Best Kids Stories

Best Selling Kids Series | November 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | November 2014

Once again, The Lets-Read-and-Find-Out Science series is our best selling kids series this month and offers wonderful selections for seasonal science and beyond.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | November 2014

Best Selling Young Adult Books | November 2014

This month, everything remains the same on our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult list—including The Children’s Book Review’s number one best selling young adult book is The Children’s Homer: The Adventures of Odysseus and the Tale of Troy.

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | November 2014

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | November 2014

This month we have some truly intelligent fiction for our middle grade readers that really are must-reads. The Children’s Book Review’s best selling middle grade book is a regular on the list: Star Wars: A Pop-Up Guide to the Galaxy, by Matthew Reinhart.

Best Selling Picture Books | November 2014

Best Selling Picture Books | November 2014

The colder months in the Northern Hemisphere are upon us and it’s reflected in this list of best selling picture books. As per usual, we’ve shared our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books.

Giveaways

Captain No Beard and the Aurora Borealis, by Carole P. Roman | Book Giveaway

Captain No Beard and the Aurora Borealis, by Carole P. Roman | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a full autographed set of the Captain No Beard series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman; including the newest title Captain No Beard and the Aurora Borealis!

Giveaway begins November 22, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 21, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Snow Valley Heroes, A Christmas Tale, by Robert McCarty | Book Giveaway

Snow Valley Heroes, A Christmas Tale, by Robert McCarty | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Snow Valley Heroes, A Christmas Tale by Robert McCarty.

Giveaway begins November 21, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 20, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Skink: No Surrender, by Carl Hiaasen | Book Giveaway

Skink: No Surrender, by Carl Hiaasen | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a hardcover copy of Skink—No Surrender, by New York Times bestselling author Carl Hiassen.

Giveaway begins November 19, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 18, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Get Happy, by Mary Amato | Book Giveaway

Get Happy, by Mary Amato | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a hardcover copy of Get Happy, by Mary Amato.

Giveaway begins November 16, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 15, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

My Writing and Reading Life: Natasha Wing, Author of The Night Before Hanukkah

My Writing and Reading Life: Natasha Wing, Author of The Night Before Hanukkah

Some of Natasha Wing’s books have even ended up on bestseller lists, including the wildly popular The Night Before series.

The Schoolies Series | Book Reviews

The Schoolies Series | Book Reviews

Two excellent installments from the Schoolies series, combining vibrant drawings and lessons on navigating school life.

12 Kids’ Books on Showing Thankfulness & Being Grateful

12 Kids’ Books on Showing Thankfulness & Being Grateful

As we begin a season of reflection and celebration, we are pleased to share some of our favorite books on thankfulness and being grateful that will help young readers on their journey to understanding gratitude.

The Magic of Wordless Picture Books

The Magic of Wordless Picture Books

We adults need to create space for readers and a defined comfort zone for them to enjoy wordless experiences. We must bite our tongues and allow experiences to unfold right in front of our eyes.

Ages 4-8

7 Underwear Books for Kids: Including <em>One Big Pair of Underwear</em>

7 Underwear Books for Kids: Including One Big Pair of Underwear

Laura Gehl is the author of One Big Pair of Underwear, illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld, which released in September. There are a number of underwear books for kids…

Captain No Beard and the Aurora Borealis, by Carole P. Roman | Dedicated Review

Captain No Beard and the Aurora Borealis, by Carole P. Roman | Dedicated Review

In the latest installment to Carole P. Roman’s award-wining series, Captain No Beard and his crew are heading in the direction of the North Star. This time they’re on a journey that the captain’s team is not so keen on joining—Captain No Beard has plans to take something without asking permission.

My Writing and Reading Life: Natasha Wing, Author of The Night Before Hanukkah

My Writing and Reading Life: Natasha Wing, Author of The Night Before Hanukkah

Some of Natasha Wing’s books have even ended up on bestseller lists, including the wildly popular The Night Before series.

The Schoolies Series | Book Reviews

The Schoolies Series | Book Reviews

Two excellent installments from the Schoolies series, combining vibrant drawings and lessons on navigating school life.

Ages 9-12

The Fourteenth Goldfish, by Jennifer L. Holm | Book Review

The Fourteenth Goldfish, by Jennifer L. Holm | Book Review

The Fourteenth Goldfish is a clever novel that offers depth with humor while intersecting science and childhood in a memorable story perfect for sharing aloud with boys or girls.

Jane Hanser Interview: Dogs Don’t Look Both Ways

Jane Hanser Interview: Dogs Don’t Look Both Ways

Jane Hanser is the writer behind the blog www.dogsdontlookbothways.com. Her first book carries the same namesake and we got to chat with Hanser about the endearing Dogs Don’t Look Both Ways and the behind-the-scenes steps she took to create this joyful read.

