HomeBook Reviews and Recommendations: Infant and Toddler Age Children, Ages 0 to 3

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Infant and Toddler Age Children, Ages 0-3

 

Reading to our kids has never been more important than now.  The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends through policy that pediatricians consult parents on the importance of reading aloud to children during the early years.  A jump-start on reading is a jump-start on language comprehension.

 

Children's Book Reviews for ages 0 to 3

Here at The Children’s Book Review we receive hundreds of books each month to review, and these are a few that have remained our absolute favorite infant and toddler books of all time.  Who could not forget Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown; and the little old lady, or the sneaky crew at the zoo in Good Night, Gorilla, by Peggy Rathman; and a fun story that teaches us there’s no point in trying to hide a red ripe strawberry, The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear, by Audrey and Don Wood.  Children love these tales, and probably quite a few adults too.

In this section of our online reading oasis, our infant and toddler book reviews  are appropriate and fun for any child age 0-3.  Books with good amounts of color and simple illustration are perfect for fine tuning our newest readers.  We have alphabet books, animal books, bedtime books, and beyond. Take a look at some of our current articles:

Best New Kids Books | August 2016

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

Return, by Aaron Becker | Book Review

If you are a socialite, digitally speaking, and feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for ages 0-3, you can send us suggestions on books for infants and toddlers through our Twitter handle, and share your most distinguished books on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.  In the meantime, keep turning pages out there.

Buy recent infant and toddler books and ebooks in our Book Shop powered by Amazon.

Books for Ages 0-3

Kim Krans, author of the popular 123 DREAM and ABC DREAM books, has created a beautiful nighttime ballad with WHOSE MOON IS THAT?

MY VERY FIRST MOTHER GOOSE, Twentieth Anniversary Edition, is a large volume of nearly seventy classic nursery rhymes.

Enter for a chance to win a copy of Sleep, My Bunny (on sale November 13th, 2018), by Rosemary Wells, and a limited edition print. Giveaway begins November 9, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends December 9, 2018, at 11:59 P.M. MT. 

Each month, we have fun checking out which kids book series' were the best sellers from our affiliate bookstore. This month the most popular kids book series sold was the Indestructibles.

With the message that even pirates can clean up their act (as well as eat veggies), Happy Holidays, Pirates will be worth all yeh doubloons for the entertainment it will bring yeh laddies and lassies. Arrr!

The Children's Book Review | November 5, 2018 Dear Girl, written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal and illustrated by Holly Hatam, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store. From our review: Dear Girl, is a wonderful children’s book constructed as a letter – from the book to the reader, from the authors to their character, from the character to herself. You'll also find our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best-selling picture books listed by The New York Times. The Children's Book Review's Best Selling Picture Book   Dear Girl Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal Illustrated by Holly Hatam Publisher’s Synopsis: From the New York Times bestselling author of I Wish You More, Amy Krouse Rosenthal, and her daughter Paris Rosenthal comes the heartwarming and inspiring Dear Girl, Dear Girl, is a remarkable love letter written for the special girl in your life. Through Amy and Paris’s charming text and Holly Hatam’s stunning illustrations, any girl reading this book will feel that she’s perfect—whether she enjoys jumping in a muddy puddle, has a face full of freckles, or dances on table tops. This book encourages girls to always be themselves and to love who they are—inside and out. Order a Copy Now:

Jeff Mack is the award-winning author and illustrator of Duck in the Fridge and Duck on a Disco Ball—bedtime has never been so silly!

While many kids might dream of trading in their parents (or vice versa!), this charming book shows that the grass isn’t always greener in the other backyard.

The INDESTRUCTIBLES series consists of small (7”x7”), concept books that are chew proof, rip proof, spill proof, nontoxic, and 100% washable (even dishwasher safe). 

Alyssa Satin Capucilli is the award-winning creator and author of the Katy Duck series and the bestselling Biscuit series, which has sold over twenty-four million copies. This just-scary-enough picture book comes with a recipe for Bone Soup—perfect for Halloween eating.

Tomorrow I’ll Be Brave, by Jessica Hische, is a beautiful and thoughtful book that will reward multiple readings, as parents and children alike examine the intricate resonances of words.

Which five words best describe Poe Won’t Go? Kelly DiPucchio: Preposterous, pink, powerful, playful and pachydermish.

Inspired by the beautiful All is Assuredly Well, co-authored by Professor Gore and Maestro Wilson, here is a list of picture books that feature LGBTQI families.

The Wonderful Things You Will Be, written and illustrated by Emily Winfield Martin, is this month's best selling picture book from our affiliate store.

Teachers and students alike are excited to start a new school year!  Below are some new school-themed children’s books that would make for great additions to any classroom library!

Body safety is a topic that, as parents and educators, we know we need to teach our kids about. Checkout the following body safety books and start the conversation now.

Denise Dufala, a first-time children’s book author, always had the idea of Bomba, the gray bunny with glasses, in the back of her mind.  Bomba has emerged, and this interview provides some background.

We have selected 9 excellent picture books as the best of June 2018.

Here are 4 new must-have board books. These are the titles we feel represented the best of June 2018. Ready. Set. Read!

Which five words best describe Eraser? Anna Kang: mistakes - persistence - hard work - success.