HomeBooks by Age

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, Grade School, and Teens, Ages 0-12+

 

By placing a high value on reading you are helping to create lifelong readers. Reading is the core skill behind almost all facets of learning. Kids that read (or kids that are read to) daily from an early age perform better on their report cards—not to mention the improved relationship benefits from a snuggly reading session between parent and child.

 

Children's Book Reviews for all ages

At The Children’s Book Review’s headquarters we receive hundreds of books each month to review. From these hundreds of books, we select only the books that we feel have the strongest potential impact on the reader. We know kids have different interests and different lifestyles and we do our very best to showcase a diverse list of books for all ages:

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Infant And Toddler Age Children, Ages 0-3

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preschool To Elementary, Ages 4-8

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preteen And Tween, Ages 9-12

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Teen And Young Adult, Ages 12+

The key to creating lifelong readers is parental involvement. The literacy journey is a continuous learning path—parents have the power to motivate children through example and by staying connected. Beyond helping kids select age appropriate books that peak their interests, there are many things parents can do to help create a healthy reading habit. For 10 tips on creating lifelong readers, you can check out our article Family Reading: Reading Together & Reading Aloud.

If you feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for kids, and you consider yourself an on-line socialite, you can send us suggestions on books for infants and toddlers through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.  In the meantime, keep turning pages out there.

Buy recent infant and toddler books and ebooks in our Book Shop powered by Amazon; including 101 Books to Read Before You Grow Up: The must-read book list for kids, written by The Children’s Book Review’s founder Bianca Schulze.

In our fifth installment of the “Learn to Draw on TCBR” series, Jeff Mack teaches us how to draw his duck from Duck on a Disco Ball (Two Lions, 2018).

Here are 19 of our favorite non-fiction picture books from 2018—and be sure to check out our list of the best fiction picture books from 2018.

With so many amazing picture books to choose from, this was a hard list to put together. Here are 24 of our faves that we think you'll love just as much as we do!

This list represents some of our favorite board books—the board books we feel represented the best of 2018. Ready. Set. Read!

Which five words best describe Giraffe Problems? Jory John: A tale of two necks.

Tis the season for baby’s first Christmas books to snuggle with on cold winter nights!

In our fourth installment of the “Learn to Draw on TCBR” series, Jared Chapman teaches us how to draw a T.Rex from T.Rex Time Machine (Chronicle Books, 2018). Dinos, giggles, and time travel

Goodnight, Little One: The Latest Picks for Bedtime Reading

This month the best selling picture book from our affiliate store is The Little Fir Tree, written by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Jim LaMarche.Christmas.

We have curated a list of seven of the best Jewish books for kids that released during 2018.

The timeless classic of Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery has now inspired the concept for a couple of unique board books for youngsters.

The carefully curated lists will aim to fulfill the desires of each individual young reader on your list.

Now You Know How it Works provides an accessible and user-friendly guise to the inner workings of everything from flashlights, to crayons, to garbage dumps.

We have some amazing kids' Christmas Books picked out for young readers: activity books, picture books, and novels.

An excellent addition to the series and a welcome Christmas gift idea for even the smallest construction fans, CONSTRUCTION SITE ON CHRISTMAS NIGHT is a surefire hit.

Kim Krans, author of the popular 123 DREAM and ABC DREAM books, has created a beautiful nighttime ballad with WHOSE MOON IS THAT?

MY VERY FIRST MOTHER GOOSE, Twentieth Anniversary Edition, is a large volume of nearly seventy classic nursery rhymes.

Enter for a chance to win a copy of Sleep, My Bunny (on sale November 13th, 2018), by Rosemary Wells, and a limited edition print. Giveaway begins November 9, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends December 9, 2018, at 11:59 P.M. MT. 

Each month, we have fun checking out which kids book series' were the best sellers from our affiliate bookstore. This month the most popular kids book series sold was the Indestructibles.

With the message that even pirates can clean up their act (as well as eat veggies), Happy Holidays, Pirates will be worth all yeh doubloons for the entertainment it will bring yeh laddies and lassies. Arrr!

Josh Funk is the author of Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast. Here he shares five of his family's favorite picture books.

