HomeBooks by FormatChapter BooksEmma Pass, Author of The Fearless |Selfie and a Shelfie
The Fearless

Emma Pass, Author of The Fearless |
Selfie and a Shelfie

Emma PassThe Children’s Book Review | May 20, 2015

Emma Pass
This is me in front of my favourite bookshelf, with my latest novel, The Fearless (Delacorte Press, April 2015). It’s about what happens after troops fighting in wars overseas are given a drug to stop them suffering from PTSD … only, it stops them feeling any fear at all. Then the enemy get hold of the formula and start forcing the drug on everyone, creating psychotic super-soldiers called the Fearless. When the book’s main character, Cass, is 10, they invade the UK and she is forced to flee with her mother, who gives birth to her brother Jori on the way. 7 years later, a Fearless snatches Jori, and Cass must get him back…

 

FEARLESS Book ShelfAnother shot of my favourite bookshelf. I thought about tidying it up—perhaps even doing something really crazy like putting the books in alphabetical order—before I took the photo, but in the end I decided to leave it exactly as it was. In other words: chaos!

I think these shelves accurately reflect the way my brain works. I’m always jumping from one thought to another, or drifting off into a daydream, both in real life and when I’m writing – my thought processes are anything but orderly! The reason it’s my favourite bookshelf is because it’s crammed with books by writers I love, many of whom are friends. It also holds the box which contains the ashes of my first dog, The Hound (to whom The Fearless is dedicated) and a toy velociraptor. My first ever novel, which I wrote when I was 13, was a sequel to Jurassic Park, so this little guy is my lucky mascot!

About Emma Pass

Emma Pass is the award-winning author of two books for teenagers, ACID and The Fearless. ACID won the 2014 North East Teen Award and the audiobook was picked as one of YALSA’s Top Ten Audiobooks for 2015. Both ACID and The Fearless were nominated for the Carnegie Medal. When she’s not writing books, Emma runs workshops in schools. She lives in the UK with her husband, an artist, and her crazy greyhound G-Dog.

EmmaPass.com | EmmaPass.blogspot.com | Facebook | Twitter

The FearlessThe Fearless

By Emma Pass

Publisher’s Synopsis: For fans of The Hunger Games, Matched, Divergent, and The Fifth Wave, this fast-paced futuristic thriller tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cass and her fight to protect her younger brother from an unimaginably terrifying enemy.

The Deadliest Enemy feels no fear.

Cass has the invasion seared in her memory—the night the Fearless injected everyone in their path with the same serum that stripped them of their humanity. Seven years later, she is living on Hope Island in a community of survivors. But when the island’s security is breeched and her brother, Jori, is taken by the Fearless, Cass will risk everything to get him back.

Ages 14 and up | Publisher: Delacorte Press | 2015 | ISBN-13: 978-0385744478

Available Here: 

IndieBound-IconAmazon-IconBarnes&Noble-Icon

Discover more young adult books like The Fearlessby Emma Pass, by checking out our reviews and articles tagged with , and , and be sure to follow along with our Selfie and a Shelfie series.

The Children’s Book Review, named one of the ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children) Great Web Sites for Kids, is a resource devoted to children’s literacy. We publish reviews and book lists of the best books for kids of all ages. We also produce author and illustrator interviews and share literacy based articles that help parents, grandparents, teachers and librarians to grow readers. This article was written and provided by a guest author.

Comments

Leave A Comment