Best Kids Stories

<em>Guess How Much I Love You</em> Celebrates 20 Years

Guess How Much I Love You Celebrates 20 Years

This year, Sam McBratney’s timeless, endearing story of Big and Little Nutbrown Hare, Guess How Much I Love You, turns 20!

Best Non-Fiction Picture Books of 2014

Best Non-Fiction Picture Books of 2014

The best non-fiction picture books of 2014, as picked by the editors and contributors of The Children’s Book Review.

4 Gorgeous Color Books Perfect for Little Hands

4 Gorgeous Color Books Perfect for Little Hands

Simple, bold illustrations with fun formats that beg to be touched by little hands.

Book Titles: Creating a Good Book Name | Rachel Hartman, Author of Seraphina

Book Titles: Creating a Good Book Name | Rachel Hartman, Author of Seraphina

Shadow Scale jumped out at me. It was more complex than it first appeared, I realized in that moment, because “scale” could mean several different things.

Giveaways

Pipsie, Nature Detective: The Disappearing Caterpillar | Book Giveaway

Pipsie, Nature Detective: The Disappearing Caterpillar | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Pipsie, Nature Detective: The Disappearing Caterpillar, written by Rick DeDonato and illustrated by Tracy Bishop.

Giveaway begins March 30, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 29, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Meet the Commandant from An Ember in the Ashes; Plus a Giveaway

Meet the Commandant from An Ember in the Ashes; Plus a Giveaway

Enter to win an autographed advance reader copy of An Ember in the Ashes (Razorbill, April 28, 2015), by Sabaa Tahir, and a T-shirt.

Giveaway begins March 26, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 16, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

The Cake House, by Latifah Salom | Book Giveaway

The Cake House, by Latifah Salom | Book Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win a copy of The Cake House, by Latifah Salom.

Giveaway begins March 24, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 23, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Public School Superhero: James Patterson Reads Prize Pack

Public School Superhero: James Patterson Reads Prize Pack

Make it through middle school with James Patterson! Enter for a chance to win a James Patterson Reads prize pack.

Giveaway begins March 23, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 22, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

<em>Guess How Much I Love You</em> Celebrates 20 Years

Guess How Much I Love You Celebrates 20 Years

This year, Sam McBratney’s timeless, endearing story of Big and Little Nutbrown Hare, Guess How Much I Love You, turns 20!

Five Family Favorites with Todd Tarpley, Author of My Grandma’s a Ninja!

Five Family Favorites with Todd Tarpley, Author of My Grandma’s a Ninja!

My sweet little boys somehow grew into teenagers, so we have to take a trip back in time to talk about the five books that are special to my family …

Illustration Inspiration: Stephanie Graegin, Illustrator of Peace is an Offering

Illustration Inspiration: Stephanie Graegin, Illustrator of Peace is an Offering

Stephanie Graegin spent her childhood drawing and collecting fauna. These days, she lives in Brooklyn, is still drawing, and has managed to keep her animal collection down to one orange cat.

Caveman, ABC Story, by Janee Trasler

Caveman, ABC Story, by Janee Trasler

A funny, one-word-at-a-time story, about cavemen, dinosaurs, and the alphabet.

Ages 4-8

New Kids Book Shows How Awesome Nature Can Be

New Kids Book Shows How Awesome Nature Can Be

PIPSIE and Alfred solve the mysteries of nature, and show kids how to solve them, too.

Backwards Moon, by Mary Losure | Author Showcase

Backwards Moon, by Mary Losure | Author Showcase

Backwards Moon is a tale of adventure, magic, and friendship for anyone who’s ever flown on a broomstick—or wanted to.

Best Non-Fiction Picture Books of 2014

Best Non-Fiction Picture Books of 2014

The best non-fiction picture books of 2014, as picked by the editors and contributors of The Children’s Book Review.

Five Family Favorites with Todd Tarpley, Author of My Grandma’s a Ninja!

Five Family Favorites with Todd Tarpley, Author of My Grandma’s a Ninja!

My sweet little boys somehow grew into teenagers, so we have to take a trip back in time to talk about the five books that are special to my family …

Ages 9-12

Backwards Moon, by Mary Losure | Author Showcase

Backwards Moon, by Mary Losure | Author Showcase

Backwards Moon is a tale of adventure, magic, and friendship for anyone who’s ever flown on a broomstick—or wanted to.

Best Non-Fiction Picture Books of 2014

Best Non-Fiction Picture Books of 2014

The best non-fiction picture books of 2014, as picked by the editors and contributors of The Children’s Book Review.

My Writing and Reading Life: Jen Calonita, Author of Flunked

My Writing and Reading Life: Jen Calonita, Author of Flunked

JEN CALONITA has interviewed everyone from Reese Witherspoon to Justin Timberlake, but the only person she’s ever wanted to trade places with is Disney’s Cinderella. She’s the award-winning author of the My Secrets of My Hollywood Life series.