Dogs Don’t Look Both Ways: A Primer on Unintended Consequences, by Jane Hanser | Dedicated Review

Dogs Don’t Look Both Ways: A Primer on Unintended Consequences, by Jane Hanser | Dedicated Review

With a humorous voice and multiple anecdotes, Joey, a chocolate Labrador who enjoys digging and escaping beyond his home’s fence, provides an entertaining narration for both children and adults.

Best Selling Kids Series | November 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | November 2014

Once again, The Lets-Read-and-Find-Out Science series is our best selling kids series this month and offers wonderful selections for seasonal science and beyond.

Teens

YALLFest 2014 | Event Recap

YALLFest 2014 | Event Recap

The heart of Young Adult Fiction descended into picturesque Charleston, SC on November 7, 2014 as 60 Young Adult authors, including 37 New York Times bestsellers, joined together for the 4th Annual Charleston Young Adult Book Festival (“YALLFest”).

Best Young Adult Books with Mary Amato, Author of Get Happy

Best Young Adult Books with Mary Amato, Author of Get Happy

I’m putting the following books on my to-read list. I chose these particular books of the many the above authors have written because either these particular characters or the genres (fantasy, adventure, and historical fiction) are the most different from my own work.

Five Family Favorites with Kat Beyer, Author of The Halcyon Bird

Five Family Favorites with Kat Beyer, Author of The Halcyon Bird

Kat Beyer has an M.A. in medieval history and has loved all things Italian for as long as she can remember. Her first novel was The Demon Catchers of Milan.

The After House, by Michael Phillip Cash | Dedicated Review

The After House, by Michael Phillip Cash | Dedicated Review

The After House is a well-developed and relatively quick read with solid characters. Cash fans will no doubt love this latest chiller that also manages to warm the heart.

Other Recent Articles

The Demon Catchers of Milan 2: The Halcyon Bird, by Kat Beyer | Book Giveaway

The Demon Catchers of Milan 2: The Halcyon Bird, by Kat Beyer | Book Giveaway

| November 15, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a hardcover copy of The Demon Catchers of Milan #2: The Halcyon Bird, by Kat Beyer.

Giveaway begins November 15, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 14, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Snowman’s Story, by Will Hillenbrand | Book Giveaway

Snowman’s Story, by Will Hillenbrand | Book Giveaway

| November 12, 2014 | 1 Comment

Enter to win a hardcover copy of Snowman’s Story, by Will Hillenbrand

Giveaway begins November 12, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 11, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Pop-Up Book | Book Giveaway

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Pop-Up Book | Book Giveaway

| November 11, 2014 | 52 Comments

Enter to win a copy of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Pop-Up Book, story by Lisa Ann Marsoli and illustrations by Keith Andrew Finch!

Giveaway begins November 11, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 10, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Naughty Kitty!, by Adam Stower | Book Review

Naughty Kitty!, by Adam Stower | Book Review

| November 9, 2014 | 0 Comments

Adam Stower follows up his Silly Doggy! book with another winner, Naughty Kitty!

Continue Reading

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | November 2014

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | November 2014

| November 8, 2014 | 0 Comments

This month’s little peek into what TCBR readers have been most interested in shows the book trends are following the upcoming season with “20 of the Best Christmas Books,” “Kids Thanksgiving Books,” and the “Best New Kids Books!”

Continue Reading

You Are My Baby: Ocean, by Lorena Simonovich | Book Review

You Are My Baby: Ocean, by Lorena Simonovich | Book Review

| November 7, 2014 | 0 Comments

You Are My Baby: Ocean, by Lorena Simonovich, is a sturdy and colorful board book and another wonderful addition to the You Are My Baby series!

Continue Reading

The Kiss of Deception, by Mary E. Pearson | Book Review

The Kiss of Deception, by Mary E. Pearson | Book Review

| October 31, 2014 | 1 Comment

THE KISS OF DECEPTION, by Mary E. Pearson, is an exciting, quest-filled story that will please more traditional magical fantasy fans.

Continue Reading

11 Kids’ Books on Dealing with Loss, Grief, Illness and Trauma

11 Kids’ Books on Dealing with Loss, Grief, Illness and Trauma

| October 30, 2014 | 0 Comments

Here is a list of 11 books that address a wide range and variety of emotions that young readers may experience when faced with serious illness, loss, grief or trauma.

Continue Reading

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, by Chris Grabenstein | Book Review

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, by Chris Grabenstein | Book Review

| October 29, 2014 | 0 Comments

In Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, author Chris Grabenstein cleverly captures reader’s imaginations by combining the suspense of a thrilling game with the majestic nostalgia of great libraries, librarians, books and authors of past and present.

Continue Reading

Why Dogs Are …, by Tana Thompson | Dedicated Review

Why Dogs Are …, by Tana Thompson | Dedicated Review

| October 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

Using the fictional story of how dogs came to be on Earth, author Tana Thompson weaves a delicate and soothing story that highlights God’s ability to show his love to all, including the blind and deaf.

Continue Reading