Best Kids Stories

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Erica S. Perl, author of Ferocious Fluffity, selected these five family favorites. “All I have to say about reading as a family is that it should be a pleasure for all involved.”

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Shiny Broken Pieces?

Sona Charaipotra: Redemption, fulfillment, achievement, catharsis, closure.

Dhonielle Clayton: Vengeance, Redemption, Second Chances, Dreams, Grit.

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

This month’s best selling kids series from The Children’s Book Review’s affiliate store is Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s The Book Scavenger series, an adventurous middle grade series filled with clues.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2016

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2016

This month Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare, and the The Unexpected Everything, by Morgan Matson, are in our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult HardCover books listed on The New York Times.

Giveaways

Win Autographed Copies of Rocket-Bye and Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?

Win Autographed Copies of Rocket-Bye and Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?

Enter to win autographed copies of Rocket-Bye and Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?, written by award-winning author Carole P. Roman and illustrated by Mateya Arkova.

Giveaway begins July 23, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 23, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Packing Evil, Book One in the Kylxon Chronicles | Book Giveaway

Packing Evil, Book One in the Kylxon Chronicles | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Packing Evil, Book One in the Kylxon Chronicles, written by P.E. Yudkoff.

Giveaway begins July 21, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 21, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Win a 25 Book Prize Pack: Includes Both If You Were Me and Lived In … Series

Win a 25 Book Prize Pack: Includes Both If You Were Me and Lived In … Series

Enter to win a complete autographed set of both IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … series, written by author Carole P. Roman. IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD is the original award-winning series. Now Roman is introducing a spin-off series for older children: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CIVILIZATIONS THROUGHOUT TIME. Plus, the grand prize winner will also receive a $50 Amazon gift card.

Giveaway begins July 20, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 20, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Book Giveaway

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Stand Up and Whistle, written by Phyllis Perry and illustrated by Agnieszka Grochalska.

Giveaway begins July 19, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 19, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

Caillou: Storybook Treasury: Ten Bestselling Stories | Book Review

Caillou: Storybook Treasury: Ten Bestselling Stories | Book Review

Caillou, everyone’s favorite preschooler, is back in this delightful collection of ten best-loved stories.

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. My Favorite Pets: by Gus W. for Ms. Smolinski’s Class is her hilarious new picture book.

Mae and the Moon, by Jami Gigot | Book Review

Mae and the Moon, by Jami Gigot | Book Review

MAE AND THE MOON is a surprising and unique book that hits all the right notes for children and parents alike. Highly recommended.

Old MacDonald Had a Truck, by Steve Goetz | Book Review

Old MacDonald Had a Truck, by Steve Goetz | Book Review

Old MacDonald Had a Truck, written by Steve Goetz and illustrated by Eda Kaban, is all about putting a new twist on the beloved, playing with expectations to step things up a notch.

Ages 4-8

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Erica S. Perl, author of Ferocious Fluffity, selected these five family favorites. “All I have to say about reading as a family is that it should be a pleasure for all involved.”

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

Join us as we go on tour with award-winning author Carole P. Roman…

Carole P. Roman has won numerous awards for her cultural series written for children ages 4 and up: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD. Now she is introducing a spin-off series for older children: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CIVILIZATIONS THROUGHOUT TIME

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. My Favorite Pets: by Gus W. for Ms. Smolinski’s Class is her hilarious new picture book.

Mae and the Moon, by Jami Gigot | Book Review

Mae and the Moon, by Jami Gigot | Book Review

MAE AND THE MOON is a surprising and unique book that hits all the right notes for children and parents alike. Highly recommended.

Ages 9-12

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

Join us as we go on tour with award-winning author Carole P. Roman…

Carole P. Roman has won numerous awards for her cultural series written for children ages 4 and up: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD. Now she is introducing a spin-off series for older children: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CIVILIZATIONS THROUGHOUT TIME

Phyllis Perry Discusses Stand Up and Whistle | Author Interview

Phyllis Perry Discusses Stand Up and Whistle | Author Interview

Phyllis Perry discusses Stand Up and Whistle, an intelligently written work that young readers will certainly enjoy.

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Dedicated Review

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Dedicated Review

Stand Up and Whistle is an intelligently written work that young readers will certainly enjoy. It powerfully combines social protest, environmentalism, and some very effective education on ecosystems—especially as it pertains to the often-overlooked role of more modest creatures like prairie dogs.

Illustration Inspiration: Mark Crilley, Creator of The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How To Draw

Illustration Inspiration: Mark Crilley, Creator of The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How To Draw

MARK CRILLEY is the author of Mastering Manga, Mastering Manga 2, and The Realism Challenge, as well as several manga novels, including the Akiko, Miki Falls, Billy Clikk, and Brody’s Ghost series.

