HomeBooks by Age

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, Grade School, and Teens, Ages 0-12+

 

By placing a high value on reading you are helping to create lifelong readers. Reading is the core skill behind almost all facets of learning. Kids that read (or kids that are read to) daily from an early age perform better on their report cards—not to mention the improved relationship benefits from a snuggly reading session between parent and child.

 

Children's Book Reviews for all ages

At The Children’s Book Review’s headquarters we receive hundreds of books each month to review. From these hundreds of books, we select only the books that we feel have the strongest potential impact on the reader. We know kids have different interests and different lifestyles and we do our very best to showcase a diverse list of books for all ages:

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Infant And Toddler Age Children, Ages 0-3

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preschool To Elementary, Ages 4-8

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Preteen And Tween, Ages 9-12

Book Reviews And Recommendations: Teen And Young Adult, Ages 12+

The key to creating lifelong readers is parental involvement. The literacy journey is a continuous learning path—parents have the power to motivate children through example and by staying connected. Beyond helping kids select age appropriate books that peak their interests, there are many things parents can do to help create a healthy reading habit. For 10 tips on creating lifelong readers, you can check out our article Family Reading: Reading Together & Reading Aloud.

If you feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for kids, and you consider yourself an on-line socialite, you can send us suggestions on books for infants and toddlers through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.  In the meantime, keep turning pages out there.

Buy recent infant and toddler books and ebooks in our Book Shop powered by Amazon; including 101 Books to Read Before You Grow Up: The must-read book list for kids, written by The Children’s Book Review’s founder Bianca Schulze.

Dragons Love Tacos is so sizzling hot that, at the time of this review, it has been on The New York Times Best Sellers list for 163 weeks.

The best selling picture book from our affiliate book store is Percy, Dog of Destiny, which was selected as a Best New Picture Book in March 2017.

Animals, babies, and butterflies is what you'll find in these fun, new board books that we feel represent the best of April 2017.

We have 25 other new picture books suggestions for you to read your way through.

PUT MEETS PIG is absolutely enchanting. The two would-be friends are more alike than Pug wants to admit.

Review sponsored by Jeff Minich The Children’s Book Review | March 27, 2017 If I Could Climb Trees Written by Jeff Minich Illustrated by Renan Garcia Hardcover: 34 pages Age Range: 3-6 Publisher: Nuggies Inc. (2017) ISBN-13: 978-0996811576 What to expect: Dogs, different perspectives, empathy If I Could Climb Trees is a delightful story about a dog that wonders what it would be like if she were able to climb trees and experience the world as a different creature. The story opens with the dog thinking about what she could see if she was up higher in a tree and could be like a bird, a caterpillar, a ladybug, an ant or a squirrel. She thinks about what she would eat, how she’d move around in the tree and how she’d sleep. “If I could climb trees, I could see what the birds see…” As the story changes to the dog thinking about sleep, she then begins to imagine how other animals would dream about living life as a dog, and what they would do in her world. She thinks about how they would interpret her life indoors, with her furniture and her house and her food. And then she envisions what they would do if they had dog paws or a nose like her. “The bird

One of the best nursery rhyme books to come out in recent years, MARY HAD A LITTLE GLAM is an excellent addition to any library, at home or at school.

In Dear Dragon, by Josh Funk, George and Blaise show us that we are all more alike than not!

This hilarious book will make kids and parents giggle.

Every night my husband and I read three books with our son, here are the five that we read most often

Jonathan London is the author of more than one hundred children’s books, including the bestselling Froggy series, illustrated by Frank Remkiewicz.

The best selling picture book from our affiliate book store is Animal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and Pictures, a Best New Picture Book in February 2017.

Tom Lichtenheld is the illustrator of #1 New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Train, created with Sherri Duskey Rinker.

Bunny Slopes, by Claudia Rueda, is the perfect story to introduce your little one to the snowy sport of skiing.

3 New Release Board Books We are overjoyed that Flora's new story, Flora and the Chicks: A Counting Book, is accessible for the youngest readers in board book format.

The Children's Book Review | March 1, 2017 24 New Release Picture Books From a heartwarming story about finding the courage to make a friend, to an exuberantly colorful Lucy Cousins book, to a Newbery Medalist and Caldecott Medalist collaboration, to a story about courage and cultural legacy, our selection of best new picture books that release during March, will give you plenty of outstanding reading material! This is a star-studded lineup of children's picture book authors and illustrators; including R.J. Palacio, Helen Oxenbury, Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen, and Peter H. Rynolds

Jonathan London’s charming text and Andrew Joyner’s delightful art bring to life two lovable friends in this fun new series.

