HomeAuthor Interviews

Author Interviews

 

Get to know your favorite (or soon to be favorite) authors by reading our exclusive interviews. We love shining the spotlight on brilliant authors!

 

Children's Book author interviews

When you read an author interview on The Children’s Book Review, it’s likely that you will discover some of the secrets behind the book writing process from concept to published book, how the author’s own life experiences shaped their book(s), or what they like to snack on while writing, or which character from their book they would prefer to go on vacation with. We have featured authors that cover a myriad of age groups and genres, and there is certainly something for everyone here.

To get you started, here are some of our more recent author interviews:

E.K. Johnston Discusses A Thousand Nights

Donna Gephart, Author of Lily and Dunkin | Speed Interview

The Rise of Graphic Novels

Be sure to browse all of the interviews below. Once you have checked out an author interview or two, connect with us through our Twitter handle, and share your thoughts with us on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview. It’s time to be inspired … with the “write” stuff!

Author Interviews

Which five words best describe Lizzy and the Good Luck Girl? Susan Lubner:  Hope, Signs, Family, Friendship, Cats

Gregory Funaro's newest book, WATCH HOLLOW, from HarperCollins in February 2019 is out now.

Emma Wunsch, author of Miranda and Maude: The Princess and the Absolutely Not a Princess – the premier book of the series, combined her daughter’s “love for all things princess” with a silly, impromptu story to create the characters.

Trudy Ludwig's new book, Quiet Please, Owen McPhee! helps young readers to understand the power of listening—not only with their ears, but also their heart.

Which five words best describe Giraffe Problems? Jory John: A tale of two necks.

Which five words best describe Art in Action? Matthew "Levee" Chavez: Curious, fun, challenging, transforming, thoughtful.

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series.

Camille Andros, up and coming author of the new book The Dress and the Girl, brings all her experience – both as a professional and mother, to her work.

The Shadow in the Moon, by Christina Matula, is a unique blend of traditional folklore and contemporary customs brings the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival to life.

Created by Renata Liwska and Mike Kerr, Crafty Llama is a story about crafting, friendship, and the very best gifts, perfect for fans of Extra Yarn.

Which five words best describe The Little Guides to Great Lives? Isabel Thomas: Inspirational true stories for everyone.

Jeff Mack is the award-winning author and illustrator of Duck in the Fridge and Duck on a Disco Ball—bedtime has never been so silly!

Mary Lyn Ray, author of The Thank You Book, has written many acclaimed books for children, including New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee.

The Very Last Castle, by Travis Jonker, is a story about overcoming fear of the unknown, trying new things, and reaching out to make new friends.

Which five words best describe Poe Won’t Go? Kelly DiPucchio: Preposterous, pink, powerful, playful and pachydermish.

Co-authors Carole P. Roman and J. Robin Albertson Wren discuss Mindfulness for Kids:30 Fun Activities to Stay Calm, Happy, and In Control. Their new book introduces the valuable concept of mindfulness with ease.

Kate DiCamillo's latest book, Louisiana's Way Home, is a remarkable tale that showcases the power of writing things down and truly encourages readers to be both wily and empathetic.

Which five words best describe Teach Your Child Meditation: 70 Fun & Easy Ways to Help Kids De-Stress and Chill Out Lisa Roberts: Playful, Educational, Engaging, Resourceful, and Essential

Denise Dufala, a first-time children’s book author, always had the idea of Bomba, the gray bunny with glasses, in the back of her mind.  Bomba has emerged, and this interview provides some background.

Dan Richards grew up in a small town eating meat, avoiding vegetables, and cheering at the annual Irrigation Festival parade. Stu Truly is Dan's debut novel.