Which five words best describe Lizzy and the Good Luck Girl? Susan Lubner:  Hope, Signs, Family, Friendship, Cats

From author Erik DeLeo, The Squirrel Squire and the Tournament of Oaksis the first book in the A Fantastic Tails Adventure series for kids ages 8 and up.

Gregory Funaro's newest book, WATCH HOLLOW, from HarperCollins in February 2019 is out now.

In our fifth installment of the “Learn to Draw on TCBR” series, Jeff Mack teaches us how to draw his duck from Duck on a Disco Ball (Two Lions, 2018).

Emma Wunsch, author of Miranda and Maude: The Princess and the Absolutely Not a Princess – the premier book of the series, combined her daughter’s “love for all things princess” with a silly, impromptu story to create the characters.

A funny chapter book, inspiring non-fiction, a wordless graphic novel, a diverse selection of characters, magical realism, historical fiction, a bunch of middle grade debuts, and a little fantasy are what you will find in this list of 33 brilliant books for kids ages 6 through 14.

Trudy Ludwig's new book, Quiet Please, Owen McPhee! helps young readers to understand the power of listening—not only with their ears, but also their heart.

Here are 19 of our favorite non-fiction picture books from 2018—and be sure to check out our list of the best fiction picture books from 2018.

With so many amazing picture books to choose from, this was a hard list to put together. Here are 24 of our faves that we think you'll love just as much as we do!

This list represents some of our favorite board books—the board books we feel represented the best of 2018. Ready. Set. Read!

Which five words best describe Giraffe Problems? Jory John: A tale of two necks.

Filled with wisdom, knowledge, and courage—just like the Chickasaw elders—readers ages 6 and up are sure to be fascinated by this educational picture book.

Review sponsored by Michaela R Johnson The Children’s Book Review | December 20, 2018 Vegetable Souffle Written by Michaela R Johnson, with Barbara A Johnson and Tucker D Johnson Age Range: 5+ Hardcover: 36 pages Publisher: Mj Innovations (December 1, 2018) ISBN: 978-0578415833 What to expect: Cooking, Healthy Eating, Morals If you just ask around, you’ll surely find someone who has attempted to hide their vegetables instead of eating them. In this picture book, Jake has ten green peas on his plate. When his mother leaves the table to answer the telephone, Jake stuffs his peas into the pocket of his pants. Upon returning to the table, his mother rewards him for eating up his veggies with the opportunity to make a nice dessert over the weekend—eat your vegetables and you may have dessert is certainly a relatable account. After dinner, Jake feeds the peas to his backyard chickens. The next night, when his mother leaves the table to get some more gravy, Jake hides his carrots in the front pocket of his baggy sweatshirt—and so it goes with the broccoli the following night. His proud mother decides that they will make a decadent chocolate soufflé over the weekend. When the time arrives, Jake is sent to the chicken coup to retrieve some eggs,

In our fourth installment of the “Learn to Draw on TCBR” series, Jared Chapman teaches us how to draw a T.Rex from T.Rex Time Machine (Chronicle Books, 2018). Dinos, giggles, and time travel

Margarita Kukhtina is the illustrator of the delightfully entertaining picture book Holiday Season Look and Find. We stole her away from making art to talk Christmas spirit, illustrating, and inspiration

Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs, co-authors of The Darkdeep, selected these six family favorite books.

Today we’re joined by Alabasel Frond, guildmistress of the infamous Adventurers Guild. Frond has brought along her two newest apprentices, Zed and Brock, as part of their ongoing education.

Yuval Zommer has written and illustrated several children’s books, including The Big Book of Bugs, The Big Book of Beasts, and The Big Book of the Blue.

Melissa Sarno, author of Just Under the Clouds, selected these ‘5 Books that Inspired Melissa Sarno to Write Middle Grade.’

Which five words best describe Lizzy and the Good Luck Girl? Susan Lubner:  Hope, Signs, Family, Friendship, Cats

Quills dance, precious stones possess magic, and magical creatures and folk fill the pages of this fantasy series by author D.E. Night.

From author Erik DeLeo, The Squirrel Squire and the Tournament of Oaksis the first book in the A Fantastic Tails Adventure series for kids ages 8 and up.