Autumn Falls, by Bella Thorne | Book Review

Autumn Falls, by Bella Thorne | Book Review

Autumn Falls touches on light bullying, loss, dyslexia, realistic high-school life with accuracy and grace, with plenty of fun in between.

Teens

Zodiac, by Romina Russell | Book Review

Zodiac, by Romina Russell | Book Review

Readers looking for tension, angst, fantastical myths, well-rounded characters, and a very human tale of survival will delight in this quick and engrossing page-turner of a story, sure to inspire the inner-Zodiac in everyone.

Re-Imaging Shakespeare or Creating a Shakespeare Re-Mix

Re-Imaging Shakespeare or Creating a Shakespeare Re-Mix

To make re-mixed Shakespeare exciting for young readers as well as older readers, get your hands dirty and have a field day in that Shakespeare toolbox.

Autumn Falls, by Bella Thorne | Book Review

Autumn Falls, by Bella Thorne | Book Review

Autumn Falls touches on light bullying, loss, dyslexia, realistic high-school life with accuracy and grace, with plenty of fun in between.

Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman | Book Review

Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman | Book Review

In the kingdom of Goredd, humans and dragons have lived and worked side by side for more than forty years, a treaty of peace signed, and the past war forgotten. But when a member of the royal family is brutally murdered and the finger of blame points to dragons, it appears that not all is forgotten, or forgiven.

Other Recent Articles

My Weird Neighbor & Weird Trip Back to Salem, by Sheila Brodhead

My Weird Neighbor & Weird Trip Back to Salem, by Sheila Brodhead

| March 20, 2015 | 0 Comments

Sheila Brodhead has recently authored two middle-grade novels that revolve around the Salem witch hysteria of 1692.

Continue Reading

Jessica’s Dolphin and The Story of Sophia Turner, by Jonathan M. Rigole

Jessica’s Dolphin and The Story of Sophia Turner, by Jonathan M. Rigole

| March 19, 2015 | 0 Comments

Jonathan M. Rigole is the author of two stories for older children and young adult readers: “Jessica’s Dolphin” and “The Story of Sophia Turner.” An author who enjoys writing for younger readers, Jonathan M. Rigole was born in Belgium in 1977, and is a big fan of British culture and literature.

Continue Reading

Win a Fire HD 6 Tablet | 7th Anniversary Giveaway

Win a Fire HD 6 Tablet | 7th Anniversary Giveaway

| March 18, 2015 | 86 Comments

Celebrate with us as The Children’s Book Review turns 7!

To thank our loyal readers, we are giving away a Fire HD 6 Tablet. Be sure to enter daily to maximize your chance of winning.

Giveaway begins March 18, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 17, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Seven Wonders: Book 3: The Tomb of Shadows, by Peter Lerangis | Book Review

Seven Wonders: Book 3: The Tomb of Shadows, by Peter Lerangis | Book Review

| March 16, 2015 | 0 Comments

Seven Wonders: Book 3: The Tomb of Shadows, by Peter Lerangis will appeal to tweens and teens who like lots of action and danger in their stories and who are curious about ancient history.

Continue Reading

Every Day After, by Laura Golden | Book Review

Every Day After, by Laura Golden | Book Review

| March 13, 2015 | 0 Comments

This book will appeal to middle grade readers who like spunky protagonists, are dealing with difficult family situations, and who like learning about earlier eras in America, (in this case the depression in the 1930s).

Continue Reading

The Art of Writing and Reading the Verse Novel

The Art of Writing and Reading the Verse Novel

| March 10, 2015 | 0 Comments

The verse novel is a condensed blend of poetry and story that flows from one word to the next. It shows the reader how to listen, how to see more sharply, how to emotionally connect. And somewhere in the journey we are changed.

Continue Reading

Seraphina Series, by Rachel Hartman | Book Series Giveaway

Seraphina Series, by Rachel Hartman | Book Series Giveaway

| March 9, 2015 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of Seraphina, written by Rachel Hartman, and the newest release, Shadow Scale (Seraphina: Book Two).

Giveaway begins March 9, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 8, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | March 2015

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | March 2015

| March 8, 2015 | 2 Comments

This month, The Children’s Book Review’s book trends include wonderful literacy resources, sweet books for kids, and 5 Reasons to Love Dr. Seuss. Have fun perusing this list of TCBR’s book trends.

Continue Reading

Jade Stars: The Great Race: How the Chinese Zodiac Came to Be | Giveaway

Jade Stars: The Great Race: How the Chinese Zodiac Came to Be | Giveaway

| March 8, 2015 | 20 Comments

Enter to win an autographed copy of Jade Stars: The Great Race: How the Chinese Zodiac Came to Be, by Stacey Hirata and Charles Huang, plus an accompanying sticker book and plush animal.

Giveaway begins March 8, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends April 7, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

5 Art Activity Books for Kids that are Meditative, Innovative, and Inspiring

5 Art Activity Books for Kids that are Meditative, Innovative, and Inspiring

| March 7, 2015 | 0 Comments

Art activity books can serve as a wonderful meditative tool to help reduce stress, refocus and recharge the brain, and spark inspiration.

Continue Reading