Best Kids Stories

Best Young Adult Books with Jessica Love, Co-Author of Push Girl

Best Young Adult Books with Jessica Love, Co-Author of Push Girl

Co-written with Chelsie Hill from Sundance Channel’s reality TV show Push Girls, Jessica Love’s debut novel PUSH GIRL published on June 3, 2014 from St. Martin’s Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books. IN REAL LIFE, a story about online friendship and love, comes out in 2015.

Top 5 Wordless Books: Five Family Favorites with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Top 5 Wordless Books: Five Family Favorites with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

I’ve found that the best of these books spoke to my kids when they were pre-readers, but still continue to draw them back again and again, as they uncover more in the multilayered stories.

So without further ado, here are the Fitzgerald family’s Top 5 Wordless Books.

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2014

Thanks to World Cup Soccer, the new Magic Tree House book, Soccer on Sunday, has the series on top of The Children’s Book Review’s best selling kids series list.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2014

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2014

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart has been added to our best selling young adult books for this month. The rest of the titles have remained the same, proving just how these titles truly are popular books for teens (and many adults, too).

Giveaways

Quarantine: The Burnouts: Book 3, by Lex Thomas | Book Giveaway

Quarantine: The Burnouts: Book 3, by Lex Thomas | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Quarantine: The Burnouts: Book 3, by Lex Thomas.

Giveaway begins July 22, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 21, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

If You Were Me and Lived in … Portugal, by Carole P. Roman | Book Series Giveaway

If You Were Me and Lived in … Portugal, by Carole P. Roman | Book Series Giveaway

Enter to win a full autographed set of the If You Were Me series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman; including the newest addition If You Were Me and Lived in … Portugal: An Introduction to Learning About Other Cultures!

Giveaway begins July 18, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 17, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia | Book Giveaway

The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia, by Candace Fleming.

Giveaway begins July 9, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 8, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

The Crew Goes Coconuts: A Captain No Beard Story | Series Giveaway

The Crew Goes Coconuts: A Captain No Beard Story | Series Giveaway

Enter to win a full autographed set of the Captain No Beard series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman; including the newest title The Crew Goes Coconuts!

Ages 0-3

Lately Lily Travel-Centered Books from Micah Player

Lately Lily Travel-Centered Books from Micah Player

The Lately Lily books and activity sets, bought together or separately, are beautifully designed items that not only tell an interesting story about travel and adventure, but also encourage children to be storytellers and chroniclers themselves.

Top 5 Wordless Books: Five Family Favorites with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Top 5 Wordless Books: Five Family Favorites with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

I’ve found that the best of these books spoke to my kids when they were pre-readers, but still continue to draw them back again and again, as they uncover more in the multilayered stories.

So without further ado, here are the Fitzgerald family’s Top 5 Wordless Books.

Best Selling Picture Books | July 2014

Best Selling Picture Books | July 2014

Three of the books in The Children’s Book Review’s best selling picture books list for July fall under the category of American history. Each of the books are deliciously rich in visual cues.

Leo Lionni: Celebrate the Brilliance

Leo Lionni: Celebrate the Brilliance

Leo Lionni’s works as a celebrated author and illustrator have elevated the standards on what it means to successfully utilize simplicity and sophistication to create the perfect picture book.

Ages 4-8

Lately Lily Travel-Centered Books from Micah Player

Lately Lily Travel-Centered Books from Micah Player

The Lately Lily books and activity sets, bought together or separately, are beautifully designed items that not only tell an interesting story about travel and adventure, but also encourage children to be storytellers and chroniclers themselves.

If You Were Me and Lived in … Portugal: An Introduction to Learning About Other Cultures | Dedicated Review

If You Were Me and Lived in … Portugal: An Introduction to Learning About Other Cultures | Dedicated Review

Discover the western European country of Portugal with award-winning author and former social studies teacher Carole P. Roman.

Top 5 Wordless Books: Five Family Favorites with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Top 5 Wordless Books: Five Family Favorites with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

I’ve found that the best of these books spoke to my kids when they were pre-readers, but still continue to draw them back again and again, as they uncover more in the multilayered stories.

So without further ado, here are the Fitzgerald family’s Top 5 Wordless Books.

Illustration Inspiration: Bob Shea

Illustration Inspiration: Bob Shea

Bob Shea has written and illustrated over a dozen picture books including the popular Dinosaur vs. Bedtime and the cult favorite Big Plans illustrated by Lane Smith.

Ages 9-12

My Writing and Reading Life: Chris Grabenstein

My Writing and Reading Life: Chris Grabenstein

Chris Grabenstein is an award-winning author of books for children and adults, a playwright, screenwriter, and former advertising executive and improvisational comedian. Winner of two Anthony and three Agatha Awards, he is also the co-author with James Patterson of The New York Times bestseller I FUNNY.

The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern | Book Review

The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern | Book Review

Readers will instantly fall in love with Maggie. Her narrative voice is smart, funny and clever, which makes her a highly entertaining, endearing, complex, triple threat.

Revolution, by Deborah Wiles | Book Review

Revolution, by Deborah Wiles | Book Review

Revolution, Deborah Wiles’ second novel in The Sixties Trilogy, sends readers on a journey to Greenwood, Mississippi in the summer of 1964, also known as “Freedom Summer.”

