HomeBooks by SubjectBooks for GirlsSoulprint, by Megan Miranda | Book Review
Soulprint by Megan Miranda

Soulprint, by Megan Miranda | Book Review

The Children’s Book Review | November 20, 2014

Soulprint by Megan MirandaSoulprint

Written by Megan Miranda

Age Range: 12 and up

Hardback: 353 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 978-0-8027-3774-8

What to expect: Thriller, romance, intrigue

SOULPRINT is a fantastic modern thriller by Megan Miranda. Miranda has previously published three novels, including FRACTURE, HYSTERIA and VENGEANCE.

Alina Chase has been kept a prisoner on an island since she was a small child, and she’s told that this is for her own protection. After all, in a previous life her soul belonged to June Calahan, the infamous teen who ruined hundreds of lives through blackmail and subterfuge. Calahan was a mastermind behind the hack into the soul database, a place where record is kept of souls as they hop one generation to the next. That means that all of a soul’s misdeeds don’t die with them—they live on forever. Calahan allegedly blackmailed people with the terrible truth of their past lives.

But Alina has hungered for escape since someone tried to smuggle her out when she was ten. That attempt failed, but the drive to leave the island has never left. So when three teens help her escape on her seventeenth birthday, she runs without looking back – and without asking what their motives are. Then she’s on the run, navigating the government who chases her and the minefield of her new captor’s expectations. Does she really hold the key to Calahan’s life? What terrible secret did Calahan leave for her beyond the grave? And will Alina be strong enough to find it?

SOULPRINT is a fascinating look into the human psyche, as well as a knockout thriller that will keep you on your toes. Alina is smart and resourceful, and readers will nod along as she struggles to come to terms with her own identity. Miranda weaves a complex and interesting story that balances philosophical points with exciting thrills. Her writing style is fast paced without losing plot points or confusing readers, and her characters are well-rounded and interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and wish there was a book two! Great for fans of THE BOURNE IDENTITY, THE MAZE RUNNER and STARTERS. Highly recommended.

Add this book to your collection: Soulprint

Available Here: 


About the Author

Megan Miranda graduated with a degree in Biology from MIT and spent her post-college years working in biotech and, later, teaching high school Science. She now lives in North Carolina with her family. FRACTURE was her first novel.

Soulprint, by Megan Miranda, was reviewed by Denise Mealy. Follow along with our articles tagged with , and  to discover more great books for teens.

Rate This Article

Denise Mealy is a former web content provider who stays at home to change diapers and write books. Her days are filled with Word documents, books and sloppy kisses (from dogs and baby alike). She likes to read, cook, dance, travel and forward pictures of spam sculptures to friends. If she could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, it would be a toss up between J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen. They would probably eat pasta. Yes, definitely pasta. For more information, visit: www.dccmealy.com You can also find her on Twitter: @dccmealy

Leave A Comment