Best Kids Stories

Five Family Favorites with Salina Yoon, Author of Penguin and Pumpkin

Five Family Favorites with Salina Yoon, Author of Penguin and Pumpkin

SALINA YOON is the award-winning author/illustrator of nearly 200 books for children. Check out which picture books are her family’s favorites!

Best Selling Kids Series | September 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | September 2014

Wow! This month is proof of good reads, everything remains the same on our best selling kids series list; including the blast from the past … the Mr. Men and Little Miss books.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | September 2014

Best Selling Young Adult Books | September 2014

If you’re looking for a novel that will linger with you for days, The Children’s Book Review’s number one best selling young adult book is Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira. Our hand selected titles from the nationwide best selling young adult books, as listed by The New York Times, features titles by super-talents John Green, Ransom Riggs, and Markus Zusak.

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | September 2014

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | September 2014

This month, The Children’s Book Review’s best selling middle grade book is the imaginative and adventurous Copper from Kazu Kibushi.

Giveaways

Twelve Dancing Unicorns, by Alissa Heyman | Book Giveaway

Twelve Dancing Unicorns, by Alissa Heyman | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Twelve Dancing Unicorns, written by Alissa Heyman and illustrated by Justin Gerard.

Giveaway begins September 21, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends October 20, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Captain No Beard Series and Pirate Ship Giveaway of Treasures

Captain No Beard Series and Pirate Ship Giveaway of Treasures

Enter to win a complete autographed set of the Captain No Beard series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman, and a Pirate Ship to deepen the imaginative play encouraged by these great books!

Giveaway begins September 19, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends October 18, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Of Monsters and Madness, by Jessica Verday | Book Giveaway

Of Monsters and Madness, by Jessica Verday | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Of Monsters and Madness, by Jessica Verday.

Giveaway begins September 13, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends October 12, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Uni the Unicorn, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal | Book Giveaway

Uni the Unicorn, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of UNI THE UNICORN by Amy Krouse Rosenthal; illustrated by Brigette Barrager.

Giveaway begins September 12, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends October 11, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

Five Family Favorites with Salina Yoon, Author of Penguin and Pumpkin

Five Family Favorites with Salina Yoon, Author of Penguin and Pumpkin

SALINA YOON is the award-winning author/illustrator of nearly 200 books for children. Check out which picture books are her family’s favorites!

Best Selling Picture Books | September 2014

Best Selling Picture Books | September 2014

Our best selling picture book for the past month is Herve Tullet’s completely awesome Press Here (Chronicle Books, 2011). As per usual, we’ve shared our hand selected list of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best selling picture books, as listed by The New York Times

Daddy Wrong Legs, by Nina Laden | Book Review

Daddy Wrong Legs, by Nina Laden | Book Review

Daddy Wrong Legs, by Nina Laden, is a colorful board book split down the middle and offers a top and bottom page turn.

Sharing a Read-Aloud Between Grandparents and Grandchildren

Sharing a Read-Aloud Between Grandparents and Grandchildren

Do you have grandmother memories that you treasure? I have so many, and luckily for me, as I launch my new picture book, My Bibi Always Remembers, about a grandmother elephant and her little grandbaby, I have a reason to revisit them all!

Ages 4-8

Five Family Favorites with Salina Yoon, Author of Penguin and Pumpkin

Five Family Favorites with Salina Yoon, Author of Penguin and Pumpkin

SALINA YOON is the award-winning author/illustrator of nearly 200 books for children. Check out which picture books are her family’s favorites!

Illustration Inspiration: Jeffrey Brown

Illustration Inspiration: Jeffrey Brown

Jeffrey’s Darth Vader series was originally geared towards adults as it was about the experience of being a parent; however, parents shared it with their kids and now both adults & kids love the series. Goodnight Darth Vader was created with both audiences in mind.

Best Selling Kids Series | September 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | September 2014

Wow! This month is proof of good reads, everything remains the same on our best selling kids series list; including the blast from the past … the Mr. Men and Little Miss books.

Best Selling Picture Books | September 2014

Best Selling Picture Books | September 2014

Our best selling picture book for the past month is Herve Tullet’s completely awesome Press Here (Chronicle Books, 2011). As per usual, we’ve shared our hand selected list of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best selling picture books, as listed by The New York Times

Ages 9-12

Fantasy League, by Mike Lupica | Book Spotlight

Fantasy League, by Mike Lupica | Book Spotlight

Twelve-year-old Charlie is a fantasy football guru. He may be just a bench warmer for his school’s football team, but when it comes to knowing and loving the game, he’s first-string.

My Writing and Reading Life: Andrea Pyros

My Writing and Reading Life: Andrea Pyros

Andrea Pyros’ debut novel is My Year of Epic Rock. Andrea has worked as a magazine editor, celebrity interviewer, and cookie wrangler.

