Best Kids Stories

Five Family Favorites with Author Maria T. Lennon

Five Family Favorites with Author Maria T. Lennon

Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child, the first book featuring the irrepressible Charlie C. Cooper.

Children’s Book Trends | August 2014

Children’s Book Trends | August 2014

This month’s little peek at the current children’s book trends on The Children’s Book Review is all about the great new books available and the best selling kids books, as well as some wonderful literacy tips and resources.

Best Selling Kids Series | August 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | August 2014

This month we have a blast from the past on top of The Children’s Book Review’s best selling kids series list. Who remembers the Mr. Men and Little Miss books?

Best Selling Young Adult Books | August 2014

Best Selling Young Adult Books | August 2014

The latest book from non-fiction queen Candace Fleming is The Children’s Book Review’s number one best selling young adult book.

Giveaways

My Zombie Hamster, by Havelock McCreely | Book Giveaway

My Zombie Hamster, by Havelock McCreely | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of My Zombie Hamster, by Havelock McCreely.

Giveaway begins August 28, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 27, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Guinea Dog 3, by Patrick Jennings | Book Giveaway

Guinea Dog 3, by Patrick Jennings | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Guinea Dog 3, by Patrick Jennings.

Giveaway begins August 27, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 26, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Contaminated 2: Mercy Code, by Em Garner | Book Giveaway

Contaminated 2: Mercy Code, by Em Garner | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Contaminated 2: Mercy Code and Contaminated, by Em Garner.

Giveaway begins August 25, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 24, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Amity, by Micol Ostow | Book Giveaway

Amity, by Micol Ostow | Book Giveaway

Enter to win an autographed copy Amity, by Micol Ostow.

Giveaway begins August 24, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 23, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

Sharing a Read-Aloud Between Grandparents and Grandchildren

Sharing a Read-Aloud Between Grandparents and Grandchildren

Do you have grandmother memories that you treasure? I have so many, and luckily for me, as I launch my new picture book, My Bibi Always Remembers, about a grandmother elephant and her little grandbaby, I have a reason to revisit them all!

Illustration Inspiration: Christopher Weyant

Illustration Inspiration: Christopher Weyant

Christopher Weyant’s work has been published worldwide in books, newspapers, magazines, and online. His cartoons are in permanent collection at The Whitney Museum of American Art and The Morgan Library & Museum in New York City. YOU ARE (NOT) SMALL is his first children’s book.

Best Selling Picture Books | August 2014

Best Selling Picture Books | August 2014

Every single book on this list is purely entertaining, each in their own special way. Like all good picture books, the illustrations are winning. As per usual, we’ve shared our hand selected list of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best selling picture books, as listed by The New York Times.

Lately Lily Travel-Centered Books from Micah Player

Lately Lily Travel-Centered Books from Micah Player

The Lately Lily books and activity sets, bought together or separately, are beautifully designed items that not only tell an interesting story about travel and adventure, but also encourage children to be storytellers and chroniclers themselves.

Ages 4-8

Sharing a Read-Aloud Between Grandparents and Grandchildren

Sharing a Read-Aloud Between Grandparents and Grandchildren

Do you have grandmother memories that you treasure? I have so many, and luckily for me, as I launch my new picture book, My Bibi Always Remembers, about a grandmother elephant and her little grandbaby, I have a reason to revisit them all!

The Star Giver, by Ginger Nielson | Dedicated Review

The Star Giver, by Ginger Nielson | Dedicated Review

Ginger Nielson tells a soothing folktale set deep in the forest. When Little Bear asks, “Where did the stars come from?” Mother Bear leans in closely to share a Native American legend from “the far, far north.”

Five Family Favorites with Author Maria T. Lennon

Five Family Favorites with Author Maria T. Lennon

Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child, the first book featuring the irrepressible Charlie C. Cooper.

The Bambino and Me, by Zachary Hyman | Book Review

The Bambino and Me, by Zachary Hyman | Book Review

The inspiration, passion, and illustrations make The Bambino and Me a wonderful, well rounded, addition to any reader’s roster.

Ages 9-12

Why is Middle Grade better than Young adult?

Why is Middle Grade better than Young adult?

Why do I write Middle Grade? Good question, faceless reader, and one I will answer forthwith.

A Snicker of Magic, by Natalie Lloyd | Book Review

A Snicker of Magic, by Natalie Lloyd | Book Review

A Snicker of Magic, Natalie Lloyd’s sensational middle grade debut novel, begs to be read aloud and shared with an audience of dreamers.

Five Family Favorites with Author Maria T. Lennon

Five Family Favorites with Author Maria T. Lennon

Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child, the first book featuring the irrepressible Charlie C. Cooper.

