful, and Essential

Whitney Gardner is an author, illustrator, and coffee addict whose books include the Middle Grade graphic novel, FAKE BLOOD (September 4, 2018; Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers).

We’ve picked 11 middle grade books that we think are some of the best new books for preteens and tweens that released during the month of June 2018.

We have selected 9 excellent picture books as the best of June 2018.

Dan Richards grew up in a small town eating meat, avoiding vegetables, and cheering at the annual Irrigation Festival parade. Stu Truly is Dan's debut novel.

The Storm Runner, by J.C. Cervantes, is a contemporary adventure based on Maya mythology from Rick Riordan Presents!

We're feeling lucky to have spoken with the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired for such an unconventionally funny collaboration!

Over the past month, our most popular kids series sold was the TouchThinkLearn series by Xavier Deneux (Chronicle Books).

Which five words best describe Front Desk? Kelly Yang: Emotional, honest, funny, important and accessible.

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

Review sponsored by JKS Communications The Children’s Book Review | October 9, 2018 Brat and the Kids of Warriors: Book 1 Written by Michael Joseph Lyons Age Range: 12 and up Hardcover: 358 pages Publisher: Bravur Media ISBN: 978-1946957023 What to expect: Adventure, Germany, Post War, Military Family Brat and the Kids of Warriorsis an adventurous, multi-layered story with excitement found in each chapter. The book walks readers through an exceptionally detailed story about the McMasters family and their experiences in post-World War II Germany. The book starts with the McMasters kids: Jack, Laura, and “Rabbit.” They are on a journey across the Atlantic with their mom to reunite with their dad, who has been stationed in Germany after the war. As the story unfolds, readers are introduced to the McMasters kids. First, there is Jack, the one boy in the family. Then, there is Laura, is who is referred to as “Queenie” behind her back because she acts like the boss of both Jack and Rabbit. And finally there is Rabbit, or Kirsten, who, as the youngest, is always finding trouble – with tremendous speed. Their life as military brats is filled with routines such as saying goodbye to good friends, white-glove cleaning, being home by six o’clock sharp, knowing when

From debut author Peter Stone, The Perfect Candidate is the heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

In this list, you will discover 7 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of June. Ready. Set. Read!

We're feeling lucky to have spoken with the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired for such an unconventionally funny collaboration!

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

As graphic novels continue to remain popular with pre-teens and adolescents, Dark Tales brings a new spin on old classics for middle-school youngsters.

Put Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor, on your reading list!

For the month of August, Ginger Rue's Aleca Zamm is a Wonder tops off our best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

We have made just one update on this best selling young adult book list. Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list.

My new novel, Questions I Want to Ask You, is about a character in that position named Pack Walsh, who starts out as someone with very rigid (and somewhat limiting) goals and standards.

Kelley Armstrong, author of Aftermath, selected these ‘5 Favorite Young Adult Books.’

Girls Resist!: A Guide to Activism, Leadership, and Starting a Revolution: An activism handbook for teen girls ready to fight for change, social justice, and equality.

In this list, you will discover 5 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of May. Ready. Set. Read!

You will find a few of our favorite coloring books that feature quality paper, great designs, and some beloved characters from some very treasured books

Michelle Falkoff's Questions I Want to Ask You is a mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back.

 From the author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters comes an all-new edge-of-your-seat thriller set in upstate New York about an eerie sequence of seemingly unrelated events that leaves five cheerleaders dead.

The characters in You Gotta Have Heart are so well developed that they will surely reel readers in to see what happens next.

Biographies of African Americans are important to the overall education of young readers, reminding them of the historical challenges that were faced by ordinary people.

Here you’ll discover five books that we’re highlighting from The New York Times’ best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus.