Best Kids Stories

Five Family Favorites with Patricia Dunn, Author of Rebels by Accident

Five Family Favorites with Patricia Dunn, Author of Rebels by Accident

Patricia Dunn, author of Rebels by Accident, selected her family’s five favorite books with the help of her husband Allan Tepper. They are a beautiful collection of diverse characters and plots.

Best Young Adult Books with Dorothy Hearst, Author of the Wolf Chronicles

Best Young Adult Books with Dorothy Hearst, Author of the Wolf Chronicles

I read a lot of Young Adult books. I love the strong storylines, and the passion and honesty of the protagonists. Here are a few of the many YA books I love.

Best Selling Kids Series | December 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | December 2014

Best Selling Books for Kids: This month, our best selling kids series is The Marvel Heroes of Reading line of early readers.

Best Selling Young Adult Books | December 2014

Best Selling Young Adult Books | December 2014

With so many strong novels on this list, everything remains the same on our hand-picked list from the Best Selling Young Adult list—including The Children’s Book Review’s number one best selling young adult book is The Children’s Homer: The Adventures of Odysseus and the Tale of Troy—a classic must-read for all Greek mythology fans.

Giveaways

If You Were Me and Lived in … Peru: An Introduction to Learning About Other Cultures | Series Giveaway

If You Were Me and Lived in … Peru: An Introduction to Learning About Other Cultures | Series Giveaway

Enter to win a full autographed set of the If You Were Me series, by award-winning author Carole P. Roman; including the newest addition If You Were Me and Lived in … Peru: A Child’s Introduction to Cultures Around the World!

Giveaway begins December 22, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 21, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Suspicion, by Alexandra Monir | Book Giveaway

Suspicion, by Alexandra Monir | Book Giveaway

The Children’s Book Review | December 19, 2014 Enter to win a hardcover copy of Suspicion, by Alexandra Monir. Two (2) winners receive: A hardcover copy of Suspicion, by Alexandra Monir. Age Range: 12+ Hardcover: 304 pages Giveaway begins December 19, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 18, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Little White Lies, by Katie Dale | Book Giveaway

Little White Lies, by Katie Dale | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a hardcover copy of Little White Lies, by Katie Dale.

Giveaway begins December 17, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 16, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Zodiac, by Romina Russell | Book Giveaway

Zodiac, by Romina Russell | Book Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Zodiac, by Romina Russell.

Giveaway begins December 9, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 8, 2015, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Ages 0-3

Mama, Talk About Our New Baby, by Toni Olson | Dedicated Review

Mama, Talk About Our New Baby, by Toni Olson | Dedicated Review

Mama, Talk About Our New Baby is a great parental tool that supports breastfeeding, co-sleeping, baby wearing, and raising emotionally intelligent older siblings.

Becoming an Author Means Embracing a Life of Crime

Becoming an Author Means Embracing a Life of Crime

Before I became a writer, I had no idea being one also meant embracing a life of crime. I don’t know why. All the signs were there – the saying “every great lie has an element of truth”, T.S. Eliot’s immortal “Good authors borrow, great authors steal”, and the infamous Faulkner adage, “Kill your darlings” (Faulkner actually stole that saying from Arthur Quiller-Couch).

Best Selling Picture Books | December 2014

Best Selling Picture Books | December 2014

We think it’s so fun that one of our all-time favorite Christmas books is our best selling picture book from our affiliate store this month—we just love Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s Stick Man. As per usual, we’ve shared our hand selected titles of the most popular picture books from the nationwide best selling picture books, as listed by The New York Times.

Best New Kids’ Christmas Books | 2014

Best New Kids’ Christmas Books | 2014

In the spirit of the most wonderful time of the year, we’ve put together a list of the best new kids’ Christmas books that capture the holiday magic. We know you’ll love our Christmas Books booklist!

Ages 4-8

If You Were Me and Lived in … Peru, by Carole P. Roman | Dedicated Review

If You Were Me and Lived in … Peru, by Carole P. Roman | Dedicated Review

Due to the well condensed and simplistic format, If You Were Me and Lived in … Peru: A Child’s Introduction to Cultures Around the World and the entire series can easily be the basis for further discussions of Peru, the Spanish language, cultures, traditions, historical sites and home life.

Five Family Favorites with Patricia Dunn, Author of Rebels by Accident

Five Family Favorites with Patricia Dunn, Author of Rebels by Accident

Patricia Dunn, author of Rebels by Accident, selected her family’s five favorite books with the help of her husband Allan Tepper. They are a beautiful collection of diverse characters and plots.

Manhunt, by Kate Messner | Book Review

Manhunt, by Kate Messner | Book Review

Manhunt, by Kate Messner, will appeal to middle grade readers who enjoy solving mysteries and who like learning about other countries as well as famous artists and pieces of art.

George Can! (And You Can Too!), by Maria Stuckey-Leach | Dedicated Review

George Can! (And You Can Too!), by Maria Stuckey-Leach | Dedicated Review

George Can! (And You Can Too) is an affirming picture book about the wonderful powers of positive thinking. It offers young readers a playful nudge toward an optimistic attitude by utilizing the mantra “I can! I will! I believe!”

Ages 9-12

The Secret Hum of Daisies, by Tracy Holczer | Book Review

The Secret Hum of Daisies, by Tracy Holczer | Book Review

This book will appeal to young readers whose families are or have been transient or who have unresolved family issues

The Boys of Blur, by N. D. Wilson | Book Review

The Boys of Blur, by N. D. Wilson | Book Review

The Boys of Blur, by N.D. Wilson, will appeal to readers 8 to 12 who like football, scary tales, and stories about complex family situations.

Manhunt, by Kate Messner | Book Review

Manhunt, by Kate Messner | Book Review

Manhunt, by Kate Messner, will appeal to middle grade readers who enjoy solving mysteries and who like learning about other countries as well as famous artists and pieces of art.

Best Selling Kids Series | December 2014

Best Selling Kids Series | December 2014

Best Selling Books for Kids: This month, our best selling kids series is The Marvel Heroes of Reading line of early readers.

Teens

Jex Malone, by C.L. Gaber and V.C. Stanley | Book Review

Jex Malone, by C.L. Gaber and V.C. Stanley | Book Review

Jex Malone, by C.L. Gaber and V.C. Stanley, is an exciting mystery and just like a re-imagined Nancy Drew saga, where feisty girls get together to solve crimes and have fun along the way.

Five Family Favorites with Patricia Dunn, Author of Rebels by Accident

Five Family Favorites with Patricia Dunn, Author of Rebels by Accident

Patricia Dunn, author of Rebels by Accident, selected her family’s five favorite books with the help of her husband Allan Tepper. They are a beautiful collection of diverse characters and plots.

Best Young Adult Books with Dorothy Hearst, Author of the Wolf Chronicles

Best Young Adult Books with Dorothy Hearst, Author of the Wolf Chronicles

I read a lot of Young Adult books. I love the strong storylines, and the passion and honesty of the protagonists. Here are a few of the many YA books I love.

Madame Tussaud’s Apprentice, by Kathleen Benner Duble | Book Review

Madame Tussaud’s Apprentice, by Kathleen Benner Duble | Book Review

Madame Tussaud’s Apprentice is a fascinating historical drama. The rich background of revolutionary France provides readers with a fascinating look at that terrifying time.

Other Recent Articles

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | December 2014

Children’s Book Trends on The Children’s Book Review | December 2014

| December 8, 2014 | 0 Comments

We have a winter wonderland of books and articles appearing in The Children’s Book Review’s book trends this month; including our list “20 of the Best Christmas Books.”

Continue Reading

Santa Snoopy Holiday Book Giveaway

Santa Snoopy Holiday Book Giveaway

| December 6, 2014 | 2 Comments

In Celebration of 50 Years on TV for A Charlie Brown Christmas, enter to win a Santa Snoopy book prize pack!

Giveaway begins December 6, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends January 5, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | December 2014

Best Selling Middle Grade Books | December 2014

| December 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

This month, Secrets of a Christmas Box, a fantasy novel where the Christmas Tree ornaments come to life once the family go to bed, is The Children’s Book Review’s best selling middle grade book.

Continue Reading

The Orphan of Torundi, by J. L. McCreedy | Book Giveaway

The Orphan of Torundi, by J. L. McCreedy | Book Giveaway

| November 30, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of The Orphan of Torundi, by J. L. McCreedy.

Giveaway begins November 29, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 28, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Up in the Air, by Ann Marie Meyers | Book Review

Up in the Air, by Ann Marie Meyers | Book Review

| November 29, 2014 | 0 Comments

In Up in the Air, by Ann Marie Meyers, the story is laced with thought-provoking lessons that change Melody and her family in ways both hopeful and realistic while maintaining the brisk pacing of a fantasy adventure.

Continue Reading

<em>Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star</em>, by Caroline Jayne Church | Book Review

Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, by Caroline Jayne Church | Book Review

| November 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, by Caroline Jayne Church, is a delightful board book that takes a childhood favorite nursery rhyme and sets it with beautiful illustrations of children around the world.

Continue Reading

<em>Julia, Child</em> by Kyo Maclear | Book Review

Julia, Child by Kyo Maclear | Book Review

| November 26, 2014 | 0 Comments

A beautifully illustrated book about food, togetherness, and the unique world of childhood.

Continue Reading

The Orphan of Torundi, by J. L McCreedy | Dedicated Review

The Orphan of Torundi, by J. L McCreedy | Dedicated Review

| November 25, 2014 | 2 Comments

The Orphan of Torundi delivers all the key ingredients for a successful young adult novel. Romance, fast adventure, and a believable landscape blend together for a consuming read with a strong protagonist.

Continue Reading

Ripley’s Fun Facts & Silly Stories: The Big One! | Book Giveaway

Ripley’s Fun Facts & Silly Stories: The Big One! | Book Giveaway

| November 24, 2014 | 0 Comments

Enter to win a copy of Ripley’s Fun Facts & Silly Stories: The Big One!

Giveaway begins November 24, 2014, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends December 23, 2014, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Continue Reading

Ripley’s Fun Facts & Silly Stories 3 | Dedicated Review

Ripley’s Fun Facts & Silly Stories 3 | Dedicated Review

| November 24, 2014 | 0 Comments

The third title in the Ripley’s Believe It or Not® successful Fun Facts and Silly Stories series is here: Ripley’s Fun Facts and Silly Stories 3.

Continue Reading