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, by Liesl Shurtliff | Book Review

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, by Liesl Shurtliff | Book Review

In Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, author Liesl Shurtliff crafts an entertaining fractured fairy tale based on the Brothers Grimm character by the same name.

Writing Multiple Points of View | Writing Tips

Writing Multiple Points of View | Writing Tips

The main challenge in writing multiple points of view is helping the reader keep everybody sorted out.

Teens

The Thing About Being a Debut Author

The Thing About Being a Debut Author

JENNIFER LONGO holds an M.F.A. in Writing for Theater from Humboldt State University. She credits her lifelong flair for drama to parents who did things like buy the town graveyard and put their kids to work in it-because how hilarious would that be?

Mortal Danger, by Ann Aguirre | Book Review

Mortal Danger, by Ann Aguirre | Book Review

When unpopular, ugly Edie steps out on the ledge, the last person she expects to stop her from jumping is the most beautiful guy she’s ever seen.

How a YA Author Pays Homage to Famous American Authors

How a YA Author Pays Homage to Famous American Authors

Washington Irving, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and now Edgar Allan Poe. Paying homage to famous American authors has sort of become what I do.

One Past Midnight, by Jessica Shirvington | Book Review

One Past Midnight, by Jessica Shirvington | Book Review

ONE PAST MIDNIGHT is great for fans of contemporary romance, like Green’s THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, as well as readers of light fantasy.

Other Recent Articles

Children’s Activity Atlas, by Jenny Slater | Book Giveaway

Children’s Activity Atlas, by Jenny Slater | Book Giveaway

| September 10, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of Children’s Activity Atlas, written by Jenny Slater and illustrated by Katrin Wiehle and Martin Sanders.

Giveaway begins September 10, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends October 9, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Children’s Book Trends | September 2014

Children’s Book Trends | September 2014

| September 8, 2014 | 0 Comments

Winning an iPod touch from author Michael Phillip Cash would be awesome, right? That’s why the Darracia Saga giveaway is trending on The Children’s Book Review this month—check out the details for your chance to enter.

Continue Reading

How to Motivate Readers to Keep Turning Pages | Writing Tips

How to Motivate Readers to Keep Turning Pages | Writing Tips

| September 7, 2014 | 0 Comments

It isn’t easy to tackle tension when writing a story, but keeping these things in mind can point you in the right direction.

Continue Reading

Dinosaur Farm, by Frann Preston-Gannon | Book Giveaway

Dinosaur Farm, by Frann Preston-Gannon | Book Giveaway

| September 6, 2014 | 1 Comment

Enter to win a copy of Dinosaur Farm, by Frann Preston-Gannon.

Giveaway begins September 6, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends October 5, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Television Animation vs. Picture-Book Illustration

Television Animation vs. Picture-Book Illustration

| August 30, 2014 | 2 Comments

In my opinion, neither animation nor illustration is better than the other, and as with all things, each has its own assets and liabilities.

Continue Reading

My Zombie Hamster, by Havelock McCreely | Book Giveaway

My Zombie Hamster, by Havelock McCreely | Book Giveaway

| August 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of My Zombie Hamster, by Havelock McCreely.

Giveaway begins August 28, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 27, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Why is Middle Grade better than Young adult?

Why is Middle Grade better than Young adult?

| August 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

Why do I write Middle Grade? Good question, faceless reader, and one I will answer forthwith.

Continue Reading

A Snicker of Magic, by Natalie Lloyd | Book Review

A Snicker of Magic, by Natalie Lloyd | Book Review

| August 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

A Snicker of Magic, Natalie Lloyd’s sensational middle grade debut novel, begs to be read aloud and shared with an audience of dreamers.

Continue Reading

Guinea Dog 3, by Patrick Jennings | Book Giveaway

Guinea Dog 3, by Patrick Jennings | Book Giveaway

| August 27, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of Guinea Dog 3, by Patrick Jennings.

Giveaway begins August 27, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 26, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Feral, A Psychological Thriller Discussed by Author Holly Schindler

Feral, A Psychological Thriller Discussed by Author Holly Schindler

| August 26, 2014 | 1 Comment

Feral by Holly Schindler is a haunting psychological thriller with twists and turns that will make you question everything you think you know.

Continue Reading

The Star Giver, by Ginger Nielson | Dedicated Review

The Star Giver, by Ginger Nielson | Dedicated Review

| August 25, 2014 | 0 Comments

Ginger Nielson tells a soothing folktale set deep in the forest. When Little Bear asks, “Where did the stars come from?” Mother Bear leans in closely to share a Native American legend from “the far, far north.”

Continue Reading