HomeBook Reviews and Recommendations: Teen and Young Adult, Ages 12+

Book Reviews and Recommendations:

Teen and Young Adult, Ages 12+

 

Is it true that teens would read more if they knew where to discover good young adult books? Surveys say it is true. The Children’s Book Review is a solution. We cover books for teens and we have plenty of excellent young adult book recommendations.

 

Kids Books for teens and young adults

Many adults wonder if teens actually read for fun anymore, others say, thanks to smartphones, they are reading more than ever … just not books. Between homework and social lives, sports and activities, maybe even a job, time is certainly beginning to get stretched thinly for teens (or young adults, if you prefer). Here at The Children’s Book Review, even if, statistically speaking, it’s true, we are not giving in to the idea that teens don’t like to read for pleasure. So … calling all young adults! We’re ready to dazzle you with the young adult book picks that we carefully select to feature from the 4,800+ books published for teens each year. You’ll find books in the following subjects: Fantasy: Supernatural Fiction, and .

Here are a few young adult book reviews and lists to get you started:

A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston | Book Review

Best Young Adult Books with Rachel Caine, Author of Midnight Bites

Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon | Book Review

If you’re an expert on young adult books and feel that we must know about one of your favorite books for teens, then you can send us suggestions on books for preteens and tweens through our Twitter handle or with #thechildrensbookreview.  And we certainly hope you’ll chat with us and share your faves on Instagram or Facebook with #teensread. We’re looking forward to connecting with you!

Buy recent books and ebooks for preteens and tweens in our Book Shop powered by Amazon.

Books for Ages 12+

We know a good book when we see one. In 2018, we saw 18 of them that we're happy to call the best young adult books of 2018!

Chula the Fox makes a great addition to the important “own voice” movement, in which the main character and author share an identity. Filled with hard truths and the importance of family, this is an enthralling middle grade novel deserving of a spot on home and library bookshelves.

Liberty Frye and the Emperor’s Tomb is the third book in a wonderful series of adventures. Liberty Frye and the Witches of Hessen and Liberty Frye and the Sails of Fate are the first two installments in the trilogy.

Enter for a chance to win a prize pack of books, including We Are Not Yet Equal: Understanding Our Racial Divide. Giveaway begins December 20, 2018, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends January 20, 2019, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series.

Here you’ll discover five books that we’re highlighting from The New York Times’ best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus.

The carefully curated lists will aim to fulfill the desires of each individual young reader on your list.

Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list. Including The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas; and One of Us is Lying, by written by Karen M. McManus.

This new collection from Lee Bennett Hopkins and Abrams Books is so effective: combining the visual pleasure of master works of art with poetry which is fresh, new, and uniquely tailored to the experiences of young readers, this volume brings both poetry and art to life.

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

This substantial read is well suited for those with a military background and of course those who grew up as “brats” in military families.

From debut author Peter Stone, The Perfect Candidate is the heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

In this list, you will discover 7 of the best young adult novels that released during the month of June. Ready. Set. Read!

We're feeling lucky to have spoken with the award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin about how the two came to be paired for such an unconventionally funny collaboration!

This month, the best selling young adult book from our affiliate store is Laura Amy Schlitz's The Hired Girl.

As graphic novels continue to remain popular with pre-teens and adolescents, Dark Tales brings a new spin on old classics for middle-school youngsters.

Put Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor, on your reading list!

For the month of August, Ginger Rue's Aleca Zamm is a Wonder tops off our best selling middle grade book list from our affiliate store.

We have made just one update on this best selling young adult book list. Here you'll discover five books that we're highlighting from The New York Times' best selling hardcover young adult list.

My new novel, Questions I Want to Ask You, is about a character in that position named Pack Walsh, who starts out as someone with very rigid (and somewhat limiting) goals and standards.