Best Kids Stories

Candlewick Prize Pack with 6 of TIME Magazine’s Top 100 Young Adult Books

Candlewick Prize Pack with 6 of TIME Magazine’s Top 100 Young Adult Books

Enter to win a prize pack with 6 of the listed Candlewick titles from TIME Magazine’s Top 100 Young Adult Books.

Giveaway begins January 15, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 31, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Maya Van Wagenen Shares Her Tips on Becoming Popular

Maya Van Wagenen Shares Her Tips on Becoming Popular

I recently came across a remarkable book by Maya Van Wagenen called Popular. Maya, who is now 16 and in the 11th grade, kindly agreed to answer my questions (and quite eloquently) despite preparing for her SAT exam.

Best Selling Kids Series | January 2015

Best Selling Kids Series | January 2015

There are no changes this month to our best selling kids series list. The Marvel Heroes of Reading line of early readers remains the best selling series from our affiliate store.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | January 2015

Best Selling Young Adult Books | January 2015

With so many strong novels on this list, all but one young adult novel—Gayle Forman’s Where She Went—remains the same on our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult list.

Giveaways

The Opposite of Spoiled: Raising Kids Who Are Grounded, Generous, and Smart About Money | Book Giveaway

The Opposite of Spoiled: Raising Kids Who Are Grounded, Generous, and Smart About Money | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a hardcover copy of The Opposite of Spoiled: Raising Kids Who Are Grounded, Generous, and Smart About Money (Harper, February 3, 2015), by Ron Lieber.

Giveaway begins January 27, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends February 26, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

If You Were Me and Lived In … Hungary: A Child’s Introduction to Cultures Around the World | Series Giveaway

If You Were Me and Lived In … Hungary: A Child’s Introduction to Cultures Around the World | Series Giveaway

Enter to win a full autographed set of the If You Were Me series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman; including the newest addition If You Were Me and Lived in … Hungary: A Child’s Introduction to Cultures Around the World!

Giveaway begins January 24, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends February 23, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

An Ember in the Ashes, by Sabaa Tahir | Advanced Reader Copy Giveaway

An Ember in the Ashes, by Sabaa Tahir | Advanced Reader Copy Giveaway

Enter to win an autographed advance reader copy of An Ember in the Ashes (Razorbill, April 28, 2015), by Sabaa Tahir, and a T-shirt.

Giveaway begins January 16, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends February 15, 2016, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Candlewick Prize Pack with 6 of TIME Magazine’s Top 100 Young Adult Books

Candlewick Prize Pack with 6 of TIME Magazine’s Top 100 Young Adult Books

Enter to win a prize pack with 6 of the listed Candlewick titles from TIME Magazine’s Top 100 Young Adult Books.

Giveaway begins January 15, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 31, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

Virgil & Owen, by Paulette Bogan| Book Review

Virgil & Owen, by Paulette Bogan| Book Review

Paulette Bogan perfectly describes every child’s egocentric outlook on how a new friend is “only theirs” in Virgil & Owen. Virgil is so happy to find a polar bear named, Owen. He is so excited to have Owen as his new best friend and to have him all to himself.

Time for a Bath, by Phillis Gershator | Book Review

Time for a Bath, by Phillis Gershator | Book Review

Time for a Bath is a great way for kids to get excited about taking a bath!

Stormy Night, by Salina Yoon | Book Review

Stormy Night, by Salina Yoon | Book Review

Salina Yoon knocks this one out of the park with Stormy Night! This book features her most recent character, Bear, as he experiences the terror of a thunderstorm.

Best Selling Picture Books | January 2015

Best Selling Picture Books | January 2015

Reader’s Digest’s What I Like About Me is our best selling picture book from our affiliate store this month. As per usual, we’ve shared our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best selling picture books.

Ages 4-8

Half Past Winter, by Ginger Nielson | Book Review

Half Past Winter, by Ginger Nielson | Book Review

Half Past Winter is an adorable tale of two bear cubs and their adventure to find winter’s first snow. They grow impatient in their den when no snow comes and decide to explore until they find snow.

Freddy the Frogcaster and the Big Blizzard, by Janice Dean | Book Review

Freddy the Frogcaster and the Big Blizzard, by Janice Dean | Book Review

Freddy the Frogcaster and the Big Blizzard does an excellent job of creating a creative way to get kids interested in learning about the science of weather.

Can You Buy Me the Wind?, by Steven Schoenfeld | Dedicated Review

Can You Buy Me the Wind?, by Steven Schoenfeld | Dedicated Review

In children’s book author Steven Schoenfeld’s Can You Buy Me the Wind?, children and parents alike are treated to a rhyming picture book that seeks to instill a solid set of values.

Virgil & Owen, by Paulette Bogan| Book Review

Virgil & Owen, by Paulette Bogan| Book Review

Paulette Bogan perfectly describes every child’s egocentric outlook on how a new friend is “only theirs” in Virgil & Owen. Virgil is so happy to find a polar bear named, Owen. He is so excited to have Owen as his new best friend and to have him all to himself.

Ages 9-12

Five Guide Books for Girls on Body Changes, Growing Up, Friendships, and Etiquette

Five Guide Books for Girls on Body Changes, Growing Up, Friendships, and Etiquette

These five books cover a wide range of topics, from changing bodies and friendships, to social manners and etiquette. Whether read together with a parent, amongst a group of girls, or individually, these books are great to have on hand as a reference guide to the myriad of changes girls experience as a result of growing up.