Character Development: What Makes a Villain a Villain?

Character Development: What Makes a Villain a Villain?

What makes a villain a villain? I’ve always been a fascinated—and a little bit terrified—of villains, especially in fairytales. As a child, I couldn’t get enough of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs even if the old witch sent me diving into our couch cushions to hide my eyes.

Teens

The Truth About Alice, by Jennifer Mathieu | Book Review

The Truth About Alice, by Jennifer Mathieu | Book Review

An entirely authentic portrayal of the damage and scandal that a little lie can do when it goes from mouth to mouth, The Truth About Alice is a can’t-stop-turning-the-pages read that will have you wanting to know just what really went down that summer.

Alliance, by Mark Frost | Book Review

Alliance, by Mark Frost | Book Review

In Mark Frost’s second book of the Paladin Prophecy series, Alliance, we pick up right where we left off with Will and his friends. The Paladins are still after him, and the group must outwit them to find the secret of the school, and Will’s own family history.

Between Two Worlds, by Katherine Kirkpatrick | Book Review

Between Two Worlds, by Katherine Kirkpatrick | Book Review

Travel back in time to the year 1900, and place yourself in the shoes of sixteen-year-old Billy Bah, who lives in the unrelenting wintry land of northern Itta, Greenland.

Screenwriting Vs. Writing Young Adult Novels

Screenwriting Vs. Writing Young Adult Novels

A screenplay is a blueprint for a story to be carried out in another medium, by a bunch of other artists. A novel is a finished work, and it’s all yours.

Other Recent Articles

The Art of Recommending Books

The Art of Recommending Books

| July 23, 2014 | 0 Comments

Because I’m an author as well as a writing instructor and a reader, I’m often asked for book recommendations. Sometimes I’m asked to suggest books that are like my books, while other times I might need to think of titles that are good for a certain age range or in a specific genre.

Continue Reading

The Impossible Knife of Memory, by Laurie Halse Anderson | Book Review

The Impossible Knife of Memory, by Laurie Halse Anderson | Book Review

| July 21, 2014 | 0 Comments

This is a book that will have readers reveling in and recognizing the difficult journey that is trying to make sense the present and the future, all while navigating the complexities of high school and teenage life.

Continue Reading

The Skywhale, by Deborah Richards | Dedicated Review

The Skywhale, by Deborah Richards | Dedicated Review

| July 20, 2014 | 0 Comments

The Skywhale poses interesting questions and touches on all sorts of mysterious topics.

Continue Reading

Children’s Book Trends | July 2014

Children’s Book Trends | July 2014

| July 8, 2014 | 0 Comments

When you see what some of the prizes are, you won’t be surprised that in this month’s little peek at the current children’s book trends on The Children’s Book Review there are some really great giveaways; including a chance to win an Amazon Kindle and a $100 Amex gift card!

Continue Reading

The Voice Inside My Head, by S.J. Laidlaw | Book Review

The Voice Inside My Head, by S.J. Laidlaw | Book Review

| July 6, 2014 | 0 Comments

Seventeen-year-old Luke has always relied on listening to Pat, his elder sister, to help him tackle difficult decisions in life, but when Pat goes missing from a tiny island off the coast of Honduras, Luke doesn’t expect to still have to listen to her words.

Continue Reading

The Crew Goes Coconuts: A Captain No Beard Story: Book 6 | Dedicated Review

The Crew Goes Coconuts: A Captain No Beard Story: Book 6 | Dedicated Review

| July 4, 2014 | 0 Comments

Just like all of the Captain No Beard stories, The Crew Goes Coconuts is super kid-­‐ friendly with bright illustrations. It contains all of the familiar and favorite characters of books past, plus the introduction of Matie the goat, and fans of the series will enjoy boarding the Flying Dragon once again with all of their old friends.

Continue Reading

If You Were Me and Lived in … Russia | Book Series Giveaway

If You Were Me and Lived in … Russia | Book Series Giveaway

| July 3, 2014 | 16 Comments

Enter to win a full autographed set of the If You Were Me series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman!

Giveaway begins July 3, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 2, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

If You Were Me and Lived in Russia, by Carole P. Roman | Dedicated Review

If You Were Me and Lived in Russia, by Carole P. Roman | Dedicated Review

| July 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

If You Were Me and Lived in Russia is the latest installment to a great picture book series that showcases diversity and encourages children to explore the world.

Continue Reading

Princess Bing Bong Rides a Bike, by Vanessa Paniccia | Dedicated Review

Princess Bing Bong Rides a Bike, by Vanessa Paniccia | Dedicated Review

| July 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

Princess Bing Bong is incredibly excited to learn to ride her brand new bike.“It had sparkly training wheels, purple racing stripes, and a glittery basket up front for her pet stuffed monkey Gibbles.”

Continue Reading

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | July 2014

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | July 2014

| July 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

Seriously, there are some VERY good books on this list of best selling middle grade books; including Kevin Henkes’ The Year of Billy Miller and Sharon M. Draper’s Out of My Mind.

Continue Reading