HomeBooks by AgeAges 9-12Greystone Secrets 2: The Deceivers, by Margaret Peterson Haddix | Dedicated Review

Greystone Secrets 2: The Deceivers, by Margaret Peterson Haddix | Dedicated Review

Sponsored | Opinions Are Our Own
The Children’s Book Review

Greystone Secrets 2: The Deceivers

Written by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Age Range: 8-12

Hardcover: 448 pages

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (April 7, 2020)

ISBN-13: 978-0062838407

What to expect: Mystery, Fantasy, Siblings, and Teamwork

The Deceivers is the second thrilling book in bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Greystone Secrets series, pegged, rightly so, as being perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time.

Picking up right where Book One, The Strangers, leaves off, the three Greystone kids and their new friend Natalie are desperately trying to find their moms who have disappeared into a mysterious world that mirrors their own—only more evil—and in which doppelgangers reside. The siblings, Chess, Emma, Finn, along with Natalie, are determined to find a way into this strange world and return home with their mothers. A broken lever seems to be the only way in or out of the portal. Danger waits around every corner, and everything they think is true is being questioned. They will have to decipher a code and watch for enemies—who are deceivers pretending to be friends—if they are to succeed in their mission.

Each of the well-crafted characters has their own unique set of traits ranging from courageous to intelligent to kindhearted to confident, allowing each of them to shine in this enigmatic novel. These traits lend themselves well to the strong themes of teamwork and problem-solving that drive the story all the way through.

With clues to look for and codes to crack, readers that love a good mystery to solve will surely enjoy this engaging, action-packed saga of good vs. evil.

Buy the Book

applebooks-icon

About the Author

Margaret Peterson Haddix grew up on a farm in Ohio. As a kid, she knew two girls who had the exact same first, middle, and last names and shared the same birthday—only one year apart—and she always thought that was bizarre.

As an adult, Haddix worked as a newspaper reporter and copy editor in Indiana before her first book, Running Out of Time, was published. She has since written more than forty books for kids and teens, including the Greystone Secrets series, the Shadow Children series, the Missing series, the Children of Exile series, and lots of stand-alones. Haddix and her husband, Doug, now live in Columbus, Ohio, where they raised their two kids. You can learn more about her at www.haddixbooks.com.

Facebook: @harpercollinschildrens and @HaddixBooks | Instagram: @HarperKids, @theshelfstuff, and @haddixbooks | Twitter @HarperKids and @mphaddix

Dedicated Reviews allow authors and illustrators to gain prompt visibility for their work. This non-biased review of “Greystone Secrets 2: The Deceivers”  was sponsored by HarperCollins Children’s Books. Learn more about getting a book review …

How You Support The Children's Book Review
We may receive a small commission from purchases made via the links on this page. If you discover a book or product of interest on this page and use the links provided to make a purchase, you will help support our mission to 'Grow Readers.' Your support means we can keep delivering quality content that's available to all. Thank you!

Bianca Schulze is the founder of The Children’s Book Review. She is a reader, reviewer, mother and children’s book lover. She also has a decade’s worth of experience working with children in the great outdoors. Combined with her love of books and experience as a children’s specialist bookseller, the goal is to share her passion for children’s literature to grow readers. Born and raised in Sydney, Australia, she now lives with her husband and three children near Boulder, Colorado.

Comments
  • This story sounds great. It kind of reminds me of the Broadway show, ” Beetlejuice.”

    April 7, 2020

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.