Best Kids Stories

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Erica S. Perl, author of Ferocious Fluffity, selected these five family favorites. “All I have to say about reading as a family is that it should be a pleasure for all involved.”

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Shiny Broken Pieces?

Sona Charaipotra: Redemption, fulfillment, achievement, catharsis, closure.

Dhonielle Clayton: Vengeance, Redemption, Second Chances, Dreams, Grit.

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

This month’s best selling kids series from The Children’s Book Review’s affiliate store is Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s The Book Scavenger series, an adventurous middle grade series filled with clues.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2016

Best Selling Young Adult Books | July 2016

This month Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare, and the The Unexpected Everything, by Morgan Matson, are in our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult HardCover books listed on The New York Times.

Giveaways

How to Be You, by Jeffrey Marsh | Book Giveaway

How to Be You, by Jeffrey Marsh | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of How to Be You: Stop Trying to Be Someone Else and Start Living Your Life, by LGBTQ internet icon and online anti-bully Jeffrey Marsh.

Giveaway begins July 29, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 25, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Start Where You Are: A Journal for Self-Exploration | Book Giveaway

Start Where You Are: A Journal for Self-Exploration | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Start Where You Are: A Journal for Self-Exploration, by Meera Lee Patel.

Giveaway begins July 28, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 24, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

It’s Just So …, by Brenda Faatz and Peter Trimarco | Book Giveaway

It’s Just So …, by Brenda Faatz and Peter Trimarco | Book Giveaway

Enter to win an autographed copy of It’s Just So …, written by Brenda Faatz and Peter Trimarco. The grand prize winner will also receive a signed and framed original line drawing from the making of the book.

Giveaway begins July 28, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 28, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Win Autographed Copies of Rocket-Bye and Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?

Win Autographed Copies of Rocket-Bye and Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?

Enter to win autographed copies of Rocket-Bye and Can a Princess Be a Firefighter?, written by award-winning author Carole P. Roman and illustrated by Mateya Arkova.

Giveaway begins July 23, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 23, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

Tammi Sauer, Author of Mary Had a Little Glam | Selfie and a Shelfie

Tammi Sauer, Author of Mary Had a Little Glam | Selfie and a Shelfie

Tammi Sauer is a full-time picture book author who has visited hundreds of schools and spoken at various conferences across the nation.

Try! Try! Try!, by Lindsey Craig | Book Review

Try! Try! Try!, by Lindsey Craig | Book Review

Try! Try! Try! is an entertaining board book that encourages young readers to try new things.

Caillou: Storybook Treasury: Ten Bestselling Stories | Book Review

Caillou: Storybook Treasury: Ten Bestselling Stories | Book Review

Caillou, everyone’s favorite preschooler, is back in this delightful collection of ten best-loved stories.

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. My Favorite Pets: by Gus W. for Ms. Smolinski’s Class is her hilarious new picture book.

Ages 4-8

Tammi Sauer, Author of Mary Had a Little Glam | Selfie and a Shelfie

Tammi Sauer, Author of Mary Had a Little Glam | Selfie and a Shelfie

Tammi Sauer is a full-time picture book author who has visited hundreds of schools and spoken at various conferences across the nation.

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Five Family Favorites with Erica S. Perl, Author of Ferocious Fluffity

Erica S. Perl, author of Ferocious Fluffity, selected these five family favorites. “All I have to say about reading as a family is that it should be a pleasure for all involved.”

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

Join us as we go on tour with award-winning author Carole P. Roman…

Carole P. Roman has won numerous awards for her cultural series written for children ages 4 and up: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD. Now she is introducing a spin-off series for older children: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CIVILIZATIONS THROUGHOUT TIME

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall, Author of My Favorite Pets | My Writing and Reading Life

Jeanne Birdsall is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. My Favorite Pets: by Gus W. for Ms. Smolinski’s Class is her hilarious new picture book.

Ages 9-12

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

If You Were Me and Lived In … | Carole P. Roman Blog Tour 2016

Join us as we go on tour with award-winning author Carole P. Roman…

Carole P. Roman has won numerous awards for her cultural series written for children ages 4 and up: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD. Now she is introducing a spin-off series for older children: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CIVILIZATIONS THROUGHOUT TIME

Phyllis Perry Discusses Stand Up and Whistle | Author Interview

Phyllis Perry Discusses Stand Up and Whistle | Author Interview

Phyllis Perry discusses Stand Up and Whistle, an intelligently written work that young readers will certainly enjoy.

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Dedicated Review

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Dedicated Review

Stand Up and Whistle is an intelligently written work that young readers will certainly enjoy. It powerfully combines social protest, environmentalism, and some very effective education on ecosystems—especially as it pertains to the often-overlooked role of more modest creatures like prairie dogs.

Illustration Inspiration: Mark Crilley, Creator of The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How To Draw

Illustration Inspiration: Mark Crilley, Creator of The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How To Draw

MARK CRILLEY is the author of Mastering Manga, Mastering Manga 2, and The Realism Challenge, as well as several manga novels, including the Akiko, Miki Falls, Billy Clikk, and Brody’s Ghost series.

