HomeBest Kids StoriesBest New Young Adult Books | December 2016
best-new-young-adult-books-december-2016

Best New Young Adult Books | December 2016

The Children’s Book Review | December 1, 2016

3 New Books for Teens

Are you looking for the next best new young adult novels? We have 3 new releases to share with you. We think you’ll enjoy them a lot.


Teach Me to ForgetTeach Me to Forget

Written by Erica M. Chapman

Publisher’s Synopsis: Ellery wants to die. Nothing is going right. Her younger sister is dead, and her family is in a shambles. But on the day that she tries to end it all, even the gun won’t work. When she tries to return it, she’s intercepted by a security guard who also happens to be a boy in one of her classes, Colter Sawyer. Colter recognizes Ellery’s desperation and begins working hard to earn her trust. Why does this cute boy care about my worthless life?, Ellery wonders. But as the story unfolds, it becomes clear that Colter has very good reasons for his vigilance, deep, personal reasons. And whether Ellery likes it or not, he won’t let go.

Ages 14+ | Publisher: Merit Press | December 2, 2016 | ISBN-13: 978-1440594571


the-secret-of-a-noteThe Secret of a Heart Note

Written by Stacey Lee

Publisher’s Synopsis: From critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love—while protecting her own heart at all costs—perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E. Lockhart.

Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.

At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee’s The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one’s place in the world.

Ages 14+ | Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books | December 27, 2016 | ISBN-13: 978-0062428325


crystal-stormCrystal Storm: A Falling Kingdoms Novel

Written by Morgan Rhodes

Publisher’s Synopsis: An epic clash between gods and mortals threatens to tear Mytica apart . . . and prove that not even the purest of love stands a chance against the strongest of magic.

MAGNUS and CLEO are forced to test the strength of their love when Gaius returns to Mytica claiming he’s no longer the King of Blood but a changed man seeking redemption.

LUCIA, pregnant with the child of a Watcher, has escaped the clutches of the unhinged fire god. Her powers are dwindling as she goes forth to fulfill a prophecy that will keep her baby safe . . . but could mean her demise.

JONAS treks back to Mytica with a plan to overtake Amara, but fate takes hold when he runs into the beautiful Princess Lucia and joins her on her perilous journey.

AMARA has taken the Mytican throne, but with no way to unleash the water magic trapped within her stolen crystal, she’ll never be able to seize glory and get sweet revenge.

And what kind of darkness will descend–and who will be safe–after Prince Ashur reveals the dangerous price he paid to cheat death?

Ages 12+ | Publisher: Razorbill | December 13, 2016 | ISBN-13: 978-1595148223


For more of the best new young adult books for teens, follow along with our articles tagged with New Books for Kids, Best Young Adult Books, and Books for Teens and Young Adults.

Rate This Article

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

Comments
  • Need some assistance in selecting books for three boys. One is 12-yrs-old and has a high reading level who is playing basketball. Trying to find a decent book that can give him some good insight of character as he plays and learns how to succeed. The other two boys are close in age 8 and 9. One plays hockey and the other swimming. Do you have some books to recommend?

    December 5, 2016

Leave A Comment