Pipsie and her turtle friend, Alfred, must finish their field trip scavenger hunt and find whoever stole their lunches!

I sit crisscross apple sauce on the floor and flip through these well-loved books, remembering the nights I read them to my kiddos. So many books hold these types of memories.

Aya and Bobby Discover Thailand perfectly illustrates the excitement of going on a plane trip to a foreign country and will help children prepare for each step of their journey.

Over and Under the Pond, by Kate Messner, is a beautiful book, offering an accessible and engaging introduction to natural history and guaranteed to encourage a new generation of natural scientists.

Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt is a wonderful story to share with your child as we wave goodbye to winter and welcome spring.

Over the past month, our most popular kids series sold was the funny BALLET CAT series for beginner readers, by Bob Shea.

Toad and the Boy is an imaginative tale of the encounters a boy has on the way to finding his friend, a toad.

Dragons Love Tacos is so sizzling hot that, at the time of this review, it has been on The New York Times Best Sellers list for 163 weeks.

My Writing and Reading Life: Johanna Hurwitz, Author of Double or Nothing with the Two and Only Kelly Twins

Our selection of books picked from the nationwide best-selling hardcover middle grade list on The New York Times, includes a great choice for National Poetry Month.

The best selling picture book from our affiliate book store is Percy, Dog of Destiny, which was selected as a Best New Picture Book in March 2017.

Critically acclaimed author Cammie McGovern discusses writing a book from a dog’s point of view. (Chester & Gus, HarperCollins, 2017)

Benjamin Schipper is the illustrator of Henry and the Chalk Dragon. Get to know more about him and his latest book.

The Last Leaf, by Billy Baldwin, is a story rooted in perseverance that will appeal to blossoming young readers and the adults that read to them.

It’s Snowing in Hawaii gives an interesting twist to a sightseeing journey through one of Hawaii’s most popular areas.

Animals, babies, and butterflies is what you'll find in these fun, new board books that we feel represent the best of April 2017.

We’ve picked 11 new middle grade books that we think are the some of the best new books for preteens and tweens that release during the month of April.

We have 25 other new picture books suggestions for you to read your way through.

PUT MEETS PIG is absolutely enchanting. The two would-be friends are more alike than Pug wants to admit.

Review sponsored by Jeff Minich The Children’s Book Review | March 27, 2017 If I Could Climb Trees Written by Jeff Minich Illustrated by Renan Garcia Hardcover: 34 pages Age Range: 3-6 Publisher: Nuggies Inc. (2017) ISBN-13: 978-0996811576 What to expect: Dogs, different perspectives, empathy If I Could Climb Trees is a delightful story about a dog that wonders what it would be like if she were able to climb trees and experience the world as a different creature. The story opens with the dog thinking about what she could see if she was up higher in a tree and could be like a bird, a caterpillar, a ladybug, an ant or a squirrel. She thinks about what she would eat, how she’d move around in the tree and how she’d sleep. “If I could climb trees, I could see what the birds see…” As the story changes to the dog thinking about sleep, she then begins to imagine how other animals would dream about living life as a dog, and what they would do in her world. She thinks about how they would interpret her life indoors, with her furniture and her house and her food. And then she envisions what they would do if they had dog paws or a nose like her. “The bird

One of the best nursery rhyme books to come out in recent years, MARY HAD A LITTLE GLAM is an excellent addition to any library, at home or at school.

My Little Pony: The Dragons on Dazzle Island is an exciting adventure for girls and boys featuring famous friends.

Featuring an adorable cast of characters and vibrant, playful art by Ben Clanton, We Are the Dinosaurs transports readers back in time to when the dinosaurs roamed the earth.

Can swashbuckling pirates from a magical world work with two regular kids to catch naughty monster Atticus? Or will he escape again?

If You Were Me and Lived In … The Mayan Empire is a great choice for classroom and book report studies.

Over the past month, our most popular kids series sold was the funny BALLET CAT series for beginner readers, by Bob Shea.

My Writing and Reading Life: Johanna Hurwitz, Author of Double or Nothing with the Two and Only Kelly Twins

Our selection of books picked from the nationwide best-selling hardcover middle grade list on The New York Times, includes a great choice for National Poetry Month.

