HomeBook Reviews and Recommendations: Teen and Young Adult, Ages 12+

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Teen and Young Adult, Ages 12+

 

Is it true that teens would read more if they knew where to discover good young adult books? Surveys say it is true. The Children’s Book Review is a solution. We cover books for teens and we have plenty of excellent young adult book recommendations.

 

Kids Books for teens and young adults

Many adults wonder if teens actually read for fun anymore, others say, thanks to smartphones, they are reading more than ever … just not books. Between homework and social lives, sports and activities, maybe even a job, time is certainly beginning to get stretched thinly for teens (or young adults, if you prefer). Here at The Children’s Book Review, even if, statistically speaking, it’s true, we are not giving in to the idea that teens don’t like to read for pleasure. So … calling all young adults! We’re ready to dazzle you with the young adult book picks that we carefully select to feature from the 4,800+ books published for teens each year. You’ll find books in the following subjects: Fantasy: Supernatural Fiction, and .

Here are a few young adult book reviews and lists to get you started:

A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston | Book Review

Best Young Adult Books with Rachel Caine, Author of Midnight Bites

Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon | Book Review

If you’re an expert on young adult books and feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for teens, then you can send us suggestions on books for preteens and tweens through our Twitter handle or with #thechildrensbookreview.  And we certainly hope you’ll chat with us and share your faves on Instagram or Facebook with #teensread. We’re looking forward to connecting with you!

Buy recent books and ebooks for preteens and tweens in our Book Shop powered by Amazon.

Books for Ages 12+

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

Review sponsored by JKS Communications The Children’s Book Review | October 9, 2018 Brat and the Kids of Warriors: Book 1 Written by Michael Joseph Lyons Age Range: 12 and up Hardcover: 358 pages Publisher: Bravur Media ISBN: 978-1946957023 What to expect: Adventure, Germany, Post War, Military Family Brat and the Kids of Warriorsis an adventurous, multi-layered story with excitement found in each chapter. The book walks readers through an exceptionally detailed story about the McMasters family and their experiences in post-World War II Germany. The book starts with the McMasters kids: Jack, Laura, and “Rabbit.” They are on a journey across the Atlantic with their mom to reunite with their dad, who has been stationed in Germany after the war. As the story unfolds, readers are introduced to the McMasters kids. First, there is Jack, the one boy in the family. Then, there is Laura, is who is referred to as “Queenie” behind her back because she acts like the boss of both Jack and Rabbit. And finally there is Rabbit, or Kirsten, who, as the youngest, is always finding trouble – with tremendous speed. Their life as military brats is filled with routines such as saying goodbye to good friends, white-glove cleaning, being home by six o’clock sharp, knowing when

From debut author Peter Stone, The Perfect Candidate is the heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

In this list, you will discover 7 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of June. Ready. Set. Read!

We're feeling lucky to have spoken with the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired for such an unconventionally funny collaboration!

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

As graphic novels continue to remain popular with pre-teens and adolescents, Dark Tales brings a new spin on old classics for middle-school youngsters.

Put Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor, on your reading list!

For the month of August, Ginger Rue's Aleca Zamm is a Wonder tops off our best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

We have made just one update on this best selling young adult book list. Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list.

My new novel, Questions I Want to Ask You, is about a character in that position named Pack Walsh, who starts out as someone with very rigid (and somewhat limiting) goals and standards.

Kelley Armstrong, author of Aftermath, selected these ‘5 Favorite Young Adult Books.’

Girls Resist!: A Guide to Activism, Leadership, and Starting a Revolution: An activism handbook for teen girls ready to fight for change, social justice, and equality.

In this list, you will discover 5 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of May. Ready. Set. Read!

You will find a few of our favorite coloring books that feature quality paper, great designs, and some beloved characters from some very treasured books

Michelle Falkoff's Questions I Want to Ask You is a mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back.

 From the author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters comes an all-new edge-of-your-seat thriller set in upstate New York about an eerie sequence of seemingly unrelated events that leaves five cheerleaders dead.

The characters in You Gotta Have Heart are so well developed that they will surely reel readers in to see what happens next.

Biographies of African Americans are important to the overall education of young readers, reminding them of the historical challenges that were faced by ordinary people.

Here you’ll discover five books that we’re highlighting from The New York Times’ best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus.