HomeBooks by FormatChapter BooksSeeker, by Arwen Elys Dayton | Book Review
Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker, by Arwen Elys Dayton | Book Review

The Children’s Book Review | September 16, 2015

Seeker by Arwen Elys DaytonSeeker

Written by Arwen Elys Dayton

Age Range: 14 and up

Board Book: 448 pages

Publisher: Random House Children’s Books (2015)

ISBN: 978-0-385-74407-2

What to expect: Fantasy/Sci-fi, Friendship, Romance, Betrayal, Action

Quin has trained for her entire life to be a Seeker—bringers of truth and justice to the world. She’s trained beside Shinobu and John, her closest friends, and looks forward to the day when they will make the world a better place together. And John has her heart, between stolen kisses in the woods and long training sessions sweating side-by-side, she and John share a connection that she could never have dreamed of.

That is, until the night she takes her oath. John is thrust out of the ceremony, and Quin is left alone with Shinobu. Together they are inducted into a brotherhood of crime that she never imagined. It shatters her world, making her question everything she was taught about her family and her place as a true Seeker. How can she live with these new lies? And without John?

When John returns, Quin finally realizes he is not the simple sweet boy she thought he was. Spurring her on to a journey that spans from the Scottish Highlands to Asia, Quin will have to uncover the truth about her family, the mysteries of the universe, and the Seekers themselves.

This is a fascinating book of dark fantasy with a sprinkle of science fiction. Fast-paced and plot driven, without losing a sense of character development, Dayton’s writing will keep you hooked from the moment you open the book. A very complex family drama, twisted with young love and centuries old intrigue, this book has something for fans of traditional fantasy and modern science fiction. I was captivated by Quin and her journey, and really enjoyed the alternating points of view from Shinobu and John. No one is who he or she claims to be, and Quin’s life is more complicated than even she realizes.

Great for fans of Game of Thrones and Divergent, SEEKER is a fascinating beginning to the planned trilogy. Dayton is a fantastic writer and storyteller, in the vein of the infinitely talented Julianna Baggott. It was delightful to slip into the complex and fully realized world where Seekers slice through time and space and unlock the mysteries of the universe. Dayton has a true gift for storytelling. I highly recommend this book, and can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

Add this book to your collection: Seeker

Available Here: 


About the Author

Arwen Elys Dayton spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid at Giza, Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland.

Arwen lives with her husband and their three children on the West Coast of the United States.

You can visit her at arwendayton.com and follow @arwenelysdayton on Twitter and Instagram.

Seeker, by Arwen Elys Dayton, was reviewed by Denise Mealy. Follow along with our articles tagged with  and Young Adults to discover more great books for teens.

Rate This Article

Denise Mealy is a former web content provider who stays at home to change diapers and write books. Her days are filled with Word documents, books and sloppy kisses (from dogs and baby alike). She likes to read, cook, dance, travel and forward pictures of spam sculptures to friends. If she could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, it would be a toss up between J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen. They would probably eat pasta. Yes, definitely pasta. For more information, visit: www.dccmealy.com You can also find her on Twitter: @dccmealy

Leave A Comment