Gregory Funaro's newest book, WATCH HOLLOW, from HarperCollins in February 2019 is out now.

Emma Wunsch, author of Miranda and Maude: The Princess and the Absolutely Not a Princess – the premier book of the series, combined her daughter’s “love for all things princess” with a silly, impromptu story to create the characters.

A funny chapter book, inspiring non-fiction, a wordless graphic novel, a diverse selection of characters, magical realism, historical fiction, a bunch of middle grade debuts, and a little fantasy are what you will find in this list of 33 brilliant books for kids ages 6 through 14.

Here are 19 of our favorite non-fiction picture books from 2018—and be sure to check out our list of the best fiction picture books from 2018.

Chula the Fox makes a great addition to the important “own voice” movement, in which the main character and author share an identity. Filled with hard truths and the importance of family, this is an enthralling middle grade novel deserving of a spot on home and library bookshelves.

Filled with wisdom, knowledge, and courage—just like the Chickasaw elders—readers ages 6 and up are sure to be fascinated by this educational picture book.

Liberty Frye and the Emperor’s Tomb is the third book in a wonderful series of adventures. Liberty Frye and the Witches of Hessen and Liberty Frye and the Sails of Fate are the first two installments in the trilogy.

Enter for a chance to win a copy of Stories for Boys Who Dare to Be Different, written by Ben Brooks and illustrated by Quinton Wintor! Giveaway begins December 19, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends January 19, 2019, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

Which five words best describe Art in Action? Matthew "Levee" Chavez: Curious, fun, challenging, transforming, thoughtful.

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series.

Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs, co-authors of The Darkdeep, selected these six family favorite books.

Today we’re joined by Alabasel Frond, guildmistress of the infamous Adventurers Guild. Frond has brought along her two newest apprentices, Zed and Brock, as part of their ongoing education.

Melissa Sarno, author of Just Under the Clouds, selected these ‘5 Books that Inspired Melissa Sarno to Write Middle Grade.’

This month, the book that tops off the best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store is Tom Fletcher's The Christmasaurus, an instant Christmas classic! 

We all know a Potterhead that can't get enough of the magical wizarding world created by J.K. Rowling, the author of the much-loved seven-book Harry Potter series. Here are 7 books that will charm even the most qualified wizards! 

We have curated a list of seven of the best Jewish books for kids that released during 2018.

Two new kids book series, that are geared toward young girls, have emerged. 

We know a good book when we see one. In 2018, we saw 18 of them that we're happy to call the best young adult books of 2018!

Chula the Fox makes a great addition to the important “own voice” movement, in which the main character and author share an identity. Filled with hard truths and the importance of family, this is an enthralling middle grade novel deserving of a spot on home and library bookshelves.

Liberty Frye and the Emperor’s Tomb is the third book in a wonderful series of adventures. Liberty Frye and the Witches of Hessen and Liberty Frye and the Sails of Fate are the first two installments in the trilogy.

Enter for a chance to win a prize pack of books, including We Are Not Yet Equal: Understanding Our Racial Divide. Giveaway begins December 20, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends January 20, 2019, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series.

Here you’ll discover five books that we’re highlighting from The New York Times’ best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus.

The carefully curated lists will aim to fulfill the desires of each individual young reader on your list.

Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus.

This new collection from Lee Bennett Hopkins and Abrams Books is so effective: combining the visual pleasure of master works of art with poetry which is fresh, new, and uniquely tailored to the experiences of young readers, this volume brings both poetry and art to life.

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

This substantial read is well suited for those with a military background and of course those who grew up as “brats” in military families.

From debut author Peter Stone, The Perfect Candidate is the heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

In this list, you will discover 7 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of June. Ready. Set. Read!

We're feeling lucky to have spoken with the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired for such an unconventionally funny collaboration!

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

As graphic novels continue to remain popular with pre-teens and adolescents, Dark Tales brings a new spin on old classics for middle-school youngsters.

Put Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor, on your reading list!

For the month of August, Ginger Rue's Aleca Zamm is a Wonder tops off our best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

We have made just one update on this best selling young adult book list. Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list.

My new novel, Questions I Want to Ask You, is about a character in that position named Pack Walsh, who starts out as someone with very rigid (and somewhat limiting) goals and standards.