Teens

E.K. Johnston Discusses A Thousand Nights

E.K. Johnston Discusses A Thousand Nights

E.K. Johnston discusses theories and inspirations for A Thousand Nights.

A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston | Book Review

A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston | Book Review

A Thousand Nights is the bold, feminist retelling of the classic Middle Eastern tale A Thousand and One Nights, this book is a lyrical, evocative masterpiece.

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Authors of Shiny Broken Pieces | Speed Interview

Which five words best describe Shiny Broken Pieces?

Sona Charaipotra: Redemption, fulfillment, achievement, catharsis, closure.

Dhonielle Clayton: Vengeance, Redemption, Second Chances, Dreams, Grit.

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

Best Selling Kids Series | July 2016

This month’s best selling kids series from The Children’s Book Review’s affiliate store is Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s The Book Scavenger series, an adventurous middle grade series filled with clues.

Other Recent Articles

Karen Levin Coburn, Author of Letting Go | Speed Interview

Karen Levin Coburn, Author of Letting Go | Speed Interview

| July 22, 2016 | 0 Comments

The Children’s Book Review: Which five words best describe LETTING GO: A Parent’s Guide to Understanding the College Years?

Karen Levin Coburn: Reassuring, informative, warm, honest, insightful

Continue Reading

Packing Evil, Book One in the Kylxon Chronicles | Book Giveaway

Packing Evil, Book One in the Kylxon Chronicles | Book Giveaway

| July 21, 2016 | 1 Comment

Enter to win a copy of Packing Evil, Book One in the Kylxon Chronicles, written by P.E. Yudkoff.

Giveaway begins July 21, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 21, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Win a 25 Book Prize Pack: Includes Both If You Were Me and Lived In … Series

Win a 25 Book Prize Pack: Includes Both If You Were Me and Lived In … Series

| July 20, 2016 | 43 Comments

Enter to win a complete autographed set of both IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … series, written by author Carole P. Roman. IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD is the original award-winning series. Now Roman is introducing a spin-off series for older children: IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN … AN INTRODUCTION TO CIVILIZATIONS THROUGHOUT TIME. Plus, the grand prize winner will also receive a $50 Amazon gift card.

Giveaway begins July 20, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 20, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Book Giveaway

Stand Up and Whistle, by Phyllis Perry | Book Giveaway

| July 19, 2016 | 1 Comment

Enter to win a copy of Stand Up and Whistle, written by Phyllis Perry and illustrated by Agnieszka Grochalska.

Giveaway begins July 19, 2016, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends August 19, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Mae and the Moon, by Jami Gigot | Book Review

Mae and the Moon, by Jami Gigot | Book Review

| July 17, 2016 | 0 Comments

MAE AND THE MOON is a surprising and unique book that hits all the right notes for children and parents alike. Highly recommended.

Continue Reading

Old MacDonald Had a Truck, by Steve Goetz | Book Review

Old MacDonald Had a Truck, by Steve Goetz | Book Review

| July 16, 2016 | 1 Comment

Old MacDonald Had a Truck, written by Steve Goetz and illustrated by Eda Kaban, is all about putting a new twist on the beloved, playing with expectations to step things up a notch.

Continue Reading

Dr. Phil Kennedy Discusses Get a Move On, Neuron!

Dr. Phil Kennedy Discusses Get a Move On, Neuron!

| July 15, 2016 | 0 Comments

Dr. Phil Kennedy is a well-known researcher in the field of neural prostheses. “Get a move on, Neuron!” was born out of his desire to impart to young people, his excitement and fascination for the workings of the human brain.

Continue Reading

Award-Winning Neurologist Featured on NPR and PBS Publishes Book Teaching Kids About the Brain

Award-Winning Neurologist Featured on NPR and PBS Publishes Book Teaching Kids About the Brain

| July 15, 2016 | 0 Comments

Dr. Philip R. Kennedy releases Get a Move On Neuron! an easy-to-read science book for kids on the brain.

Continue Reading

Win a Set of Nuggies Coloring Books and an OSMO Genius Kit for iPad

Win a Set of Nuggies Coloring Books and an OSMO Genius Kit for iPad

| July 14, 2016 | 40 Comments

Celebrate the August 2 release of the adorable coloring edition Nuggies books! Enter to win Nuggies Vol. 1: Daddy Forgot My Dinner: Coloring Edition and Nuggies Vol. 2: All the Other Nuggies: Coloring Edition. The grand prize winner will also win a totally cool OSMO Gaming System for iPad, Genius Kit.

Giveaway begins July 12, 2016, at 8:00 A.M. PST and ends August 2, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Cole’s Perfect Puppy: Perfect Puppies: Book One, by Frances Crossno | Dedicated Review

Cole’s Perfect Puppy: Perfect Puppies: Book One, by Frances Crossno | Dedicated Review

| July 12, 2016 | 0 Comments

Cole’s Perfect Puppy is the first book in the PERFECT PUPPIES series—a new series of Christian novels written by Frances Crossno. This heartwarming tale is about a young boy, his love of dogs, and the importance of kindness.

Continue Reading