Nest, by Esther Ehrlich | Book Review

Nest, by Esther Ehrlich | Book Review

Esther Ehrlich’s debut novel, Nest, is an arresting story of an eleven-year-old girl named Chirp Orenstein, whose life becomes acutely sharp and complicated as her mother’s illness overtakes the family

My Writing and Reading Life: Jess Keating, Author of How to Outswim a Shark Without a Snorkel

My Writing and Reading Life: Jess Keating, Author of How to Outswim a Shark Without a Snorkel

As an author and zoologist, Jess Keating has tickled a shark, lost a staring contest against an octopus, and been a victim to the dreaded paper cut. She lives in Ontario, Canada, where she spends most of her time writing books for adventurous and funny kids.

Interview with Sandhya Sameera Pillalamarri About The Name Soup

Interview with Sandhya Sameera Pillalamarri About The Name Soup

How did the idea for The Name Soup originate?

Sandhya Sameera Pillalamarri: The concept of the book was inspired by my long last name. I was always intrigued about its true meaning and where it came from.

Teens

Five Guide Books for Girls on Body Changes, Growing Up, Friendships, and Etiquette

Five Guide Books for Girls on Body Changes, Growing Up, Friendships, and Etiquette

These five books cover a wide range of topics, from changing bodies and friendships, to social manners and etiquette. Whether read together with a parent, amongst a group of girls, or individually, these books are great to have on hand as a reference guide to the myriad of changes girls experience as a result of growing up.

Maya Van Wagenen Shares Her Tips on Becoming Popular

Maya Van Wagenen Shares Her Tips on Becoming Popular

I recently came across a remarkable book by Maya Van Wagenen called Popular. Maya, who is now 16 and in the 11th grade, kindly agreed to answer my questions (and quite eloquently) despite preparing for her SAT exam.

Best Selling Kids Series | January 2015

Best Selling Kids Series | January 2015

There are no changes this month to our best selling kids series list. The Marvel Heroes of Reading line of early readers remains the best selling series from our affiliate store.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | January 2015

Best Selling Young Adult Books | January 2015

With so many strong novels on this list, all but one young adult novel—Gayle Forman’s Where She Went—remains the same on our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult list.

Other Recent Articles

The Adventures of Bella & Harry: Let’s Visit Edinburgh!

The Adventures of Bella & Harry: Let’s Visit Edinburgh!

| January 20, 2015 | 0 Comments

Bella and Harry, two adorable Chihuahuas, visit countries around the world with their family of people. In this edition, Bella and Harry visit Scotland.

Continue Reading

The Pillow Fairy, by Marcia Gale Riley | Press Release

The Pillow Fairy, by Marcia Gale Riley | Press Release

| January 17, 2015 | 0 Comments

The Pillow Fairy is not only a fun story with a familiar problem, but it’s also a testament to creative parenting.

Continue Reading

The Paper Samurai, by Rebecca Lippa | Press Release

The Paper Samurai, by Rebecca Lippa | Press Release

| January 16, 2015 | 0 Comments

When Hana and Akio discover that their hideout is being used for a heist, by a former caretaker of the local archive, they uncover mysteries from their families’ pasts and discover the influence of the samurai on their lives.

Continue Reading

Soldier Ron: Stay close!, by Tony Thatcher | Book Synopsis

Soldier Ron: Stay close!, by Tony Thatcher | Book Synopsis

| January 13, 2015 | 0 Comments

Soldier Ron: Stay close! is the first story of Ron, a trainee soldier in the cadets and the fun and adventures he has trying to follow in the footsteps of his heroes in the military services.

Continue Reading

Miss Flimp’s Destiny, by Zoe Ainsworth-Grigg | Press Release

Miss Flimp’s Destiny, by Zoe Ainsworth-Grigg | Press Release

| January 12, 2015 | 0 Comments

In “Miss Flimp’s Destiny” (AuthorHouse), the new children’s storybook by Zoe Ainsworth-Grigg, readers follow a doll as she searches for her destiny, discovering that fate can lead one to a new beginning.

Continue Reading

Why My Dad?, by Lisa R. Bottorff | Book Synopsis

Why My Dad?, by Lisa R. Bottorff | Book Synopsis

| January 11, 2015 | 0 Comments

“Why My Dad?” offers a warm military story paralleled with a situation they can relate to, the bully.

Continue Reading

The Name Soup, by Sandhya Sameera Pillalamarri | Dedicated Review

The Name Soup, by Sandhya Sameera Pillalamarri | Dedicated Review

| January 10, 2015 | 0 Comments

The Name Soup is an encouraging story for children and is a poignant read for young students and teachers learning to build tolerance and gain insights within classrooms.

Continue Reading

Hissy Fitz, by Patrick Jennings | Book Giveaway

Hissy Fitz, by Patrick Jennings | Book Giveaway

| January 9, 2015 | 0 Comments

Enter to win an autographed hardcover copy of Hissy Fitz, by Patrick Jennings.

Giveaway begins January 9, 2015, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends February 8, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | January 2015

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | January 2015

| January 8, 2015 | 0 Comments

We continue to have a winter wonderland of books and articles appearing in The Children’s Book Review’s book trends this month; including our list “Kids Winter Books: Snow, Mittens, Polar Bears and Other Arctic Animals.”

Continue Reading

Author Dean Kootz Interviews His Dog Anna, Star of <em>Ask Anna</em>

Author Dean Kootz Interviews His Dog Anna, Star of Ask Anna

| January 7, 2015 | 0 Comments

Anna Koontz is Dean’s remarkable dog, who is poised to follow in her dad’s footsteps with her first advice book for canines. She will soon become the advice columnist for the canine world!

Continue Reading