Teens

A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston | Book Review

A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston | Book Review

A Thousand Nights is the bold, feminist retelling of the classic Middle Eastern tale A Thousand and One Nights, this book is a lyrical, evocative masterpiece.

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Shiny Broken Pieces?

Sona Charaipotra: Redemption, fulfillment, achievement, catharsis, closure.

Dhonielle Clayton: Vengeance, Redemption, Second Chances, Dreams, Grit.

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

This month’s best selling kids series from The Children’s Book Review’s affiliate store is Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s The Book Scavenger series, an adventurous middle grade series filled with clues.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2016

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2016

This month Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare, and the The Unexpected Everything, by Morgan Matson, are in our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult HardCover books listed on The New York Times.

Other Recent Articles

Dr. Phil Kennedy Discusses Get a Move On, Neuron!

Dr. Phil Kennedy Discusses Get a Move On, Neuron!

| July 15, 2016 | 0 Comments

Dr. Phil Kennedy is a well-known researcher in the field of neural prostheses. “Get a move on, Neuron!” was born out of his desire to impart to young people, his excitement and fascination for the workings of the human brain.

Continue Reading

Award-Winning Neurologist Featured on NPR and PBS Publishes Book Teaching Kids About the Brain

Award-Winning Neurologist Featured on NPR and PBS Publishes Book Teaching Kids About the Brain

| July 15, 2016 | 0 Comments

Dr. Philip R. Kennedy releases Get a Move On Neuron! an easy-to-read science book for kids on the brain.

Continue Reading

Win a Set of Nuggies Coloring Books and an OSMO Genius Kit for iPad

Win a Set of Nuggies Coloring Books and an OSMO Genius Kit for iPad

| July 14, 2016 | 31 Comments

Celebrate the August 2 release of the adorable coloring edition Nuggies books! Enter to win Nuggies Vol. 1: Daddy Forgot My Dinner: Coloring Edition and Nuggies Vol. 2: All the Other Nuggies: Coloring Edition. The grand prize winner will also win a totally cool OSMO Gaming System for iPad, Genius Kit.

Giveaway begins July 12, 2016, at 8:00 A.M. PST and ends August 2, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Cole’s Perfect Puppy: Perfect Puppies: Book One, by Frances Crossno | Dedicated Review

Cole’s Perfect Puppy: Perfect Puppies: Book One, by Frances Crossno | Dedicated Review

| July 12, 2016 | 0 Comments

Cole’s Perfect Puppy is the first book in the PERFECT PUPPIES series—a new series of Christian novels written by Frances Crossno. This heartwarming tale is about a young boy, his love of dogs, and the importance of kindness.

Continue Reading

My Mama Loves Me, by Shanalee Sharboneau | Book Giveaway

My Mama Loves Me, by Shanalee Sharboneau | Book Giveaway

| July 12, 2016 | 0 Comments

Enter to win an autographed copy of My Mama Loves Me: I’m Her Little Boy or My Mama Loves Me: I’m Her Little Girl, written by Shanalee Sharboneau.

Giveaway begins July 12, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 12, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Win the Middle-Grade Mystery-Thriller Serafina Series by Robert Beatty

Win the Middle-Grade Mystery-Thriller Serafina Series by Robert Beatty

| July 11, 2016 | 0 Comments

We’re celebrating the release of book 2 in the middle-grade mystery-thriller Serafina series by Robert Beatty! Enter to win copies of both Serafina and the Black Cloak (Book 1) and Serafina and the Twisted Staff (Book 2).

Giveaway begins July 11, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 11, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit, Book Burglar, by Emily MacKenzie | Book Review

Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit, Book Burglar, by Emily MacKenzie | Book Review

| July 9, 2016 | 0 Comments

Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit, Book Burglar, by Emily Mackenzie, shows us that being different from your peers is perfectly fine…as long as you don’t break any laws.

Continue Reading

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | July 2016

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | July 2016

| July 8, 2016 | 0 Comments

The hot books of June and our abundance of giveaways have been trending on The Children’s Book Review over the past month, as well as the article How Picture Books Play a Role in a Child’s Development.

Continue Reading

Building Our House, by Jonathan Bean | Book Review

Building Our House, by Jonathan Bean | Book Review

| July 7, 2016 | 0 Comments

Building Our House is a treasure trove of lessons for children, from the concrete (building a house takes time and work) to the abstract (cooperation and patience are invaluable when working toward a goal).

Continue Reading

The Importance of Being Three, by Lindsay Ward | Book Review

The Importance of Being Three, by Lindsay Ward | Book Review

| July 6, 2016 | 0 Comments

The Importance of Being Three is highly recommended for any little person turning the very big, very exciting number three.

Continue Reading