HomeIllustrator Interviews

Illustrator Interviews

 

It’s time to get to know your favorite (or soon to be favorite) illustrators by reading our exclusive interviews! Get ready to feast your eyes on some truly super artwork.

 

Interviews with Children's Book illustrators

Artwork is a very important part of children’s books, especially picture books and graphic novels, and now many chapter books too. When you read an illustrator interview on The Children’s Book Review, you’ll often get an insiders look or a behind the scenes visit of the illustrator’s studio and creative process. You could also learn how the illustrator’s own life experiences shaped their artwork and storytelling abilities, or what their most used art supply is, or which children’s book character they would love to create artwork with. With so many featured illustrators, there is certainly something for everyone here, but we wonder which illustrators will be or are your faves. Be sure to let us know through our Twitter handle, and share your thoughts with us on Instagram or Facebook with #thechildrensbookreview.

To get you started, here are some of our more recent illustrator interviews:

Illustration Inspiration: Renée Graef, Illustrator of Thérèse Makes a Tapestry

Caldecott Honor-Winning John Rocco Talks About Blizzard

Deborah Underwood and Claudia Rueda Discuss Here Comes the Easter Cat

Be sure to peruse through the illustrator interviews below, you’ll be so glad you did!

Illustrator Interviews

See Xindi Yan's sketches and the process of creating the artwork for The Itty-Bitty Witch.

Yamada's joy and appreciation for life combined with Barouch's deep love of nature has created an inspiring and absolutely stunning book that will undoubtedly speak to people of all ages.

Allison Steinfeld's latest book is Kid Activists written by Robin Stevenson for Quirk Books.

Chris Van Dusen won the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award for If I Built a House. In addition to his own books, Chris has illustrated Kate DiCamillo's Mercy Watson and Tales from Deckawoo Drive chapter book series.

Author Skila Brown and illustrator Jamey Christoph discuss their picture book, Clackety Track.

Which five words best describe Rocket to the Moon!: Big Ideas That Changed the World? Don Brown: Surprising, provocative, revealing, informative, and funny! 

Jasper & Ollie is Alex Willan's first book. His love of drawing led him to earn a BFA in illustration from Savannah College of Art and Design.

Deborah Freedman is a trained architect who now works as an author/illustrator. She is the author-illustrator of Carl and the Meaning of Life.

Odeta Xheka is an artist and author. Most recently, she has published Here Comes Ingo, a picture book invested in open ended creative experiences.

Which five words best describe New Kid? Jerry Craft: Funny, Thought-Provoking, Conversation-Starter, Honest, Comforting

Luke Flowers has illustrated over 42 children’s books. In this interview we talk about A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood: The Poetry of Mister Rogers.

It’s Just a Bunnypalooza, is the third book in the series. Brenda Faatz and Peter Trimarco discuss this latest book here

Alison Jay is well known for her children's books—Welcome to the Zoo was selected as one of New York's Bank Street's best books of the year in 2009. Here we learn about her newest book with Julia Copus, My Bed is an Air Balloon.

Margarita Kukhtina is the illustrator of the delightfully entertaining picture book Holiday Season Look and Find. We stole her away from making art to talk Christmas spirit, illustrating, and inspiration

Yuval Zommer has written and illustrated several children’s books, including The Big Book of Bugs, The Big Book of Beasts, and The Big Book of the Blue.

Created by Renata Liwska and Mike Kerr, Crafty Llama is a story about crafting, friendship, and the very best gifts, perfect for fans of Extra Yarn.

Zola's Elephant is a heartwarming book about friendship, moving, and the power of imagination by Randall de Sève and illustrator Pamela Zagarenski.

LAURA HULISKA-BEITH has illustrated many popular books for children, including The Goodnight Train (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), 10 Little Ladybugs (Dalmatian), The Recess Queen (Scholastic), and many more.

The artist behind many children's books, including her very own Little Fox, her latest collaboration is with author Mary Lyn Ray for The Thank You Book.

Which five words best describe Eraser? Anna Kang: mistakes - persistence - hard work - success.