Critically acclaimed author Cammie McGovern discusses writing a book from a dog’s point of view. (Chester & Gus, HarperCollins, 2017)

Benjamin Schipper is the illustrator of Henry and the Chalk Dragon. Get to know more about him and his latest book.

CAROL WESTON has been the “Dear Carol” advice columnist at Girls' Life since 1994. Speed of Life is her latest novel.

We’ve picked 11 new middle grade books that we think are the some of the best new books for preteens and tweens that release during the month of April.

Which five words best describe Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century? Sue Macy: Bumpy Muddy Determined Triumphant Heroic

In a courageous debut novel, Holly M. McGhee explores the loss that shakes one girl’s world — and the unexpected consequences of the things we do for love.

This is a book list that helps both boys and girls know that we can all be heroes!

Our list of hand-selected series from the nationwide best selling Children's Series list, as noted by The New York Times, features Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series and Rachel Renée Russell's Dork Diaries.

All students, aspiring writers, and writers needing a creativity boost should check out our best selling book from this month: Rip the Page!

Get to know Addie Bell, the main character in Jessica Brody’s Addie Bell’s Shortcut to Growing Up.

18 New Middle Grade Books for Ages 7-14 (and Beyond) Talk about March Madness! There are so many amazing books releasing this month.

The Children's Book Review | March 1, 2017 24 New Release Picture Books From a heartwarming story about finding the courage to make a friend, to an exuberantly colorful Lucy Cousins book, to a Newbery Medalist and Caldecott Medalist collaboration, to a story about courage and cultural legacy, our selection of best new picture books that release during March, will give you plenty of outstanding reading material! This is a star-studded lineup of children's picture book authors and illustrators; including R.J. Palacio, Helen Oxenbury, Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen, and Peter H. Rynolds

Two human body books for two age groups: Introducing the immense topic of human anatomy to children with ease, style, and fun.

In this exciting new series of non-fiction books, children are taken on an adventure from a bug’s-eye-view.

By turns heart-stopping and hilarious, The Blazing Bridge brings the Blood Guard trilogy to a surprising, clever, and altogether thrilling conclusion.

BRIGID KEMMERER, author Letters to the Lost, narrows her list of favorite YA novels down to five.

Over the past month, our most popular kids series sold was the funny BALLET CAT series for beginner readers, by Bob Shea.

Written with a dark sense of humor and a flair for recapturing the mindset of adolescence, this memoir shows how non-conformity can become a recipe for survival.

This month, you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult titles including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas.

Our selection of books picked from the nationwide best-selling hardcover middle grade list on The New York Times, includes a great choice for National Poetry Month.

5 novel writing tips for making every place and scene unique from the co-author of Shadow Run, Michael Miller.

Ashley Poston is a part-time author and full-time fangirl. Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom

THE BEECHWOOD FLUTE is an intriguing, albeit sometimes heavy, novel that deals with life, death and liberty in a new and interesting way.

CAROL WESTON has been the “Dear Carol” advice columnist at Girls' Life since 1994. Speed of Life is her latest novel.

Whitney Taylor’s characters that makes Definitions of Indefinable Things so enjoyable to read – that, and the rich, complex, and intelligent dialogue.

Get to know Alice from Jennifer E. Smith's gorgeously written and moving novel Windfall.

Are you looking for the next best new young adult novels? We have 12 April releases to share with you.

Fans of Sarah J. Maas’ epic THRONE OF GLASS series will fall in love with this gripping adventure.

Claire LaZebnik, author of Things I Should Have Known, shares 5 things she should have known before becoming a writer.

Katie Bayerl, the author of A Psalm for Lost Girls, gives a behind the scenes look into creating a debut young adult novel.

Whitney Gardner is the author of YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE (March 7, 2017; Knopf), an illustrated YA novel about a Deaf teen artist who must decide between being painted into obscurity or risking getting caught after she finds herself locked in a graffiti war with an opponent who takes it a step too far.

Our list of hand-selected series from the nationwide best selling Children's Series list, as noted by The New York Times, features Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series and Rachel Renée Russell's Dork Diaries.

This month, you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult titles; including The Sun is Also a Star, by the talented Nicola Yoon.

Which five words best describe You’re Welcome Universe? Whitney Gardner: Graffiti, Fury, Friendship, Fingerspelling, and Fire.

Combining a modern-day love triangle with science fiction concepts such as time travel, parallel universes and alternate realities, Protogenesis is sure to be a young adult best seller.