HomeBooks by AgeAges 0-3Best Selling Picture Books | August 2017
Best Selling Picture Books August 2017 The Book of Mistakes

Best Selling Picture Books | August 2017

The Children’s Book Review | August 2, 2017

Topping off the list of best selling picture books from our affiliate store is The Book of Mistakes, a picture book about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration.

You’ll also find our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best-selling picture books listed by The New York Times. Chelsea Clinton’s She Persisted is a great choice for mini activists. The list also continues to host Oliver Jeffers and Drew Daywalt‘s The Day the Crayons Quit.


The Children’s Book Review’s Best Selling Picture Book

 

The Book of MistakesThe Book of Mistakes

Written and Illustrated by Corinna Luyken

Publisher’s Synopsis: Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration.

One eye was bigger than the other.  That was a mistake.
The weird  frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: Dial Books | April 18, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-0735227927


Nationwide Best Selling Picture Books

 

What Do You Do with a ProblemWhat Do You Do With a Problem?

Written by Kobi Yamada

Illustrated by Mae Besom

Publisher’s Synopsis: From the same author and illustrator as our #1 nationally best-selling What Do You Do With an Idea? comes a new book to encourage you to look closely at problems and discover the possibilities they can hold.

What do you do with a problem? Especially one that follows you around and doesn’t seem to be going away? Do you worry about it? Ignore it? Do you run and hide from it?

This is the story of a persistent problem and the child who isn’t so sure what to make of it. The longer the problem is avoided, the bigger it seems to get. But when the child finally musters up the courage to face it, the problem turns out to be something quite different than it appeared.

This is a story for anyone, at any age, who has ever had a problem that they wished would go away. It’s a story to inspire you to look closely at that problem and to find out why it’s here. Because you might discover something amazing about your problem… and yourself.

What are problems for? They challenge us, shape us, push us, and help us to discover just how strong and brave and capable we really are. Even though we don’t always want them, problems have a way of bringing unexpected gifts.

So, what will you do with your problem? Now that’s up to you.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: Compendium Inc | July 1, 2016 | ISBN-13: 978-1943200009


She Persisted- 13 American Women Who Changed the WorldShe Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World

Written by Chelsea Clinton

Illustrated by Alexandra Boiger

Publisher’s Synopsis: Chelsea Clinton introduces tiny feminists, mini activists and little kids who are ready to take on the world to thirteen inspirational women who never took no for an answer, and who always, inevitably and without fail, persisted.

Throughout American history, there have always been women who have spoken out for what’s right, even when they have to fight to be heard. In early 2017, Senator Elizabeth Warren’s refusal to be silenced in the Senate inspired a spontaneous celebration of women who persevered in the face of adversity. In this book, Chelsea Clinton celebrates thirteen American women who helped shape our country through their tenacity, sometimes through speaking out, sometimes by staying seated, sometimes by captivating an audience. They all certainly persisted.

She Persisted is for everyone who has ever wanted to speak up but has been told to quiet down, for everyone who has ever tried to reach for the stars but was told to sit down, and for everyone who has ever been made to feel unworthy or unimportant or small.

With vivid, compelling art by Alexandra Boiger, this book shows readers that no matter what obstacles may be in their paths, they shouldn’t give up on their dreams. Persistence is power.

This book features: Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Clara Lemlich, Nellie Bly, Virginia Apgar, Maria Tallchief, Claudette Colvin, Ruby Bridges, Margaret Chase Smith, Sally Ride, Florence Griffith Joyner, Oprah Winfrey, Sonia Sotomayor–and one special cameo.

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 4-8 | Publisher: Philomel Books | May 30, 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-1524741723


Dragons Love Tacos 2Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel

Written by Adam Rubin

Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Publisher’s synopsis: The hilarious sequel to the smokin’ hot New York Times best seller, perfect for story time

News alert! It has just been discovered that there are NO MORE TACOS left anywhere in the world. This is a huge problem because, as you know, dragons love tacos. If only there was a way for the dragons to travel back in time, to before tacos went extinct. Then they could grab lots of tacos and bring them back! It’s the perfect plan, as long as there’s no spicy salsa. You remember what happened last time . . .

The award-winning creators of Robo-Sauce and Secret Pizza Party return with a gut-bustingly hilarious companion to the bestselling phenomenon Dragons Love Tacos.

“Get ready to have Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel on repeat for your picky little foodies and bibliophiles! Best served out loud after a reading of Dragons Love Tacos—sans spicy salsa.”—The Children’s Book Review

Order a Copy Now: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Ages 5-8 | Publisher: Dial | 2017 | ISBN-13: 978-0525428886


Dragons Love Tacos By Adam RubinDragons Love Tacos

By Adam Rubin; Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Publisher’s synopsis: This scrumptious New York Times bestseller has a whole lot of kick!

Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos, and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa . . . oh, boy. You’re in red-hot trouble.

The award-winning team behind Those Darn Squirrels! has created an unforgettable, laugh-until-salsa-comes-out-of-your-nose tale of new friends and the perfect snack.

Ages 3-5 | Publisher: Dial | June 14, 2012 | ISBN-13:978-0803736801


TheDayTheCrayonsQuitThe Day the Crayons Quit

By Drew Daywalt; Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

Publisher’s synopsis: Crayons have feelings, too, in this funny back-to-school story illustrated by the creator of Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me — now a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

Ages 3-7 | Publisher: Philomel | June 27, 2013 | ISBN-13: 978-0399255373


The information for the best-selling picture books was gathered from the New York Times Best Sellers list, which reflects the sales of picture books sold nationwide, including independent and chain stores. It is correct at the time of publication and presented in random order. Visit www.nytimes.com for their most current and up-to-date list.

*Header image from She Persisted, written by Chelsea Clinton and illustrated by Alexandra Boiger.

The best-selling picture books by Chelsea Clinton, Oliver Jeffers, Drew Daywalt and others, are truly great choices. Follow along with our Picture Book and Board Book categories for more great titles to peruse.

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

No Comments

Leave A Comment