My Writing and Reading Life: Mary G. Thompson

My Writing and Reading Life: Mary G. Thompson

Evil Fairies Love Hair is Mary G. Thompson’s third novel. She was a practicing attorney for more than seven years, before she moved to New York to write.

Teens

Feral, A Psychological Thriller Discussed by Author Holly Schindler

Feral, A Psychological Thriller Discussed by Author Holly Schindler

Feral by Holly Schindler is a haunting psychological thriller with twists and turns that will make you question everything you think you know.

Top Ten Horror Novels

Top Ten Horror Novels

Micol Ostow has written dozens of books for children, tweens, and teens, but Amity is her first foray into horror.

Risen: The Battle for Darracia, by Michael Phillip Cash | Dedicated Review

Risen: The Battle for Darracia, by Michael Phillip Cash | Dedicated Review

Risen is the third book in Michael Phillip Cash’s dramatic sci-fi trilogy, the Darracia Saga.

Brendan Reichs: Confessions of a Dynamic YA Author

Brendan Reichs: Confessions of a Dynamic YA Author

Brendan Reichs, co-writer of the YA Fiction Virals series, shares with us some insights, favorites, and confessions of his dynamic author life.

Other Recent Articles

The Cockroach Invasion, by Dr. Sherry L. Meinberg | Dedicated Review

The Cockroach Invasion, by Dr. Sherry L. Meinberg | Dedicated Review

| August 24, 2014 | 0 Comments

Here is book for both girls and boys that not only teaches kids to work together but introduces them to a world of knowledge about a very specific insect that typically does not get the opportunity to star in a children’s book, the cockroach.

Continue Reading

Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child | Book Giveaway

Watch Out, Hollywood!: More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child | Book Giveaway

| August 20, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win copies of both CONFESSIONS OF A SO-CALLED MIDDLE CHILD and WATCH OUT, HOLLYWOOD! MORE CONFESSIONS OF A SO-CALLED MIDDLE CHILD, by Maria T. Lennon.

Giveaway begins August 20, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 19, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Everything Leads to You, by Nina LaCour | Book Review

Everything Leads to You, by Nina LaCour | Book Review

| August 19, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enchanting, honest, and as delicate as an ornate antique vase, Everything Leads to You is a sensitive and modern rendition of a classic love story.

Continue Reading

After Isaac, by Avra Wing | Book Review

After Isaac, by Avra Wing | Book Review

| August 16, 2014 | 1 Comment

This deeply felt, emotional book is a beautiful glimpse into painful family dynamics, and how a sixteen-year-old boy can come to terms with the complexities of love and loss. An excellent read for teens and adults alike.

Continue Reading

Never Ending, by Martyn Bedford | Book Review

Never Ending, by Martyn Bedford | Book Review

| August 14, 2014 | 0 Comments

Fifteen-year-old Shiv doesn’t think she’ll ever be able to forgive herself for what she’s done. And she’s not sure she wants to, either. Her young brother and best friend, Declan, is dead, and she’s to blame.

Continue Reading

Evil Fairies Love Hair, by Mary G. Thompson | Book Giveaway

Evil Fairies Love Hair, by Mary G. Thompson | Book Giveaway

| August 13, 2014 | 0 Comments

Mary G. Thompson was born and raised in Cottage Grove and Eugene, Oregon. She was a practicing attorney for more than seven years, before she moved to New York City to write full time. This is her third novel.

Continue Reading

Reading Aloud: It’s Not Just For Kids

Reading Aloud: It’s Not Just For Kids

| August 11, 2014 | 0 Comments

You don’t have to be a kid in elementary school to listen to a book read aloud. You don’t have to be the parent of a preschooler to read aloud.

Continue Reading

You Are Not Small, by Anna Kang | Book Giveaway

You Are Not Small, by Anna Kang | Book Giveaway

| August 6, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of You Are Not Small, story by Anna Kang and illustrations by Christopher Weyant.

Giveaway begins August 6, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 5, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

My Writing and Reading Life: Anna Kang

My Writing and Reading Life: Anna Kang

| August 6, 2014 | 2 Comments

Children notice and point out differences all the time, and it’s natural. But hopefully as we mature, we learn that all individuals are unique and that everyone is “different.”

Continue Reading

Jimmy Vee’s New Book Focuses on Self-Acceptance & Differences

Jimmy Vee’s New Book Focuses on Self-Acceptance & Differences

| August 5, 2014 | 0 Comments

Jimmy Vee has dedicated his life to helping people discover what makes them unique and showing them how to capitalize on it.

Continue Reading