HomeBooks by SubjectBooks with Girl CharactersThe Kiss of Deception, by Mary E. Pearson | Book Review
The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles) By Mary E. Pearson

The Kiss of Deception, by Mary E. Pearson | Book Review

Denise Mealy | The Children’s Book Review | October 31, 2014

The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles) By Mary E. PearsonThe Kiss of Deception

By Mary E. Pearson

Age Range: 14 and up

Hardback: 496 pages

Publisher: Henry Holt BYR (2014)

ISBN: 978-0-8050-9923-2

What to expect: High Fantasy, Romance

Princess Lia should have the gift of “sight,” which would allow her to see into her future. All royal first daughters have it. There’s just one small problem … she doesn’t. But even though she can’t see the future, she knows what lying about it and marrying a prince for a political alliance would mean—a truly miserable life. And on the day of her wedding, she orchestrates a daring escape with her maid to travel to an idyllic village. She’s decided she’d rather give up everything than be married off to someone she’s never even met.

Working as a bar maid proves an exciting challenge, especially when she meets two handsome travelers. Little does she know that one is her jilted Prince who has come to confront her, and the other an assassin sent to kill her. As the clock ticks down, Lia finds herself falling in love. But which boy is which? And as the assassin comes to fall in love with her, will he let her live long enough to find out who her love really belongs to?

THE KISS OF DECEPTION is an exciting, quest-filled story that will please more traditional magical fantasy fans. If a book isn’t complete for you without a map and readings from ancient scripture, this first book of THE REMNANT CHRONICLES will have you salivating for the next installment. Pearson is, as always, a talented writer who paints a lush and fully-imagined world. Great for fans of Bardugo’s THE GRISHA TRILOGY, Lewis’ THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA and Derting’s PLEDGE TRILOGY.

Add this book to your collection: The Kiss of Deception

About the Author

Mary E. Pearson is the author of seven novels for teens, including the popular Jenna Fox trilogy. She writes full-time from her home in Carlsbad, California, where she lives with her husband and two dogs.

MaryPearson.com | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

The Kiss of Deception, by Mary E. Pearson, was reviewed by Denise Mealy. Follow along with our Teen Romance Books tag, as well as our Young Adult Books category, to discover more great novels.

Rate This Article

Denise Mealy is a former web content provider who stays at home to change diapers and write books. Her days are filled with Word documents, books and sloppy kisses (from dogs and baby alike). She likes to read, cook, dance, travel and forward pictures of spam sculptures to friends. If she could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, it would be a toss up between J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen. They would probably eat pasta. Yes, definitely pasta. For more information, visit: www.dccmealy.com You can also find her on Twitter: @dccmealy

Leave A Comment